We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chalet and hosts in a beautiful location above Morzine”
Review of Chalet Famille

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Famille
Ranked #73 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
St Davids
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best chalet and hosts in a beautiful location above Morzine”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed late January early February 2013 and had an amazing experience. The host Andrew and chef Mitch and Ellie made this the most enjoyable skiing holiday ever. There was nothing that Andrew our host had not anticipated or offered to do for us as a family of 4 including a seven year old and a 15 month old. His service was 6 star you will not find a more customer centric host. The food was gorgeous, prepared fresh daily with the best ingredients and served by Mitch a trained chef and Ellie his assistant chef. The chalet has stunning views across the valley from large picture windows. A hot tub and sauna are great features after a long day skiing. Highly recommended from experienced travellers and having our own 5 star holiday homes.

Room Tip: Your host will advise you on which room will best suit you. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoBarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I agree with everything Galloppinggourmet has commented on below.

My main disappointment was the difference between the chalet as advertised on the website, and the reality. The owners of the chalet were fully aware that the hot tub does not work (and whilst we were there, no attempt was made to fix it), and that the master bedroom, as featured on the "the chalet" section of the website, was rented to a third party for the season. Further, although I note the website has now been updated, we were lead to believe that the food would be of exemplary quality, which sadly it was not.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our party stayed at Chalet Famille over the New Year, and experienced many of the problems to which Gallopppinggourmet has alluded below, including difficulties with the Chalet staff. Things reached such a point that the owners were forced to return to the chalet, and to dismiss the staff. On the basis of the disruption we had experienced the owners agreed to give us a partial refund, which was carried out with minimal fuss and delay, which we very much appreciated.

However, the hot tub was not functional whilst we were there, and there were few signs that repairs were being undertaken. We decided to book Chalet Famille largely because it had a hot tub, and so were extremely disappointed that it was out of action. If you are likely to want to use the hot tub during your stay, I would recommend you ask specifically about its status before booking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_Back_pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletFamille, Owner at Chalet Famille, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are very sorry for the problems you encountered over New Year. We now have an excellent new team in place with a General Manager/Host, an experienced chef and a general assistant.

The hot tub is still currently out of order and we are trying to source the parts required to fix it which is proving difficult as the hot tub was manufactured in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked Chalet Famille for Christmas with exclusive use for our family and friends, a party of 9. To say that we were disappointed would be an understatement. If you have booked based on the website and previous trip adviser reviews then you are in for a shock! If you look most of the reviews are one of reviews by people who have never done a review before which is always suspicious.
They was no warm welcome when we arrived and we constantly felt like we were an inconvenience such as requesting pick up times that didn't fit in the hosts plans, asking for a 2nd drink or another bottle of wine. We were told on arrival the hot tub was broken, the first broken promise. Whilst we understand accidents and failures happen, the hot tub was broken before we arrived but they chose not to tell us or make any meaningful attempt to fix. We understand that other chalets had similar problems but through the local network they were able to get them fixed. To be offered two bottle of champagne total value EU25 after the fact does not go anywhere towards the disappointment.
This is no longer an owner run chalet, Helen and Matt now run the chalet but they do it to fit in with their lifestyle and guests are not their first concern. The website boast’s that you will be enjoying the hospitality of a great chef who would be preparing great dishes each day. Nothing could be further from the truth!
We had booked exclusive use of this 7 bedroom chalet – yet they had let the largest and best bedroom to a sublet. We could hear someone else moving around upstairs and he and his wife would walk into the lounge at varying times to use the kitchen.
The website advertised cannot be compared to the reality: Canapés at 7 pm once on Christmas day only, no nibbles at any other time. We had to buy our own. Then having to ask “Oliver” esk more please for a 2nd drink. Christmas week and we needed to ask if a Christmas tree was going to be provided. The total seasonal decorations were one set of fairy lights. Happy Christmas! No fire lit for arrival night and limited to one log and not at key times like Christmas afternoon, in the end we have taken control and lit ourselves.
Dinner menu’s 3 star at best and nothing like menu on website, for example a pepper that contained a chopped up tomato with two slices of baguette as starter, sausages on a plate of lentils with nothing else as a main course, a child could have done better. Christmas dinner Helen served new potato’s roasted not proper roast potatoes, no pigs in blankets, cranberry jelly or normal accompaniments. Vegetables served boiled straight from pan with no seasoning or butter. I could go on as the standard of cooking was basic at best and food hygiene standards certainly not complied with: In the larder most afternoons we discovered a whole array of food left out that should have been in the fridge. At no time was coffee offered after dinner.
Frozen cakes defrosted not fresh baked. To add insult to injury we only had three cakes during the week, raspberry & almond, christmas cake and coconut cake as Helen choose to leave out old cakes until gone even though we did not like them. No fresh bread in the mornings. Every Chalet standard of Chalet I have previously stayed in has provide fresh french bread. When we asked for french bread a supermarket cooked frozen baguette appeared!!! No cooked breakfast on Saturday morning and in fact no sign of Helen or Matt until 9 a.m! so we had to get out milk, fruit juice and butter!
With regards to the accommodation two bedrooms had bad smells from their drains, two had mould and mildew one had water dripping from the ceiling probably due to the bathrooms fans not working. You need to unplug the TV to play a DVD and to be within 5ft of TV to change the channel.
Overall this chalet was a great disappointment we have since made an official complaint on our return as we wanted to give Iain & Verity Lea (the owners) the opportunity to put things right but their lack of concern in the initial response and no contact since leads me to believe they don’t care as they now have the chalet up for sale!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Galloppinggourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletFamille, Owner at Chalet Famille, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to enumerate your concerns regarding your stay at Chalet Famille. We take all feedback very seriously and have acted decisively with regard to many of the issues you have identified. Primarily, we felt, your complaints relate to the service you received from Helen and Matt, a couple we hired in good faith (both of whom received thorough training) and who seemed to understand the levels of excellence we and our guests rightly expect. Upon receipt of your email last week and on the strength of your comments, we went to the chalet and observed Matt and Helen at work. We were not satisfied with their performance and both have been dismissed as a consequence. In their place, we have installed a general manager/host, an able and well-trained chef and another member of staff to look after house. We would have responded to your email sooner but these matters have taken a few days to sort out and we have not had an opportunity.

As for your comments relating to our other reviewers, you have done our previous guests a disservice – they were moved to go through the hassle of signing up and their comments were humbling in their praise; to suggest they are ‘suspicious’ is unfair on us and on them.

Additionally, we do not and have never advertised a ‘7 room chalet’; we ask that guests limit logs on the fire as it is a very efficient burner and to use more makes the accommodation uncomfortably hot (in your detailed complaint, there is no mention that you were cold) and your suggestion that we knew in advance of your arrival that the hot-tub was not functioning suggests we lied to you, which is untrue.

We acted as quickly and effectively as we could in response to your complaints, many of which could have been avoided if you had been clearer in communicating your expectations (we would not be mean enough to deny you pigs-in-blankets, for example) and more vocal during your stay. You say (unfairly) that we don’t care to put things right but we have committed a great deal of time, energy and finance to correct what disappointed you felt. By doing this, we trust all future guests will enjoy their stay at Chalet Famille in the way so many have before.

Again, we thank you for making us aware of your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I are one of those people who love food, so we were a bit nervous when we book a week at the chalet, because we were committing to have two meals at the chalet and were worried of what would we do if we do if we did not like the food; but like the good parents that we are and since this trip was a gift to our children we said we would sacrifice.... we were so wrong capital. It turned out to be one of the most memorable holidays we ever had and a culinary experience to be remember.
We villa is very well located, near all the action. the rooms at chalet are just as the pictures on there website, I found them to be really lovely. What is different about this chalet in comparison to others is THE HOSTS and the FOOD!
We were expecting your spaghetti , your average chicken nuggets ( No offense to chicken nuggets) this was gourmet food at it’s finest. Three/four course meal, they even cook separate meals for me I was the only person there who did not eat meat, let me say my meals were as elaborate and as delicious as the other dishes that were served. And plenty of wine may I say. Even the children food was so amazing, my children ate and repeated ( Who are this kids I thought?). Every night was a thrill , the suspense to come home , and see what Verity had created. AMAZING is all I have to say; Ian is also an amazing cook and that was another happy moment of the day was his breakfast....Delicious! .
I love the place because they made us feel home ( with better food of course) , the children watch movies in the living room, made snowman and had a snow fight with the staff, . In one occasion one of my children mention marshmallows , by the afternoon marshmallows and hot chocolate ....they were spoiled.
Ian and Verity spent time with us , we shared lovely stories and had good laughs, but they also gave us the right amount of privacy. I can not think of a better two people to have such as business than Verity and Ian. I recommend Chalet Famille to anyone who wants to stay in a beautiful place, with amazing food and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAOLAOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at Chalet Famille for a week during february and we couldn't be more happy with the stay.

The Chalet is beautiful and spacious, with nice rooms and a cosy livingroom. There is also a sauna and a hot tub which are really nice to use after a long day of skiing. The Chalet offers everything you can ask for.

The service at the Chalet is great. The owners, Verity and Iain, are very nice and friendly and make you feel like home. They make sure you get to the lifts in the morning and back to the chalet in the afternoon. They prepare nice breakfasts, afternoon tea with fresh baking and in the evenings they serve delicous three course dinners.

I would definitely recommend Chalet Famille to anyone going to Morzine. It's a superb Chalet run by very nice people!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our group had the most amazing holiday at chalet famille! The food was to die for. Every day we felt totally spoilt by the lovely family hosts, who made us feel extremely welcome in their home from the beginning. Would recommend this chalet to any families, who enjoy geat skiing/snowboarding, great food (cannot go on about the food enough), and a lovely comfortable chalet with everything you need!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chappo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#45 of 50 in Morzine
183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Famille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Famille

Property: Chalet Famille
Address: 1912 route de la Manche, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Famille is our privately owned and run luxury catered chalet in Morzine. Offering wonderful food, comfortable accommodation and truly fabulous skiing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing