We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks once again for a great holiday”
Review of Chalet Alice

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Alice
Ranked #31 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed April 5, 2013

After excellent winter holidays with Custom Breaks in the two previous seasons, our group decided to book with them once again.

Definitely the right decision. The 'new Chalet Alice' only shares a name with the old one. The standard of the rooms/shared areas was far better than 'old Chalet Alice'. The sofas are far too easy to fall asleep on.

The location, although not in the center of Morzine is a great improvement over the old chalet. We were able to walk into town for drinks/shopping in about 15 minutes.

Host George and Laura were friendly, helpful and amazing cooks. The lifts to/from the lift every day were very much appreciated.

Once again, thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelOfTheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

The break was much needed by the four of us and as visitors to Morzine for the last 6 years, chalet Alice was a departure for us from our usual central Morzine location. Milly corresponded in the weeks ahead of our visit and organised everything perfectly. The pick up (Milly) was perfect and despite the pouring rain we arrived in good spirits. The hosts George and Laura greeted us with cheery smiles and ski hire had already delivered the boots and skis to exact requirements (actually the best skis and boots we have every had from a hire outfit). Nothing was too much trouble for John from the ski hire shop in fact. We shared with two other families who were great company and the chalets space meant we were not on top of each other. Shared chalets can sometimes be a gamble but this worked out really well. Meals were first class and different each evening in style... Cakes were fabulous each afternoon. Rooms were very spacious and en suites were very good. Hot water plentiful despite 11 people trying to have baths and showers. The sauna took some mastering with the controls but was spacious enough for 4. The hot tub was a good addition but the only small gripe was that it needs a screen from the road to improve its seclusion and privacy. It was one of our parties 21st birthday whilst we were there and George and Laura provided a bottle of bubbly plus a selection of balloons and Happy Birthday banners.... Really appreciated ! Lifts to and from the slopes were never too much trouble despite our bad time keeping. One of our reservations was its distance from the centre ( a stiff 25 minute walk) but this was only a minor inconvenience. A lovely chalet run by a very charming couple and managed by the wonderful Milly. Only regret is we never met Robin!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A group of 10 or so of us go on a skiing holiday every year. We always stay in a catered chalet...this was one of the best. The standard of the rooms is far better than the norm with large comfortable rooms. We had our 9 month year old with us and were made very welcome.

The hosts were excellent, with an informal but professional service, a great standard of food.

The chalet itself is a short 5 minute trip by the chalet mini van to the lifts r the bus service leaves right from the door.

Will go again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_m_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Chalet Alice and although the chalet is indeed lovely, we felt a bit let down by all the small things.

The driver of the transfer from the airport to the chalet - booked by Custom Breaks - didn't seem to know where Chalet Alice was which resulted in 30 minutes going around town until he fund it. This wouldn't have been a problem if it hadn't been for the fact that we took an early morning flight to Geneva so that we could fit in some skiing in the afternoon (we were only getting 2 days and a half of ski time), so 30 minutes wasted around wasn't a great start. I understand the driver must have been new so fair enough.

We pre-booked the skis to be delivered to the chalet but for some reason they weren't, so we had to be taken to the shop instead. We were left there and collected 10 minutes after we had finished fitting all the gear and paying for it. Not a big deal, but if they had waited for us it would have been much quicker.

We spent 3 nights there and only had afternoon cakes 1 of them, the other 2 nights there were cookies that hadn't been freshly baked - at leats on those days (again: not a problem for us, but just adding).

What was the biggest problem for us, however, was the fact that the hosts, George and Laura, didn't seem that keen on wanting to take us to/from the lifts. Initially we thought it was only our impression, but it was later confirmed by the other guests in the chalet who had already spent 4 days there. They told us they had resorted to not count on the transfer and just go by bus.

We weren't settling for that so we requested to be taken to the lifts every day and back. We also had to "negotiate" which lifts to be taken to since George was only keen to take us to the closest lone or to the one that worked best for him that particular day. We felt we had to be grateful that he was actually taking us, when in my understanding that is included in the price/service.

Also one afternoon we couldn't be picked up because we had been given the wrong number to call to be collected.

The chalet is lovely, rooms are perfect and food was really good, but we couldn't shake off the bitter taste that we were more of a nuisance than actual guests.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Spottycloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Chalet Alice and it was wonderful from start to finish. Excellent pick up at Geneva by the owner Millie then greeted at the Chalet by our hosts for the week George and Laura who are amazing hosts who cooked fabulous food and cakes for us all. The Chalet itself is very spacious and comfortable and spotless. Nothing was any trouble for them. They also give you a lift to and from the lifts every day except their well earned day off but the owner came in to cover this. We really can't recommend this chalet high enough and we would certainley go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time at chalet Alice and it never fails to disappoint. Excellent transfer to chalet from airport then greeted by Laura and George who were fantastic hosts all week, nothing was any trouble. Food excellent couldn't fault any meal and lifts to ski lifts were great. We went as an early celebration for my 40th birthday and Milly, Laura and robin held a birthday party for me including champagne, birthday cake etc which was a wonderful surprise!!! All i can say is you will not be disappointed staying at chalet Alice !!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We (3 couples) spent a week sharing Chalet Alice from 10th February and really enjoyed our stay. George and Laura are a lovely couple and great hosts/ambassadors for Milly and Robin. We were looked after from first to last, and appreciated all that was done for us - we are chalet converts. Milly even came and took us to and from the slopes on 'staff-day off' - allowing us to reserve our strength for the serious business of skiing not walking with skis! Robin's guiding was great - we just all forgot we are not 30-somethings any more!

We also think the new chalet is lovely - a real find. So nice to have rooms of generous proportions, and each one properly ensuite. Milly and Robin's attitude of not cramming loads in really helps make this a special place to stay. The food was great, the atmosphere was nicely relaxed and the hot tub wonderful after a full day on the slopes.

All round a fantastic week's holiday, and we don't think we would find a better option in Morzine if we looked for it (which we probably won't!).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
3.7 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#34 of 50 in Morzine
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Alice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Alice

Address: | Morzine, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Alice is a fantastic catered chalet in Morzine. The chalet is bright and spacious with ensuite facilities and fantastic views of the mountains and Morzine valley. The scrumptious cuisine, log fire, open plan layout and comfortable bedrooms with ensuite facilities will ensure you have a fun, relaxing and hassle free holiday from start to finish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing