We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chalet montana - the perfect recipe for a great fun holiday.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Le Montana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Le Montana
Ranked #76 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Chalet montana - the perfect recipe for a great fun holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you're looking for a great fun, good value, relaxed atmosphere ski holiday then get yourself booked into Chalet le Montana with Zeb, Amy and Staff. Whether travelling in a small or large group, for a long weekend or a week i can guarentee you'll be well looked after and have a fantastic time. Zeb is able to sort airport transfers, lift passes, ski/board hire (all at prices comparable to the internet) so once you've booked your flights all the extra's are ready waiting for you when you arrive - hassle free ready and you can start to enjoy your holiday straight away. I 'organised' (in the loosest sense of the word) a group of 21 of us to go back to Montana this year and i cannot thank Zeb and Amy enough for making all the booking and sorting of everything so easy...for me! Rooms are basic, but clean and comfy and all you need at the end of a good day skiing. Food is plentiful and tasty. The bar is always sociable and if it's not try looking down in the games room and you'll probably find an impromptue pool competition in full swing. There is also a sauna if you do want a moment of relaxetion. Accessability to the slopes is good, you do need to get a bus but it stops 20metres from the chalet and only takes 5 minutes to get to the Ardent cable car, which takes you up towards Avoriaz without the que's of Morzine. There is the Happy Hour Bar at the bottom of the Ardent lift ...a useful meeting point at the end of a day before heading back to the chalet for cake, whilst waiting for the bus you may as well have a vin chaud..it'd be rude not to!
Chalet montana is the perfect recipe for a fabulous ski holiday - good hearty meals, simple comfy rooms, lovely staff (inc resident dogs), social bar and games room, on site ski/board tech and accesible to the slopes. This is the 2nd year I've stayed at Montana and it certainly will not be my last (assuming i'll be allowed back!). It is only Zeb and Amy's 3rd year at Montana and it has many returning guests which i think speaks volumes to show how well they look after everyone.
A word of warning, it is a great Chalet but perhaps not the quietest and hense i wouldn't recommend it to young families or people not up for having fun!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Second year here and allthough the bedrooms are basic the beds are warm and comfatable . Ski and boot hire are good and on site with ski pass arranged along with airport transfers ..it's not 5 star like some chalets , but probably more fun , with pool ,darts , honesty bar , sky sports and everyone eating together .. It's a hostel , but good reasonably priced and ideal for groups of like minded people who don't need too much pampering . Food this year was of a high quality , basic good fare and tasty ...well done Amie .
As a foot note , my party were caught out in bad weather and connecting lift from Champousin to Crosets closed . Poor visibility heavy snow fall and finally arrived back in Chatel at 6pm . No local taxis would take us over to Montriond and it was Wed night when all taxis are traditionnaly busy as chalet kitchens close most Wednesdays . A call to. Zeb who then hired a mini bus and sent one of his team over in a five hour drive to pick us up in very poor road conditions .. Try finding someone else who would do this ... What a service .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rectory46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

To be highly recommended we will definitely be returning. Zeb and Amy and their team were professional, friendly, helpful and relaxed (a winning combination). We were impressed with the food, expecting average standard, but it was beautifully served and really tasty - well done Amy and the cake making team (especially the flapjack and lemon drizzle cake). I expected standard hostel and was pleasantly surprised with how comfortable the chalet was. The flexibility on number of nights stayed was a real bonus. It was a brilliant long weekend (really quick transfer from Geneva - so long weekend do-able). Thanks so much team Chalet Montana. Good luck in your venture.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have just come back from a five night stay at Chalet Montana which we really enjoyed. We were reticent before booking as we could not get an idea of where the chalet was in relation to the slopes but were pleased to find out that there is a bus stop right outside the chalet and then only 5-10 minutes to the Ardent ski lift which takes you straight up to the Avoriaz, Chatel , Les Crossets ski areas. In fact, in some ways this was better than queuing in Morzine to get the Pleney and then be faced with huge crowds - in a lot of cases on the Avoriaz side the slopes were much quieter and much better snow. plus, it was still easy to get to Morzinwe, just get the bus the other way and you were there in 10 minutes.

Food was great in the chalet, continental breakfast with a choice of eggs, lovely cakes in the afternoon with unlimited access to tea and coffee. The dinners were three courses and again were of a high standard. Plus, the portions are huge! Just what you need after a days skiing!

The atmosphere in the chalet is really laid back and very friendly, it was a good chance to have some craic with other guests in the lounge and honesty bar and have a few drinks in the evening. The staff were all really friendly as was Zeb, the owner.

The rooms are clean and although a little noisy it was never enough to stop us sleeping. The showers and toilets are plentiful and again clean so there was never a problem there.

Overall a great stay, I would definitely come back. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hktravels79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 43 adults and children and spent a week at Chalet Montana over New Year. From first enquiring about the chalet to arriving there, communication and advice was fantastic. Zeb is a fantastic chalet host together with his wife Amy, and since acquiring the chalet a few years ago, Zeb is slowly making improvements year on year, so what is lacks in luxury is more than made up for in the level of service and hospitality you receive. Plus the food was great, the quality of skis and boots was great and all in all we had a brilliant week.

There was more than enough space for everyone to spread out, in fact ed hardly saw the children all week as they were firmly ensconced in the games room downstairs, playing Xbox, watching films and putting on talent shows!

Thanks Amy and Zeb you have a great set up and long may it continue. Hope to see you again this New year!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Campergirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have just had the best weekend skiing and staying at Chalet Montana. 22 of us stayed for my 50th birthday and had a great time. I could not recommend it enough. Zeb and Amy and their staff are welcoming, the food is excellent and the chalet is cosy downstaris with log burner, comfortable sofas and bar and upstairs the bedrooms whilst basic are clean, comfortable and what more do you need when you have been skiing all day!. You get excellent value for money, 10 min by bus from the main Ardent lift taking you up to Avoriaz.. Ski hire, passes etc are all available from the chalet. They will arrange transfers from Geneva so you really can leave your brain at home. Thanks again for a great time and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you are like i was a couple of months ago; English male who speaks very little French and wants to go on a mountain biking holiday, but always procrastinating because booking accommodation is a grey area... Give this place a shot, trust me you won't be disappointed. Its dirt cheap and has everything a biker needs. Zeb and Amy are fantastic hosts, by far the most welcoming, friendly and helpful i have come across on any holiday. Plenty of parking if you choose to drive, or they will arrange return transfers from and to Geneva airport for around about 60 quid. Try and get it cheaper, i bet you can't! The rooms are basic, granted, and very clean, but you Dont need a 5 star. We had two single beds, a wardrobe, a sink, mirror and a window with an amazing view. All facilities are spotless. Continental breakfast is included in the price and if you want dinner on the evening, let them know in the morning and ten quid will fix your hunger after a days adventures! The chalet is a mere 10 minute ride from Morzine and its Pleney and super Morzine lifts, and if you drive, a 10 minute journey from les linderets, which is the gateway to all the mountain biking you could ever need! Secure storage for all your bikes and riding gear... I could go on and on, but just book it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screennamenotavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#36 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Bruyeres
Hotel Les Bruyeres
#20 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Le Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Le Montana

Property: Chalet Le Montana
Address: 229 route de la Combe a Zore | Montriond, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Montana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Le Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Le Montana Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing