We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”
Review of Cairn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cairn Lodge
Ranked #3 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was our second year as a family - 14 of us - in Cairn Lodge. Thought last year was fantastic but this year was the best you could ask for - and better snow. Anthony's cooking was fabulous and he and Kelly were great with us and with 6 small children! Paul was wonderful and never complained about our constantly changing arrangements and helped doing up small ski boots! Marcus, Gina and Jane made the organising of the whole holiday so easy - we love it and will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 195 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

Absolutely spot on ski chalet with everything you could need. The food this year was spot on with Anthony adding his own style to the food which left us wondering if we were on a ski trip or a gourmet week. Our chalet hosts were just great, nothing ever too much trouble and Paul was fantastic as a ski guide and always ready with the van to pick us up or drop us off where ever and when ever we needed. Brilliant afternoon cakes by Kelly I particularly enjoyed the fruit cake. Gina and Marcus popped in a few times and it was lovely to see them, they make a huge effort to ensure everything is just right for their guests and their choice of chalet hosts each year cannot be purely chance. If you want a truly great alpine ski experience look no further than Reach for the Alps and Cairn Lodge is a well appointed, comfortable and superbly well run chalet.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed so no need to worry about the room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I reluctantly write this review of Cairn Lodge in the hope that not too many people will believe how fantastic it is, and we can still find a window of availability. It was our third time this year with our ever growing group of skiers, foodies and lovers of all things excellent. It seems we are typical as Gina and Marcus manage to get the highest return rate of guests that i have experienced. The chalet hosts they choose are always great and this year Kellie, Anthony and Paul were exceptional. We had demonstrations of culinary expertise every night starting with beautifully prepared canapes before we even started on our top restaurant quality dinner...not forgetting breakfast and yummy afternoon tea. The only downside is you have to ski really, really hard to work it off or be really disciplined and say no...or go home heavier (like we did). Paul guided us all over the place and certainly helped us earn an extra slice of cake with a great day exploring areas that we may not have got to on our own. As the organiser of our annual trip I will keep returning because I don't know who can match the service, food and experience as well as making the whole booking process so easy - anyone who has managed groups of people for holidays will know ordinarily how long it can take to get money, insurance details etc from everyone - all sorted on a R4TA holiday. And thanks to the guys at Cairn making the holiday so wonderful, I received flowers on my return from new guests in our group for organising a brilliant trip. I can wholeheartedly recommend Cairn Lodge and will continue to accept all the credit for organising such brilliant holidays! Thank you all.

Room Tip: The website provides full information on every room with floorplans and photos, so you can choose co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Just had a brilliant week at Cairn Lodge and have to say that it was my first, but definitely not my last, catered chalet holiday. There were 13 of us in our party but it certainly wasn't an unlucky number. The team at Cairn Lodge were superb. Everything possible was done to make our holiday run smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble and the catering was, as Michel Roux Jnr would say, "fine dining at its best". I thought I was supposed to lose weight - an impossible task with such excellent cuisine. Well done to Anthony and Kelly.

Paul gave us some challenging runs but his guiding was just right. We even managed to find most of the runs again on our own!

I hope to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have just spent a week at Cairn Lodge on a family holiday and it was a fantastic week. From the initial airport pick up through to the accommodation and ski hire arrangements everything was perfectly organised and handled. The staff were superb and nothing was too much trouble. I can highly recommend this company and their chalets.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I hosted a large family trip for my 40th birthday and from the ratings i had high expectations.

They were ALL exceeded.

Great service and nothing too much trouble for a great team of Anthony, Kelly and Paul.

In a holiday where everything was a highlight it was hard to pick out one in particular, but the food.....man alive, it was exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We took over the chalet with a family group of 15 and everyone found it faultless. Good location and standard of property but FABULOUS 5 star dining. Some good chalets have good cooks, we had a fabulous chef; no really. Kerry and Anthony are extraordinary hosts, Paul was the sort of logistics and guide god that you can only dream about. From our youngest (6 months) to our oldest (just a LITTLE over 60) everyone was brilliantly cared for.

I've stayed in 20+ ski locations and this is the definitive standard to beat.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Elliswatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
80 reviews
1.9 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant les Sapins
3.1 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#22 of 50 in Morzine
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Lodge

Address: Route De Putheys, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range: $519 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairn Lodge is a luxury ski chalet sleeping up to 15 guests in seven bedrooms. The dining /sitting room is open plan and enjoys fantastic views over Morzine, there are lots of comfy sofas centered around a wood burning stove and French patio doors open out onto the sun terrace and hot tub. Downstairs the garage has been converted into a games room making it ideal for families and large groups with additional sofas, TV and DVD player and a table tennis table. There is also a sauna/relaxation room with space for a massage table. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing