We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel L'Aubergade/Mountain Mavericks Xmas week 2012” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel L'Aubergade/Mountain Mavericks Xmas week 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We go to the Alps every Xmas and this was our 11th year on the bounce;however it was the first time we didn't stay in a fully catered chalet. We did have a little nervous anticipation as we have stayed in some amazing places before and like to be pampered, but we needn't have worried. The hotel while not the Savoy, is perfectly good and very comfortable, the rooms were pretty spacious compared to some of the "luxury" chalets we have stayed in, everyone had their own bathroom and I certainly managed a hot shower every evening. I have to mention the beds and bedding too, very high quality 100% cotton sheets, lovely down duvets and proper UK style pillows (hate those crappy continental square things!).
What was really great was the food. It was absolutely outstanding, from the big hot breakfast choice in the morning to the 3 choices of all 3 courses at dinner. I don't think we had anything other than a great meal all week, and the French Xmas dinner on Xmas eve (5 courses) and the British Xmas dinner on Xmas day (5 courses) were both exceptionally good. Even at really high end chalets you rarely get much of a choice at dinner, and at some point in the week you will get something that you don't really like, that never happened at the Aubergade and was a real bonus. If they wanted to make it even better value, the supply of wine at dinner would be worth paying a bit extra for up front, but it depends upon your family's consumption (we love a drink!) and is probably only a minor point (corkage charge for BYO maybe??).
Finally I have to say the staff were great; nothing was too much trouble and we were a large and at times noisy group. The girls waiting tables and making up rooms were delightful, the chefs really engaging and keen to please, the bar boys were very friendly (and patient!), and the management was professional, proactive and genuinely helpful.
Would I stay there again? Without question. Would I recommend the whole place to friends and family? No hesitation.
Skiing in Porte du Soleil was really great too, some of the lifts are getting on a bit but the resorts really take care of their pistes, and unlike some of the other more "fashionable" resorts we've stayed in, we felt entirely welcome and valued as a paying guest whether on the slopes, in the bars or just walking about. Recommend the big Pointe Du Nyon hotel for lunch too, really friendly, great food, and terrific value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    44
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
45
31
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break at the start of the ski season.

The hotel is a few mins from the main ski lift in Morzine so very well located.

The staff are really friendly and very professional.

The room we had was basic but comfy - all you need for a ski weekend.

We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and have to say the food was fantastic - very good quality and the price was reasonable too, cheaper than other restaurants in the town and better food too. Cocktails at the bar afterwards are a must as well!

Definately recommend this place for any one wanting a cheap but good quality place to stay. Think the rooms were 65euro per person for B+B which is a steal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morzine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived lunchtime Saturday 22nd to discover a parking space kept for us very close to the front entrance. The welcome from the staff was as warm as the interior which made for a comfortable and cosy retreat from the sub zero temperatures outside. Our room on the second level was large and certainly spacious enough for my wife and 2 young children. The play room on the ground floor had a toy box full of trains and cars that amused the little ones when in house and had a sensational village outlook through a large glass window. The food was varied and best of all "hot" with minimal wait times. Lunchtime on the outdoor timber deck surrounded by snow was delightful with stunning views and great service. Thank you to Emma and Olly and all the staff for helping to make 2012 a very memorable white Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorzinePrintemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

My daughter and I have stayed at chalets in Morzine a few times but I thought I would try and keep the costs down and book the hotel myself.
When we got dropped off outside I could tell my daughter was disappointed as the outside doesn't give one confidence!!!
A lovely french lady who spoke no Anglais said she did not know where the owner was but took a key and showed us to our room.
A good size with a double and a single bed for maximum flexibility one imagines but with a nice clean slower basin and toilet and lots of wardrobe space. Doors opened out onto a massive terrace (we were on the first floor and there are no lifts) which overlooked the pistes
What an awesome view!
Beds and sheets blankets were so comfortable....hadn't slept so well in ages.
Breakfast as some others have commented on is basic but has great fresh croissant bread yogurt ham cheese.....only gripe is that there is only Cornflakes as cereal....but hey!
I fell in love with the place and the staff were very friendly indeed.....you will need some basic French to communicate properly with anyone other than the owner and young guy behind the bar........all in all great value but as one reviewer already said ....could do with a lick of paint and a few less plastic flowers!!!

Room Tip: Chose first floor as its easiest to get luggage up one flight. Also choose a room facing the slopes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PierreVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

would just like to say thank you to the staff for a pleasant stay at an excellent hotel in an ideal location at the bottom of the pleney food was great an the hot tub was even better the rooms were basic but clean but you only sleep in those ,brilliant location we will be returning next year thanks again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just spent a long weekend and booked Hôtel L'Aubergade last minute via booking.com. Had no idea what was expecting us but have to say I (and the long haired General) were pleasantly surprised. Located a mere skip and a hop from Pleney (main Morzine lift), ski shops and town center which made it perfect. The room was clean and they even accommodated our request for a top floor room in the hope of a slightly quieter night. They obliged and we had a lovely, clean room with views of the slopes and paragliding landing area.
Although a basic hotel it was clean, good food, friendly management and a perfect location. Would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciarán j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just arrived home from a 5 day trip to Morzine ( End of March 2012 ). I would be happy to recommend this hotel. Location is excellent, about 100m to the main Pleney telecabine lift for access to the Morzine/Les Get slopes. It's terrace opens out on to the nursery slopes and the main ESF Piou Piou kiddie ski-school is right next door so perfect for parents.

Only Rooms 2 - 6 have access to the huge sun balcony, so try and ask for one of those. Rooms ( we were in number 2 ) are small, though average size for most ski resorts, furnishings are simple, though the bed was very comfortable and the ensuite shower room was a decent enough size.

There was an added advantage of an hdmi tv, not for watching but for playing back our photos and videos we had taken during the day.

Breakfast is simple, just bread, cheese, ham, cornflakes, juice, tea and coffee so perhaps something extra could be added to the menu. We were staying half board and were not dissappointed with the evening meals. Most were 3 course, local savoyard fare, very tasty and always more than enough to eat and I have a huge appetite. We had lunch at the restaurant one afternoon and the price was favourable compared to the mountain area eateries.

There is also a large undercover jacuzzi/hot tub. We were the only ones to make use of this and yet it had enough room to seat 6 or 8.

We took advantage of the paragliders that land in the grounds and had an amazing 1 hour flight over Morzine and Avoriaz. Unbelievable experience.

Staff speak french with very very little english, but they are helpful and friendly. The manager speaks a modicum of english

Room Tip: Room 2 to 6 on the first floor have access to a large private sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Of_Loxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#1 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#4 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade

Property: Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade
Address: 567 Avenue de Joux Plane, 74110, Morzine, France (Formerly Hotel L'Aubergade)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Aubergade hotel, at the heart of Morzine, at the bottom of the Pleney slope is the ideal location for your ski and summer holidays. A small family run hotel providing tailored, personal and honest accommodation in an incredible setting. Open for lunch, apres-ski and in the evening, our bar offers a great place to relax between your days activities and to enjoy the sun on our slope side terrace. We stock some great real ales and our cocktails are becoming legendary. Our restaurant is also open all day, with a menu that has been chosen with great care and passion by our chefs. Offering quick and tasty lunches and fine dining in the evenings we also organise regular gastronomic events from hog roasts to traditional savoyard evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing