We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome week as always!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Skade - HOFNAR
Ranked #4 of 48 Morzine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome week as always!!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

As someone who has been snowboarding for over ten years and always gone away with a group of friends and had an amazing time, snow holidays mean a lot to me. Then in the last few years the group had been getting smaller and smaller as friends started to get married, get mortgages, have children or move away, until I came to the realisation that the only way I would get a trip to the snow was if I went as a solo traveller. So last year started looking to see what companies specialised in solo snow holidays, and I searched the web and found Hofnar, I was not expecting to have a holiday like the epic trips I used to have with my friends just needed some slope time. But to be honest how wrong could I have been not only did I have an epic holiday, but going as a solo traveller I also came home after making some great new snow friends and some great times on piste and off piste. So a year later and back from my 4 trip in two seasons I have nothing but good things say about Hofnar. As soon as you arrive you are welcomed with a drink, to meet the rest of the guests who could be a solo travellers, groups, or couples but always seem to to be a like minded group up for a good week. Then you can settle in to the brilliant Chalet Skade with good sized clean rooms, which is well positioned about 5 minute walk from the Super Morzine lift and about 10 minutes from the centre of Morzine where it is all happening with great bars, clubs and restaurants for some awesome après action. The chalet itself is very homely with an open fire to relax in front of after a hard day on the slopes, or if relaxing in the hot tub is more or thing you can head to the outside tub and look out over the valley and over Morzine while soaking away the days skiing. Food wise the hosts will do you proud with a continental breakfast every morning and even a good old English fry up on one day as well. Dinners are always very good with three courses, and very filling to get you fueled for the next day and come with a good supply of wine or beer. But what really makes the holiday are the amazing hosts who make sure you have the most amazing week whether you are a first timer or a seasoned pro, going on your own or as part of a groupand the bonus of the great new friends you make along the way. Can not wait for next season!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicklikesmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
59
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I spent a week (well just under!) with the Hofner Team and I can't wait to go back again next year!

Awsome people, Awsome hosts, Awsome chalet.......

Dan and Ayden were great hosts and made the chalet feel like a home from home, ensuring there was always copious amounts of wine and cheese on tap!

If your between the ages of 20 and 35, GO ON A HOFNAR HOLIDAY!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went with a totally open mind in terms of expectations having never booked this type of 'experience'. An 'experience' it was in many good, Fantastic ways.
Firstly, the host not only looked after the clan first class but would go out of his way to ensure that his clients were happy and enjoying the holiday and went above and beyond of all of our expectations.
The chalet is extremely warm and welcoming and really feels like home (actually sad to leave on the last day) the interaction with other guests is so natural that you almost feel like a family.
I could go on for hours....
You have to experience the HOFNAR experience once in you life....or you simply have not lived!!!
Thanks to The team for opening my eyes.
I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi8718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Right so this is the first and I dare say last trip advisor review that I shall ever pen but it's worth spending a bit of time to spread the good news that is the h.o.f.n.a.r. experience...

If you're in your mid 20s-30s and are thinking about going skiing alone / want a home away from home on the slopes, Dan and his trusty sidekick / ridiculously sweet younger brother Aydin really are the only way to go.

Whether you're a complete novice like me or semi-pro (like some of the skiers and boarders I had the good fortune to meet when I spent new year with hofnar) the boys work round the clock to make sure you all feel like one big family and to ensure everyone has brilliant time.

Nothing is too much trouble - from effortless ski hire and lift pass arrangements to meals and nights out - oh and the all inclusive approach to alcohol was a gift horse I wasn't about to look in the mouth...

Basically if this well-travelled but usually anti-anything-cold black girl can go skiing for the first time, ALONE, and come back thinking the French alps (après ski et all) are the best thing since sliced bread then this lot are clearly doing something very very right.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agoodtimegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent Xmas 2012 with the hofnar team and all I can say was it was a blast!

Dan and his team were amazing hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The chalet was a home from home and they created a great atmosphere for having fun as well as chilling out. I also met a great bunch of people and made some new friends too.

So if you like great food, hot tubs, and plenty to drink... whether its tea, hot chocolats or jagers... give this place a go. You wont regret it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamsoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I literally could not recommend this holiday more! Morzine is great, the Chalet is great but above all the hosts are second to none! The whole ethos of HOFNAR is that the hosts are on holiday with you and that’s exactly what it’s like! They do everything you’d expect from a good Chalet host, cooking great dinners, providing lots of vino etc, but also do so much more! They come out skiing with you, lead the après ski and constantly make sure that everyone in the group is having a good time! I went with a friend but would more than happily go on my own too, it’s such a relaxed and friendly atmosphere that you immediately feel like you’ve been best friends with everyone forever!

I can’t imagine anyone going on this trip and not absolutely loving it, so don’t hesitate with booking any longer!! My only regret is not going earlier in the season so I don’t have to wait a full year to go again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 979SarahJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just book it!
Great host, great location, beautiful chalet complete with hot tub and sauna. What more could you ask for!?
The host Dan is all you could ask for in a chalet host. Instantly friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and ready to serve, all in one. Knows all the great skiing spots or the best spot for a little apre ski.
Can't recommend this tour highly enough, perfect for single travellers or those travelling in a small group. Would probably not recommend for families or those with young children as the tour seems geared more towards the social crowd, having said that there is no pressure to join group events if that is not your thing.
Would definitely travel again with Dan and the HOFNAR crew!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#7 of 50 in Morzine
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#41 of 50 in Morzine
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#13 of 50 in Morzine
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Skade - HOFNAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Skade - HOFNAR

Property: Chalet Skade - HOFNAR
Address: 60 Chemin de la Salle, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really laid back chalet. Most people come along on their own and join in with our really sociable holidays. Young professionals in their twenties and thirties - no kids! During the winter we ski and snowboard, during the summer we do everything from paragliding to mountain biking... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing