We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C'est Fantastique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Highs Chalet Joran
Ranked #71 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was our first experience of a catered chalet and Alpine High’s Chalet Joran & hosts Steffi and Dave (not forgetting Rob) have exceeded all our expectations.

Steffi, Dave and Rob welcomed us from arrival and made us feel right at home throughout our stay.

Chalet Joran has just the right balance of style and comfort; from little luxuries like the l’Occtaine toiletries, the fluffy bathrobes and slippers to hooking up our music and relaxing in front of the fire – not forgetting the super comfy and very cute rooms. The food was just delicious and all homemade, Rob’s yummy brownies come highly recommended and the wine washed it all down a treat.

The chalet is just on the outskirts of Morzine, but don’t let that put you off; the guys shuttled us to our ski lift of choice each morning and picked up each evening at our convenience (Morzine and Avoriaz both just a few minutes away). When we managed to venture into Morzine we had just a 20 minute stroll back, perfect to walk off the evening’s food and drink.
You will not be disappointed.

Thanks for a wonderful holiday, we will be returning!

Sayle, Martyn, Davy and Rebecca x

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sayle28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Hi Sayle and gang!

Thanks for such a great review! I have to say, I think we had one of our best days of the season out on the slopes and off piste with you guys! Really glad that you had a great time and a massive congratulations on your engagement to Martyn during your week with us!! Really looking forward to having you out with us again and can't wait to hear the plans for the Morzine wedding!

Dave and Steffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have no hesitation in giving Chalet Joran a 5 star review. Our week with Steffi and Dave (not forgetting Rob!) was a delight from start to finish.The nearly new chalet was beautifully appointed with a large lounge and very comfortable furniture. The location is just outside Morzine centre but a short walk into town. There is ample parking, a major plus if you drive, and bus stops close by. The Avoriaz lifts are just up the road and transport to Pleney and Nyon lifts was always privided by the Team in their minibus. Geneva airport pick up and drop off at a reasonable extra cost.
The food was outstanding, everything freshly produced each day (except Wednesday, their day off). Cordon Bleu standard indeed!!
We will be returning in the summer!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on garden side beautifully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fixitfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Hi Jerry,

Thanks for taking the time to write us such a good review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again in the summer! Hope your pool leak dries up!

Dave and Steffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Was really looking forward to our stay at Apartment Joran and it definitely met our expectations! Dave & Steffi are brilliant hosts and made us feel at home from the start. Amazing ski area, stylish apartment in a great location with fab food and wine! We are already planning to come back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheltenhamOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Hi Lai,

Thanks for the great review. Really glad that you enjoyed your week with us, even if you did break Mike! Well hung in there, Mike! Looking forward to seeing you again in Jan - lets hope we have more of the amazing snow conditions that we had, for more runs in the skiier cross areas!!

Dave and Steffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Fantastic chalet - brand new with excellent facilities and close to the town centre / lifts. Great food and very accomodating hosts. Thanks Dave and Steffi!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jez_westcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Hi Jez,

Thanks for taking the time to write your great review! I can't believe what you and the guys managed to pack in on your short break, and in such amazing powder! Great to board with you all in perfect conditions and looking forward to next year!

Dave and Steffi and Monty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

How many homes have a sauna? A boot warmer? And cake on tap at the end of the day? Only the Chalet Joran.

A warm welcome awaits you from pick up at the airport to drop off again. Dave and Steffi have created a great atmosphere in the chalet with many amenities, including Wi-Fi and a Wii. Rob has become a culinary master, knocking out some amazing cakes.

The accomodation is excellent with some very nice touches, including bathrobes, slippers and L'Occitane toiletries. The food is plentiful and of a very high quality (duck one evening!) and there is of course plenty of wine.

The team are very happy to drop you off at the slopes in the morning and pick you up in the evening. The slopes are only 5 minutes away in both directions, either Avoriaz or Morzine, so you are in a great spot for plenty of skiing.

Very friendly place. Would certainly recommend for skiing and I think it will be great for biking in the summer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thanks for such a nice review, Rebecca! It was great to have you guys at the chalet and I'm really glad that you enjoyed the food and comfort of the chalet during your week. Just what you need after braving the arctic night skiing!


We look forward to seeing you again!

Dave and Steffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#33 of 50 in Morzine
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Highs Chalet Joran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Highs Chalet Joran

Address: 242 route des Ardoisieres, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Joran is a superb, new chalet in Morzine, at the heart of the Portes du Soleil ski region. We have a 12 person Chalet and a 6 person apartment both offereing an excellent and comfortable base for your holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing