We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family wedding”
Review of Chilly Powder

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chilly Powder
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family wedding”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our family and friends took over the 3 chalets which constitute this hotel for almost a week. The owners, Paul and Francesca, and all their staff were absolutely fantastic throughout the 7 nights that we were staying at Chilly Powder. Nothing that we asked for was too much trouble. The food was excellent, some bedrooms are smaller than average, but the facilities within the hotel and in the area make it a good base for exploring the area either on foot, in the car or by bike - if fit enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    15
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
172
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great chalet, friendly owners and staff, unrivalled child facilities/childcare, superb food, fab location with short transfer from Geneva. Have already been back and it won't be the last time. Enough said?

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here at the end of Jan 2012 with our four year old. Transfer from the airport very easy, and good reception as we arrived at the chalet, which is in a great location with stunning views...at least once it stopped snowing!

Our room (Irish) was pretty compact, but cute with it...the child's bed in a tiny mezzanine with its own lookout window. But not much room to swing our toy cat.

Food was very good for a chalet, but we didn't find it exceptional. Portions and service were good, despite the staff being pretty busy.

Child care was generally good, though we (and other parents) had some concern about there being a gap between the end of the ESF lessons and the girls picking them up...but our daughter had a great time and on the last day we went off skiing together as a family which was brilliant...and unexpected! The first trip on a chairlift with a four year old is memorable...for a number of reasons!

Nick and Francesca were really helpful when one of us lost a lift pass, and they collected all passes back from guests so that we could work out the pass number and get a free replacement.

Ski area is brilliant, and the snow conditions were just awesome, though at minus 20 it did get a bit fresh.

Our daughter still talks about the holiday, and we would definitely consider a return in the future.

Room Tip: Irish room is great if you like it cosy and don't take too much stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Chilly Powder is an ideal spot for holiday makers all year round. Its seconds from the lifts which is such a bonus for being the first to enjoy some fresh powder, to tare down the mountain on a bike in summer or for those who like to take it a bit slower and simply enjoy the scenery. The food and the service at the hotel is fantastic and is just what you need after long day of being out on the mountain and if that is not enough then there is always the hot tub where you can relax and enjoy a glass of wine whilst taking in the views. I give chilly powder a 10 out of 10 for everything the accomodation, the staff, the food and location it really doesnt get much better than this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Chilly Powder is superbly located at the base of the cable to Avoriaz - making first lifts in the mornings an ease. Also you have to love the screaming home runs directly back to the chalets/hotel, followed by friendly apres or two....or three. Nick, Paul and Francesca - indeed all the staff cannot do enough to help you indulge while on your holiday. Great food and wine!!! There is a great mix of types who stay there, from families (great facilities for it with the childcare etc!) to couples like myself and fiancé - or even singles or groups of friends. Everyone can mingle - or if you need some quiet time, there is plenty for relaxing.(like a hot tub) With the chalets and/or the hotel, a day or two or a full week or longer can be sorted.
I have only stayed at Chilly Powder during the winter for a snow holiday - but am thinking of organising a boys golfing weekend from there in the summer after reading up on what goes on around Morzine during the warmer months. It really is too easy from this location.
Chilly Powder is/was an excellent find and I happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bascharage, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have spent our holiday at Chilly Powder and due to the brillint location and Nick's / Francesca's kindness I can suggest to everbody this hotel.

Room Tip: The family room (so called) music room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Have now stayed here on two separate occasions, From start to finish the accommodation, food and staff are Superb. Its location is brilliant for the lift up to avoriaz. In our summer stay we took some friends and they fell in love with it to, Great for mountain biking, local amenities like the pool is great! Again a fantastic experience for out whole family. Never a dull moment!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKtraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your message and I am so glad you had such a good stay with us. This summer it is going to get even better with the new AQUARIAZ in Avoriaz - Lots of kiddie fun for everyone! See you again soon - hopefully for another down hill ride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morzine
2.5 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
139 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
1.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
188 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#11 of 50 in Morzine
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilly Powder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilly Powder

Property: Chilly Powder
Address: 2740 route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morzine
#3 Luxury Hotel in Morzine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chilly Powder 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilly Powder is a hotel but with the personal touches of a chalet. We have been operating ski chalet holidays of excellence since 1995. The genuine ski to the door location of our 3 luxury catered chalets with unrivalled in-house childcare facilities sets us apart from other ski chalets in Morzine.The pistes from Morzine Avoriaz descend straight into the garden and the main cable car opposite the chalet takes you to the heart of the Morzine Avoriaz skiing with the best access to the vast Portes du Soleil ski area. There are well over a hundred catered chalets in Morzine but only a handful can boast ski to the door locations. With all en-suite bedrooms, outdoor Jacuzzi, sauna, massage and in-house childcare in our crèche, the chalet is absolutely unique in Morzine for small or large groups or families with children or babies. The truly excellent cuisine, friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere of the chalet make it the perfect holiday destination and for our many returning guests it is considered a real home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chilly Powder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilly Powder Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing