We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chalet, great hosts, great skiing”
Review of Hugski Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hugski Holidays
Ranked #88 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hugski are a great company to deal with. From the first e-mail to last, Lucy was so attentive to every detail and flexible, making sure our holiday was going to be tailored to suit all 10 of us. We had a fantastic week in the chalet with hosts, Andy and Gie, they made us feel so welcome and at home. It’s the first time we’ve ever been away for Christmas and they really did go above and beyond to make it so memorable. Aside from endlessly supplying us with amazing food, nothing was too much trouble; they were so adaptable with everything from menus to pick up times.
The menus were all lovely; with a mixed group of teenagers, adults, allergies & odd diets, it should have been a nightmare catering for us! Whilst they left some space for the lovely desserts they there was plenty to go round and we all enjoyed trying new things. We can’t actually think of a night when plates weren’t cleared!! The chalet was cosy, welcoming & absolutely ideal for our 2 families, everyone definitely made the most of its facilities. The Go Pros were brilliant and Hugo’s help with them, planning routes and advice on places to go was invaluable . Whilst we were originally looking for ski in/out, Andy’s taxiing services were excellent, he made it so easy for us getting to Ardent and back that we hardly noticed the ride and it was no hardship to enjoy a couple of drinks in Happy Hours at the end of the day! The extra services they offer, lift passes, ski equipment delivery & collection, were the icing on the cake to make it such a relaxing & special holiday for us all. We all thought that Gie & Andy did a great job in only their second week hosting. On top of all this, the skiing across the whole Portes du Soleil area was fantastic, a great mix of runs for all appetites, and some lovely mountain bars for the odd vin chaud...or two...We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 48 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great stay again with hugski
Those guys know how to run a chalet.
Great location , great facilities , super food, nice people , good value
I have stayed in both locations and both fantastic .... Best chalet experience and as good as any five star hotel! From the staff right down to the small details Scottish seaweed soaps from Scotland!!!
Menu was superb my only complaint ...
I had to come home!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardwsnape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucy p, Owner at Hugski Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you Mr Snape for your kind review, we loved having you back for your escape weekend. Glad you liked the Scottish soaps, had to be done!
See you in February

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Delicious food and wine, kind, knowledgeable hosts, warm, cosy atmosphere, and very good skiing, with some lovely woodland runs. This really is a special place to stay, where nothing is too much for Hugo and Lucy. After a week we felt completely relaxed and spoiled.. I'm going back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraLank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having heard how exceptional the snow had been for 2012, a small group of friends booked to go away for the Easter weekend, hoping for a bit of snow, along with a relaxing break in a chalet atmosphere. Even before departure, Hugski ensured that not only did we have lift passes pre-booked, but also submitted our ski hire requests to Doorstep skis, who, as the name would state, deliver the skis and boots to your door moments after arrival, to save the hassle of queuing and waiting in a ski hire shop.
Being in the travel business, it goes without saying that part of my job is to review hotels, lodges and their product and Hugski Holidays absolutely excelled in terms of service and standards that went absolutely beyond all expectations. We were greeted upon arrival and 6 nights out of 7 ensured we had the most delicious gourmet dinners after drinks and canapés post baths and showers. They fetched and carried us from the slopes to the chalets, and if we wanted a few drinks at the bar for après ski then nothing was too much hassle, and they waited that bit longer to collect us from the bar and bring us back to the chalet.
On their well-deserved night off, they recommended restaurants and bars in town to go to, and always ensured that everything was up to standard.
So, all in all, a fantastic experience for those looking for a home-from-home chalet experience, with the most delicious comforting home-cooked food that rivals any other ski lodge we have stayed in before.
Warm, cozy, friendly and efficient, these are just a few of the attributes that Hugski has to offer. I look forward to Winter 2012/2013

Room Tip: Being a chalet, you can choose rooms on arrival, but some rooms have ensuite baths and some have en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucy p, Owner at Hugski Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We were lucky to have you and your group for Easter!!! I'm sure Ardent Happy Hour bar will feel much the same! We loved having you, you were all brilliant fun. I enjoyed our runs (well, all of 1 of them!), skiing, apres ski and all the lovely reactions to the food which was guzzled... always a good sign!

Until next time

Lucy x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at Hugski in January and have to say what a lovely couple they are and how well looked they look after all their guests- but unfortunately I needed a little extra looking after as I broke my wrist on my first morning on the slopes! I owe a massive thank you to Lucy for coming to my rescue in the van and driving me round to doctors and pharmacists and feeding me much needed tea and cake to recover. As a solo traveller I don't know what I would have done without her!

The chalet was lovely and I was made to feel really welcome by Hugo and Lucy and the other guests- it was almost like staying with friends, with meals, drinks and evening telly together.

Definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannaht658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucy p, Owner at Hugski Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for the review Hannah, it was good to hear from you! Your injury made for a memorable trip that's for sure. Now your on the ski's hopefully you'll get to spend more time on the slopes next season! We'd love to have you back at Chalet Alpazure (no injuries please!)

Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I had the most incredible week at Chalet Alpazure run by Hugski Holidays in March this year. The snow was great and I loved the huge ski area. However the way in which our group were looked after by Hugo and Lucy at the Chalet made all the difference. From the moment we booked our week for exclusive use of the Chalet, everything was taken care of by the highly accomplished duo. We had read on the website that for six days guests get breakfast, tea and a four course supper but we did not expect the quality (and quantity) to be quite so sensational. Dinner in particular was first class (and actually 5 courses if you include the cheese board at the end). Lucy was very helpful in providing alternatives for a couple of our guests who had quite specific diets. The week flew by and before we knew it we were sad to be waving goodbye. I shall definietly be returning next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hugo and Lucy offer an amazing chalet package. They both went to great lengths to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The meals Lucy cooked (with Hugo as Su Chef!) were delicious - all appetites were satisfied by the time people left the table (4 course dinners!). Food high lights were the breakfast smoothies, the deserts, the cheese board AND of course the cakes (note these weren't all served at the same meal). The bedrooms and chalet were surprisingly spacious even when chalet was at capacity. What set this chalet experience apart from others I've been on is how Hugo and Lucy catered the experience to the different groups they were hosting, as proven when observing how they accommodated the family staying with us at the same time. At the end of every day either at the foot of the slopes or stuck in a bar at apres it was always a welcome sight to see Hugo and his van to collect us for dinner. It's the personal touch they bring to the chalet experience that set them apart from the larger companies offering similar packages (i.e. meeting up for a ski or bringing out the Shotski at dinner to name a few). I'm a big fan of the Hugski experience and I hope Hugo and Lucy continue on for many more seasons. (ps ask about the Onezie rental firm for a good day out!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
5.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
2.2 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
5.5 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hugski Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hugski Holidays

Address: Les Gets, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious catered chalet holidays in Les Gets, the Alps. 8 comfortable bedrooms, 7 bathrooms, a huge open log fire in a big living space, lots of comfortable seating, delicious food with 4 course dinners every night, great accessibility to slopes wit the chairlift just 2mis away, and cosy atmosphere. Hugski Holidays provides a tailored service for all our guests making sure they have their perfect holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing