We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet d'Amo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonne Valette(Morzine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
41
15
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
15
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleave skis and bootslong weekendski tripwork colleaguesbreakfast and evening mealtop floorski shopplenty of hot waterski hireexcellent hostsgreat weekcouldn't do enoughnigelchalettaxisskiingcereal
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 60 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Chalet D'amo is located about a 6 minute drive away from the town of Morzine and the ski lifts to Les Gets / Morzine. The chalet is very old fashioned and is run and managed by Linda and Nigel who are two middle aged English expats. They are very nice people and also very welcoming. The bedrooms are extremely basic with no TV, just beds and a bathroom - which is all you really need. The floor boards are very creaky and sometimes it is very difficult to sleep when people are above (you can hear every foot step). However, that didn't bother me and my girlfriend that much as we are only 20/23 years old and not pensioners. The breakfast is very simple with cereal, fresh bread and croissants on offer every day with tea/coffee and juice. This gets a bit boring after a while, but it does the trick. Linda and Nigel offer a taxi service (free of charge) to the town in the morning and in the afternoon after skiing which is handy. Nigel is very opinionated and will try to get you to go out skiing with him regularly, which we did once. He is a 'practising' ski instructor so he knows the area well, but if you want to go fast and do crazy stuff then he isn't your man! He is however good for beginners and will teach you some very basic stuff.

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Morzine, which offers really limited living space and just a bed room then this is your place. If you want a bit of luxury, space and a place to really relax after a long day skiing then don't book here. I would return if there was nothing better on offer.

PS. Don't be scared of the dog (Archie), he is a big softy and doesn't bite!

Room Tip: Top floor, so you don't get woken up by the people above!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Arranged to take the Trinidad and Tobago Ski Team www.TTITS.biz to this chalet, for a weekend training camp, mid April, Fri 13th to Sun 15th. A single sex team of 16 gents with little or limited experience of snow or the skiing environment.

We arranged, after getting some indicative quotes from local providers, our transfers and Skis and Boot Hire with the Chalet Owners, Linda and Nigel, which worked perfectly.

Nigel guided us throughout our stay, and Linda with assistance from Rach provided the point of contact and prepared the good food that we received each evening, included within the half boad price, in addition to the offer of wine with dinner.

The location of the chalet is at the far edge of the village of morzine, and I estimate to walk to a lift could take 20/25 mins, however during the day and until 1 am at night we were never left without a lift from the responsive team.

They have a massive huge beautiful and utterly gentle dog, which if you didn't want him to be a bother then he would not be, however I think that most people will end up searching him out as he is such a big cutie!

Morzine if you have never been before is a great place for skiing learners and intermediate skiers, which combines wide tree lined slopes with great nightlife.It is not Ischgl or St Anton, but it is a great option if would would prefer to avoid the advanced pistes of those Apres Ski focussed Austrian resorts. Although I would not recommend going to Morzine in mid april if you are looking for a mad atmosphere, unless you are with 16 members of the TTITS!

Overall, the Chalet was incredible value. You should be expecting a 2/3 Star Chalet, I would say it was more 3 Star than 2 Star, but the way that you are looked after is better than a 5 star hotel, absolutely the best hospitality that you could get really.

We had a short discussion with Linda at 2 am on saturday night, after a little misunderstanding, but in the morning apologies were exchanged and we were treated as wonderfully as we had come to expect. Just goes to show that even in a crisis it is a good place to be!

Ok so rooms were clean, beds clean, the chalet was spotless. Some rooms better than others in their decor, but most ensuites were well located and functional.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will_30something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at Chalet D'Amo with a group of friends and had an amazing time. Chalet spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm but not as warm as the reception you get from your hosts Nigel and Linda for whom nothing is too much trouble. Chalet situated just outside Morzine but as they are happy to run you in and out of the town you get to enjoy tranquil surroundings with the benefit of not worrying about getting around. We were already planning our next trip before we had even left. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

usually stay 4/5 star accommadation but this 2/3 star chalet is superb. clean ,warm friendly but service with a difference. nigel /linda dropped us to ski lift each day, collected when we requested and we really had our own private taxi for the 5 days. a bit away from village of morzine this basic chalet was the best value for money vacation we as a family ever had

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Nigel, Linda and Rosheen simply provide 6* service for each and everyone of their clients to make their holiday and stay truly relaxing. Having had over 30 ski holidays including Andorra, Italy, Switzerland, Austria and France this was the best. Examples, being (in a 4 day holiday) Nigel & Linda picking up and dropping off each day to suit each client; accompanying me to a clinic 45 mins away for an op on a broken thumb, picking me back up again, really helping to get a hire car returned to Geneva airport and get me back, accompanying my daughter over the mountain so she could ski with friends, picking her up from another resort and Rosheen's acting as ski buddy with my daughter for the final day, which she loved - they both want to be instructors! This and with a full chalet of other guests who also were being well looked after..Don't hesitate - book Chalet d'Amo!!! Oh and Archie - the resident Lionberg was awesome too..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaD00ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews