We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simply Morzine - Chalet Carving
Ranked #44 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The service provided by Simply Morzine was simply the best , we had a wonderful holiday in the french Alps. Our ages ranged from 8 to 70+ , there were 11 of us and the chalet had plenty of space for all of us, nice indoor and ourdoor seating areas, comfortable beds, lots of hot water and a fabulous location. We had opted for a catered chalet and had worried about the food ~ well it was amazing thanks to Michelle, absolutely delicious meals every time . my mother said she felt like Charles and Camilla on a luxury break with their own gourmet chef!!! Thanks Michelle! Simply Morzine are a well organised and very caring company who go out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable break, they organised various sporting, energetic, relaxing and cultural activities which you can join in with. Our favourites were river rafting and Chamonix, we enjoyed the 'stroll' to the lake(actually about an 8 mile trek!) Word of advice take comfortable walking shoes and sporty clothes ..... as I found out not the place for kaftans and tanginis ~ the emphasis is on the walk not the lake but we really enjoyed it especially when we got the kids a lift back in the minibus and didn't have to listen to them whining on the way back. Would definately do it again! Trevor and Ed were great guides. In the resort there are tons of fun things to do we did horse riding at the local stables, went on the summer luge, went swimming , hired moiuntain bikes and rode along the river path, played tennis, went to the pool and went shopping, the shops in Morzine are brilliant, lovely local craft, gifts and great clothes shops. Simply Morzine appoint a rep for each chalet , we had Steve, he was a great guy, very attentive he organised all our trips, transport anf gave us lots of handy tips
, very friendly and good at his job # the kids loved him!!! He has a few Irish admirerers!!!!
Our chalet maid Carmel cleaned and helped to serve and do dishes every day she was lovely . a good worker, friendly and efficient!!!
All in all Simply Morzine is a fantasic company, I have been recommending them to friends back home and would certainly use them again when we visit the Alps! C'est magnifique!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreena2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Simply Morzine - Chalet Carving
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 49 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

Chalet Carving is located 5 minutes walk from the bottom of the Pleny ski lift in Morzine.

The accommodation is rented via the small family run business "Simply Morzine". This company off an excellent overall service. You are dealing with the directors of company directly and this shows in their care and attention to detail though the booking/ reservation process.

When you arrive you find Chalet Carving is presented spotlessly clean. The accommodation is over three floors - the ground floor has a ski gear room, drying room, games room (table football + TV/ DVD for the kids) and a large sauna room. On the ground floor is a large living/ dining space + the kitchen and one of the five en-suite bedrooms. The other 4 en-suite rooms are on the second floor.

The food, breakfast and evening meals, is of a consistently high standard. Also offered as part of the package is a "ski guide" service on several days.

The staff are all extremely friendly and make you feel at home. I have stayed here before and hope to again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Lovely chalet in a great location just 2 min walk from the Pleney lift (would have been ski back if there had been some snow!), only 2 min to the main bars/clubs but set back from the road enough to be quiet.
Very decent sized bedrooms, all ensuite with plenty of storage for clothes, beautiful wood construction, the only criticism being the walls are a bit thin - hope you're next room neighbours don't snore too loud!
Living areas decent size for the recommended 10, would have been a bit crowded with the max capacity 14 (although if the extra 4 were kids then the downstairs games room could solve that problem.)
Service overall, from 1st contact to final arrangements for transfers, was very good - attentive and personal, and in resort our rep only covered 2 chalets so was in every morning and evening to check everyhting was OK plus did two very well organised days of ski hosting.
Our hosts kept the chalet spotless - all rooms and bathrooms cleaned every day, but highlight has to be the amazing food cooked by our chef Tom - really top class with very ample portions, even for the guys with notoriously big appetites - so much so that a couple of nights out on the town got scrapped as we were all too full to leave.
Sounds like a bit if an OTT review but our mixed group of 20's/30's couples/singles were all equally impressed and it's hard to think of any negatives about either Chalet Carving or Simply Morzine - well done guys.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

It was our first time with Simply Morzine and it will not be the last.The chalet was fantastic both location and standard were excellent
Tom and Hannah our chalet hosts were great ,the food was to die for,with great afternoon cakes too.!!! Nothing was too much trouble.(even with 4 kids)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smurftinkerbell1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Three generations of our family aged from 8 to 80 spent the first week in July at Chalet Carving. There was loads of space for all 13 of us and there was so much to do in Morzine that we didn't have time to get to do lots of activities. The Simply Morzine team were great - helpful and Steve was like part of the family. The area has a lovely atmosphere and the scenery was fabulous. Our next holiday has a lot to live up to ...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary186635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

2010 was my first time on a "luxury catered Chalet" type ski trip. I was not disappointed.
Simply Morzine are an pleasant and efficient small family firm who specialise in organising trips to one single ski resort. Their website is simple to use and the descriptions of accommodation and services are accurate.
This year I travelled with a group of 14 which included my wife and our two young boys (four and three), my outlaws plus some mates and their kids.
Liked - short (one hour) transfers from/ to Geneva airport (included in price). Chalet was spotlessly clean, spacious and well kitted out e.g. Wi-fi + Sauna (not tried simultaneously!). Location - Chalet Carving is 200m from one of the main ski lifts (Pleney). Food was consistently high standard. Service from chalet staff was friendly and efficient. Ski guide service was excellent. Resort - Morzine appears to be a smaller and quieter village - if there is a wild party scene kicking off then it passed us by. The chalet type accommodation really works with young kids as you can relax knowing they are in a safe "home from home" type environment.
Disliked - chaos @ Geneva airport on a Saturday (handover day for Chalets/ week long hotel deals + the Geneva Motor show didn't help!). Mother-in-law's face at breakfast every day for a week (but what can you do?!?).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Just got back from a fantastic weeks skiing in Morzine and Avoriaz .A party of 14, family friends, 2 teenagers and a 9 year old.
We have skied Morzine a few times now, always good but this time you could only describe as better then excellent if that's possible.
Chalet Carving could not have been better positioned. Sitting right at the foot of the Plenny Bubble, just behind the four man chair lift. None of that dragging skies and kids up and down the road getting stressed this time. End the day coming down either the blue or red runs and just about straight into your back door, doesn't get much better.
Five good bedrooms all with en-suites were really comfortable, the living area was also very spacious, we filled this chalet to capacity but it never felt crowded. Great views up the mountain from the sitting room. The children can also play safely, sledging just outside the back door.
On to the service, the team from Simply Morzine were second to none. Gium our host might be a snow boarder but he certainly gave us skiers a run for our money. He guided us around the vast area of the Portes du Solell on four of our days and was back in the evening making sure every whim was looked after. His partner Maggie was our chef, yes i said our chef, was absolutely fantastic. I would say that some of our party might be a little hard to please on the food front from time to time, but i can honestly say that i never saw anything but empty plates leaving the table. Cooked breakfast, afternoon tea and cakes, four course evening meal and enough good wine to round off any day could not have been better. Now you could not forget Poppy in all this, she kept the whole show running smoothly, keeping the place clean and tidy, making sure your wine glass was never empty, in fact you were not allowed to lift a finger. Thank you!
Too all the Team at Simply Morzine, thank you all, it Simply could not have been better.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcow62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
0.1 mi away
Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Equipe
Hotel L'Equipe
#32 of 50 in Morzine
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Airelles
Hotel Les Airelles
#33 of 50 in Morzine
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Morzine - Chalet Carving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Morzine - Chalet Carving

Address: 275 Taille du grand Mas | Le Pleney, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range: $88 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Morzine’s Chalet Carving is arguably Morzine’s best-located luxury chalet. The chalet is at the foot of Morzine's main Pleney ski slopes and lifts, yet discrete and secluded, with the resort centre just 100 metres away. The ultimate 'ski-in, ski-out' chalet! The chalet is available catered in winter. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing