We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel L'Aubergade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel L'Aubergade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at the hotel during February half-term week: two adults, three kids. Firstly, Emma, Olly and team are superb. You've seen this sort of comment repeated in everyone's review...and its very true. They are excellent hosts and without doubt, our stay at their hotel was the highlight of the trip.

We had an unfortunate incident with our car and Emma went out of her way to help us out, ranging from arranging for an ex-pat Brit mechanic to come over and take a friendly look, to finding 'room at the inn' for the five of us for an extra night given the car problems...all presumably during their busiest week. That's class and that demonstrates the extra mile the team go to to ensure you are looked after.

I cant stress how important and grateful we all were for their care, hospitality, friendliness and refreshing approach.

As for the hotel: ideal location (ski-in after from the slopes, next door to the kids' ski school and the main lift area). Rooms were fine: brand new (and roomy) bathrooms. Rooms at the front can be a tad noisy with the windows open at night (as it faces the main road) but nothing to put you off.

Food was great: varied and catered for adults and kids. No idea what the reviewer was complaining about in another review on the food. It was ideal.

Would highly recommend this hotel for all manner of guests but in particular, families wanting a ski vacation (and I would guess a summer vacation, too).

Thank you to Emma, Olly and team (special mention also to Bethan, who was superb). You have a terrific hotel and I wish you all the success you deserve, for your hard work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    46
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
45
31
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our family of mum, dad and three teenagers stayed at Hotel L'Aubergarde over the February half term and we look forward to returning again in the future. The location is very, very good and we enjoyed the ease of ski/boot hire with Doorstep Skis coming to the hotel to supply us with rental equipment.
There is a happy vibe at the Bar and the half-board option suited our family well. Due to various dietary restrictions our family's menu choices were limited, but the kitchen worked hard to ensure we had some off-menu options to keep taste buds tingling, and we appreciated the flexibilty.
Our room was clean and sun-filled and the only request for the future would be for a bit more comfort in the Bar area. At the end of a challenging skiing day it is nice to have a comfy chair to relax in, but our only options were to lie down in our rooms, or go down to the wooden chairs and tables in the bar. But! new sofas arrived in one corner of the Bar on our last day and so perhaps the comfort factor will improve.
The staff are all lovely, friendly and very helpful and add so much to the experience of staying at L'Aubergade.
Our family enjoyed skiing in Morzine/Les Gets and had one day in Avoriaz/PDS, but we felt there was plenty of ski opportunities in Morzine and so in the future we would love to book another holiday at L'Aubergade and stick to the local ski area.
We would warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinchesterFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morzine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went for dinner at this place for a birthday meal. The table was booked well in advance. Had a nice drink at the bar first. lovely wine. nice atmosphere. Went through for dinner into what reminded me of my school canteen as a child. Even though we booked the table there wasnt enough spaces so there a bit off faff there. no bother. the menu was fairly limited but assuming limited set menu = quality.

Started was very standard. it tasted nice but looked like something i could have made myself and the quality of the goats cheese was poor. you could tell it was the cheap option. We were given some box wine which quite bad compared to what we were drinking at the bar earlier. We were then given stale bread.

Main was nice but again, something i feel i could have made myself. the portion sizes were small. by this time, no bread at all. for a pre booked meal, i would at least expect there to be enough fresh table bread.

Dessert was ok but certainly nothing wow either.

Im sure as a hotel and as a paying guest, the service is great and the food is very 'standard chalet' but as a paying dinner guest, for a bill that was over €50 euros a head + pre drinks, i was very disappointed. having eaten at a number of restaurants in the area on our holidays, i have had way better value for money elsewhere. I fell rather ripped off.

On the up, location is great, bar is great, the staff were very nice & the open kitchen is a nice touch. just such a shame about the standard of food for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theoriginalmarshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma L, Manager at Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear theoriginalmarshian,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to write a review about our hotel. We are delighted that you have so many positive things to say about our bar, the team and our amazing location. We are however saddened to hear that you feel that your experience wasn’t what you expected it to be, which has worried us immensely after all the hard work and great reviews we have received so far!

We have looked into the different aspects of your experience on that particular evening and checked your bill of which you ordered the carafe wine to accompany your dinner at 8€ for 50cl, which is great value, but obviously different from the wine that you would have ordered from our extensive wine list by the glass from the bar.

In regards to the total amount of the bill, our most expensive options of starter, main course and desert come to 39.50€ (the least expensive options on the menu come to 28.50€).

We would love to chat with you about this and have already sent you a message directly but received no reply. Having only just taken over the hotel, we are still on a learning curve and feedback is critical to our success. You obviously have a lot of experience of eating out in numerous resturants in the local area, therefore your feedback is especially useful and gratefully received.

Looking forward to hearing from you,

The team at the l'Aubergade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week and a day staying here. From the moment we were met at GVA we were looked after fantastically. The bar is humming most nights especially on the day when happy hour lasts all night! Our two young girls (3 & 5 yrs) were looked after fantastically by all the friendly staff. They had their dinner at 6 pm sharp which then left us in peace to enjoy the great selection of dinner menu choices. One night was the local specialities night, the other was Valentines night where they pushed the boat out for a memorable evening.
Another fantastic touch was the live music act that played most evenings, the girls loved dancing with them!!
The location of the hotel is right next door to Piou Piou (child care & ski school) and then the Plenney lift station. The rear terrace backs on to one of the nursery slopes that connects to the main piste, so you can literally ski in and ski out!
The staff there would go out their way to help with anything. Well done guys - and thanks again for a fantastic stay.
Needles to say we're booked in again for next year!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucys_Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having just returned from a quick dash to Morzine i felt compelled to give my opinion on this great hotel.

I booked last minute via email as the snow reports indicated great conditions and i just needed to ski.
The helpful staff answered everyone of my emails quickly and in detail and really put my mind at rest as this was the first time i had ever travelled alone to a ski resort. The offered to arrange my transfers and lift pass which i duly accepted.
On arrival at Geneva i was met by one of the hotel staff who drove us (another family too) straight to the hotel door. It took around 1hr.
First impressions were fantastic, there was a lively bar and roaring fire to greet me and a great big welcoming smile from Bethan who showed me to my room.

The rooms are basic but clean and deliver everything you need for a ski holiday and they were cleaned everyday whilst i was there. My room on the first floor opened out onto a huge sun terrace.
The rooms have a small but adequate bathroom with shower and plenty of storage. There is also a TV but no english channels……but i was there to ski not watch TV.
Wifi is also available and free to all guests, i had no problems with this in my room.

Food - I only booked B&B as i tend to eat on the mountain at lunch time but from what i saw the evening meals looked lovely. So much so that next time i will most likely stay half board.

As stated in other reports the location is FANTASTIC, you can ski to your door and the main Pleney lift is just a snowballs throw away. Having seen all the other hotels in the town i can honestly say you won't get a much better location than the Aubergade. This is of course if you wish to Ski the Morzine Les Gets area.
For Avoriaz you need to catch the Super Morzine lift which is across town but the ski bus stops just outside the hotel.

If you are thinking of booking this hotel just do it…. There is nothing to think about. Great value for money.

Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snapzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Have to say that we have just spent a great weekend at the l'Aubergade. The staff were very professional and incredibly attentive from start to finish,( thank you Bethan). The hotel is in a fantastic location, very close to the Pleney lift and centre of town. A huge plus for us, was that they are totally geared up for families, with a separate play area/ dining area and TV. Which is great when you have small children (6 & 3 years) and it is near the bar/restaurant so that you can relax with total peace of mind. The terrace leads straight on to the nursery slopes area, so you can ski straight back to the hotel. The food was superb with a great variety, and to a very high standard. Our rooms were a good size with very comfy beds. All in all, can't fault them. We will be recommending the l'Aubergade to everyone:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rennebu
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

a very good place to stay when the snow was falling and the powdersnow was waiting for us outside the doorstep.
the staff was very nice, rooms ok, food was good (but we would like to have some more food for dinner)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#1 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#20 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#15 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade

Property: Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade
Address: 567 Avenue de Joux Plane, 74110, Morzine, France (Formerly Hotel L'Aubergade)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Aubergade hotel, at the heart of Morzine, at the bottom of the Pleney slope is the ideal location for your ski and summer holidays. A small family run hotel providing tailored, personal and honest accommodation in an incredible setting. Open for lunch, apres-ski and in the evening, our bar offers a great place to relax between your days activities and to enjoy the sun on our slope side terrace. We stock some great real ales and our cocktails are becoming legendary. Our restaurant is also open all day, with a menu that has been chosen with great care and passion by our chefs. Offering quick and tasty lunches and fine dining in the evenings we also organise regular gastronomic events from hog roasts to traditional savoyard evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing