We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing! Fantastic! Superb! Highly Recommended! Go There!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riders Refuge Chalet Eterle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riders Refuge Chalet Eterle
Ranked #36 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Lancashire
1 review
“Amazing! Fantastic! Superb! Highly Recommended! Go There!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

Arrived to meet the friendly Jono at the airport. He insisted on wheeling our bikes to his van. (Really sound guy, excellent host).

After a pleasant journey to Morzine we got to the chalet in darkness. Jono showed us round and gave us a demo of the Hot Tub! We couldnt believe our luck when we arrived. The Chalet is awesome and that is an understatement!
We got our bags inside and were keen to build the bikes up but there was another little treat instore for us...

Jono had prepared a local dish for supper. You will be delighted with the gourmet home cooking that these guys lay on. A choice of red or rose wine is on tap with no limit!

Bikes built then on to the rooms. They are a good size with sparkling clean bathrooms that are well equipped. Comfy beds and homely chalet. We didnt want to leave and that was after being there for 1 hour!

The bike storage area is really secure and was ideal for them. There is a bike stand and a few tools to help you build up aswell! A hose pipe and jet wash were for use which meant we didnt have to pay like most of the other suckers in morzine!

Every morning breakfast is laid out consisting of the most fresh french baguettes, jam, butter, yoghurts, cereals, toast, eggy bread etc etc. Felt bad for not being able to finish all the food in the morning but it was spot on!

Also there was a tasty cake on the table as we arrived back into the chalet everyday! When I say tasty im meaning TASTY. Just what you need after a hard days riding.

After the days of riding it was time to jump in the welcoming hot tub. This thing really makes you feel great after a hard day. It was another bonus from Riders Refuge.

I cant recommend this place and Riders Refuge enough. Jono and Jill are excellent hosts laying on the best food and great service. Friendly and really cool people.

There is going to be more of us going back next year, its just a shame that next year is so far away!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheungey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

Just come back from a 5 day mountain biking trip in Morzine. Stayed with Jill and Jono at Chalet Eterle. The service was absolutely amazing!! We were picked up from Geneva by Jono (no charge)( he even text us when we landed to welcome us to Geneva and let us know where to meet him).
It was a hot day when we landed and he had cold bottles of water in the van ( very welcome after the flight).
Chalet Eterle is really nice, spotlessly clean. The bedrooms are a good size and the en suite showers brilliant!!
There was a bike work stand and some tools so we could fix the bikes up and they've just finished building a secure bike store.
The breakfasts and three course dinners were always fantastic and just what you needed after a hard day in the saddle. ; - )
We were looked after extremely well from start to finish and both Jill and Jono went out of their way to help us out with shuttling us around and sorting out guiding for us. I can't reccomend these Guys enough, If you're heading to Morzine you have got to see if these Guys have availability. They are simply the best!!!!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TiggerEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

We were part of a group of 8 with the final room taken up for the last 3 days by another 2 lovely people and the atmosphere and feel to the place catered for all our abilities, interests and activities. We all got on great because Jill and Jono have such a relaxed flexible vibe about the place you can't help but enjoy.
The food was great, the lift in the van in the morning much appreciated, bus stop nearby and town only 10 mins stroll away so all in all very good location and extras. They even arranged for Jim to come along one night and play his guitar and organ for us to sing kareoke hits too! If you don't like singing they will happily suggest something else.
The chalet was really nice and clean with the hot tub a lovely way to while away a couple of hours with a beer in the evening.
Jill and Jono are soo good they even picked me up from the local hospital when i injured my bottom on a foolish attempt to be cool in the Avoriaz trick park. Thanks for picking me up and looking after my big battered bum!
Highly recomended for whole groups or smaller groups as Jill and Jono help everyone get along and relax.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Jill & Jono deserve all the praise & success they get. Whether it was food, rooms, ferrying to the slopes, you name it, we all felt very well looked after. Their experience & care shone through. Thank you, but try & keep a room for us next year please!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruise-the-blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

The perfect holiday! We visited Chalet Eterle in March 2009 with four friends for our first skiing / snowboarding holiday, and we loved every minute. We were spoilt in every way, with the chalet, the hosts Jono and Jill, the food, the location and the weather, all were superb- would definity recommend a beer in the hot tub after a day on the slopes!
Morzine is a superb resort and the ski lifts are within walking distance of the chalet. Needless to say we will definitly be going skiing and snowboarding again, and when we do we will be going back to Chalet Eterle to see Jono and Jill, the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridersrefuge, Owner at Riders Refuge Chalet Eterle, responded to this review, June 1, 2009
We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests from our first winter season you really made it for us!
We appreciate the positive feed back and will endeavour to keep improving and bring you good value chalet holidays.
See you in the summer or next winter.
Take care
Jill & Jono.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

We have just spent 4 days at the end of the season with Jono and Jill at Chalet Eterle.
We felt so much at home, with great food and a comfortable chalet.
We were lucky enough to have 4 sunny days and even though the snow was a bit soft
in the afternoon, we had a terrific time.
The hot tub was great for our weary legs and the food and wine strengthened us for
the next day.
Thank you so much to Jono and Jill for a special time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

Quite possibly the best holiday ever.. ...lovely chalet, fantastic food and a beautiful place.
Jonny and Jill took such good care of us (and our two year old) that I want to live there forever!! If you are looking for a holiday............. BOOK IT NOW!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.2 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#26 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#36 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
2.0 mi away
La Ferme du Lac Vert
La Ferme du Lac Vert
#1 of 17 in Montriond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riders Refuge Chalet Eterle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riders Refuge Chalet Eterle

Property: Riders Refuge Chalet Eterle
Address: 525 Chalet Eterle | Route de la Mernaz, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Riders Refuge's Morzine catered chalet you are perfectly placed for an invigorating dynamic ski, snowboard or Mountain bike holiday. Riders Refuge is based in the French Town of Morzine located in the heart of the Portes du Soleil ski area close to the Swiss border. Our Morzine chalet is just over an hour away from Geneva airport enabling you to make the most of your time on the hill. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing