We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great staff”
Review of Chalet Le Montana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Le Montana
Ranked #80 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great price, great staff”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I recently spent 4 really enjoyable days at the Chalet Montana. In terms of value for money it can't be beaten - for the same prices I was quoted elsewhere for accommodation only I was able to get ski and boot hire, transfers and a couple of days worth of lift prices. As a result I was expecting to have to put up with second rate food and service, but the opposite couldn't have been more true. The staff were great, food was well thought out, and everything was clean and tidy with a great atmosphere. Admittedly the bedrooms were quite basic, but that was only a minor quibble, and again, better than the price would have suggested.
What really impressed me though happened when I got back. Lie an idiot I left my wallet in a local store, Zeb took the time to go there for me and send it back, all with no fuss or complaining! I would have no problem recommending the chalet to anyone looking for a great holiday that isn't going to break the bank.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just spent the weekend at Chalet Le Montana and have to say it was really good, and exceptional value for money.

I'd especially recommend it if you're going with a larger group of people (there were ten of us) for a weekend or shorter trip, as it appears to offer more flexibility than some of the other options.

The rooms were great, sleeping three adults quite happily. Communal showers and toilets, but they were always clean and well maintained.

The food was good and staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Favourite part of the place was the communal lounge and in-house bar. A great way to meet new people and tell war stories in front of the fire after a long day on the slopes.

Free buses pull up to the driveway taking you to either Morzine (20 minute drive) or the Ardent bubble of Avoriaz (ten minute drive). These buses run every half an hour and we found them very convenient. If you end your day at Ardent you can be back at the chalet quite quickly.

Four stars rather than five because the chalet isn't all that close to Morzine town.

That's not a big deal in itself, but be sure to plan things like ski pick up and drop off.

Most importantly, if you're planning on having a night on the town in Morzine itself be sure to book a cab for your return journey. Getting one in the early hours is impossible. Book one and you'll be fine, it's about a €15 ride back.

Other than that, all good. The owner couldn't be more helpful.

I'd recommend, and would visit again. Chief the chalet dog is also good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon, uk
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We arrived late Saturday evening, the staff went out of their way to help us, even at 9,30 at night they served us up a big dish of meats, cheeses and breads.

Every morning, we either had porridge, croissants, cereal, meats and cheeses or any kind of cooked egg you requested cooked by the chef, Josh.

The rooms were a good size, all with wardrobes and comfortable beds. There were communal bathrooms, which were always spotless.

We were greeted every day by the really friendly staff, Rachel and Lynsey, who always went out of their way to make sure we had everything we wanted.

The cake in the afternoons was gorgeous, a different type everyday.

Some of our party had specific dietary requirements, it was no trouble for the chef to rustle up an alternative for them either.

Montriond is a 5-10 minute bus ride away from the Bubble lift and 15 minute bus ride (in the opposite direction) to Morzine. Every day, the bus would come every 30 minutes 5 past and 35 past the hour.

I highly recommend the chalet to stay in if you are looking for lovely staff, likeminded people who want to relax in the evening at the bar or watch a film. A great place to make friends.

A massive plus they have a sauna, a PS3 and a huge selection of films to watch on their big TV.

Thanks again guys, you made our holiday an amazing one and we will be returning next year for sure.

All the best for your ski season in 2012 Zeb, Aimee, Lynsey, Rachel, Josh, Mia and Chief (the resident friendly doggy!!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterpcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had a great time over xmas 2011 at Chalet Montana. They could not have been more helpful, and friendly. We had great food every night and a big choice of breakfasts each morning. The lounge/bar is cosey and has a massive tv if you wanted to chill.
Its not a place for young children but while we were there we had 3 generations of one family, and assorted couples, who were all great company.
They have a whole load of new Head skis and boots, a ski for everyone in the selection. All the staff were smiley, fun and all snowheads, so they know the mountians.
The bus to the lifts truely is 50 yards from the end of the drive, and such an easy walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Boldon, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Just returned from yet another fantastic holiday at Chalet Montana. This time we went as a family from 17th Dec to 23rd Dec. Zeb was extremely accommodating as usual. The location is perfect as the free ski bus stop is located right outside of the drive. The food is second to none, a fabulous, hearty 3 course meal with plenty of wine. A very comfortable, homely Chalet with a lovely blazing fire to relax next to after your hard days skiing. A big thank you to all of the fantastic staff. Atmosphere around the table in the evenings is very relaxed and you are guaranteed to have a laugh. Looking to book flights to come back as soon as they are available.
The Staines Family

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Just returned from chalet Montana and the best ski holiday I have had! The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent and plentiful. Breakfast and evening meals are varied and good quality and afternoon cakes all home made and delicious. The rooms are ok and do the job and the lounge is cosy with leather sofas , log fire and the cheapest bar in town. Ski hire is available at the chalet and I was very happy with the equipment provided. It is a good 30 minute walk into morzine but the ski bus stops directly outside the chalet and gives easy access to the town and a number of ski lifts. Chalet Montana offers excellent value for money and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I was looking for somewhere to stay in Morzine for a "last-minute-ski-weekend", Chalet Montana popped up in the window and had a spare room. Everything was good, food, comfort, advice, beer, bar and location. Five minutes into the centre of Morzine and five minutes up the road to the Ardent gondola lift from the bus stop at the end of the road.

I will be back in 2012..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papaganoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
29 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#42 of 50 in Morzine
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#13 of 50 in Morzine
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
3.8 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Le Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Le Montana

Property: Chalet Le Montana
Address: 229 route de la Combe a Zore | Montriond, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Montana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Le Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Le Montana Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing