We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay, for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet d'Amo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet d'Amo
Ranked #21 of 48 Morzine B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“great place to stay, for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

Great hosts, and fantasic dog, skiing was great and the service was fantastic value

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAS1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

If you don't like dogs, then don't stay here. Well, they're harmless in truth, but one is a St Bernard and is about as big as a horse. Quite disconcerting ;-)
This Chalet is a bit out of the way if you don't have your own car, there is a local bus and I think they may do a shuttle up to the mountain however getting in and out of Morzine or Les Gets at night or outside these times without your own motor would be a bit of a pain in the hoop. A decent 30min walk I'd say to Morzine.
In saying that, if you do have your own car, for the price, you can't go past this chalet - we booked via Easiski and it was very reasonable.
The hosts are congenial and welcoming. Dinner looked good although we decided not to go with half board. Breakfast is plentiful and to a good standard - try the eggs, v'good.
Rooms are a bit on the small side with limited storage, but this is France so not a big suprise.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruski_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

I recently stayed at Chalet d’amo with my boyfriend for five days in February half term. When we arrived at the chalet, the hosts had no record of our booking, however they were very accommodating and we got my requested room. However, in the middle of our stay, the hosts informed us that the chalet had being over booking and we would have to move rooms. Naturally, we presumed that due to this inconvenience, we would be upgraded and the chalet host informed us that the room had double bed; the room we booked had twin beds. However, we soon discovered that the room we were being moved into was in fact one of the chalet hosts bedrooms that had been converted into a guest room due to the over booking. Thus, the room was very basic with a double futon on the floor and a shabby set of draws with an old rug on the floor. Our inconvenience from the owners overbooking the chalet also affected us the following morning when we went down to breakfast and there wasn’t enough chairs around the table, so we had to have our breakfast half an hour later, thus we missed our bus into the centre of Morzine. My boyfriend and I are in out late teens, I believe that our treatment was due to the fact we were a younger couple. I don’t believe that an older couple would have been treated in the same manner, which was proven in the fact that a family who were staying in the chalet the same time as us were moved to a hotel due to the overbooking.

When we returned to England, I emailed the chalet owner to voice my complaint about the overbooking, requesting some compensation. Not only did I fail to receive compensation but I also failed to receive a reply from the owner, behaviour that I find unacceptable.

Due to these reasons I would not recommend this chalet to anyone and would never return to chalet d’amo.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink_rose_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

Chalet d' Amo offers is good value, economy, half-board bolt hole a few miles from Morzine. It is a little cramped, doesn't offer much communal space and the hospitality is well meaning if slightly eccentric. What it doesent offer is a high-end catered chalet experience close to the piste. The high points are the informal friendliness and flexibility of the hosts, the filling (inclusive) breakfasts and high quality (not inclusive) dinners (if requested in advance), proximity to a decent characterful pizzeria, and good auberge and if you like friendly dogs you are in luck. The lows : a lottery whether you have a cramped or a decent room, cheap furnishing in the bedrooms, little communal space other than breakfast/dining area, no drying room or washing machine (although the hosts will try and sort something out), no in-house bar facility and if you dont have a car then a 2/3 mile walk to the free bus to Morzine town and the piste or a 400 yard walk to the less regular pay bus which could be a problem if you carry your own ski-kit or have small kids.
It would also be nice if the wood-burner was occasionally lit ! Nonetheless, if you want to get to the slopes on a budget, dont have small kids and arent on a status-kick then this could work fine. For accurate information on the booking it's advisable to talk to the people running the chalet in Morzine, rather than the English partner (Nigel) who over-sells. In town, Michel Gravier is the place to hire skis - near the Pleny gondola.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aguest_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#25 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#13 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel La Kinkerne
Hotel La Kinkerne
#37 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Viking
Belambra Clubs Le Viking
#38 of 50 in Morzine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet d'Amo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet d'Amo

Property: Chalet d'Amo
Address: 1082 Route de Morzine | La Cote D'Arbroz, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from owners Linda and Nigel at Chalet D'Amo, a large traditional chalet/chambre d'hote set over 3 floors. On the first floor there are three twin ensuite bedrooms and on the top floor a large family/group suite of two adjoining rooms sleeping 4-5 people and separate standard twin room. There is a spacious shower room/wc and separate wc on this floor for these two rooms. The ground floor has a large open plan dining room and cosy TV lounge with comfortable sofa and cheery wood burner. Breakfast is included in our room prices. visit our website for further information and book direct for our best rates and special offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chalet d'Amo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet d`Amo Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing