We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, brilliant hospitality and lovely accommodation”
Review of The Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn
Ranked #16 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location, brilliant hospitality and lovely accommodation”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We decided to get a group skiing trip together for the first time this year, with everyone knowing someone but basically two groups of people who hadn't all met and we were all of varying levels of skier, from experienced boarders to those who had never skied and we also had to ensure that it would be suitable for 3 children (8, 5 and 2), the so ticking every box was always going to be difficult.

However from the first email to Antonia until we returned home we found the whole experience to be effortless and painless! Payment was very easy and it suited everyone to pay for their own holiday - no one had to chase around for money, the ski passes were delivered to the chalet, the transfers were smooth and the chalet was amazing value. Our ski guiding with Rob on the Sunday was brilliant, it gave us an idea of the area and any other advice we needed we only had to ask. Both Rob and Lottie were constantly patient and helpful, nothing was a problem and our 2 year old was catered for brilliantly, the meals were child friendly but healthy.

For the adults John's cooking was amazing and we enjoyed a varied and amazing menu, just glad we were skiing hard everyday....

The rooms were kept clean, very warm and the one we were in had low ceilings which caused the odd bumped head but other than that very comfortable.

The Jacuzzi and the sauna were a welcome sight at the end of a long day and the boot drier was very much appreciated!

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend The Barn for a brilliant holiday, if you want a great location, service and amazing skiing then do not hesitate to go there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoolie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia C, Manager at The Barn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your very lovely review!
It really means a lot and I'm so glad that you had a brilliant week.
We loved having your group to stay and enjoyed meeting you all.
I hope we see you next year! I will pass on your comments to Rob and Lottie and of course the grand chef Jon! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nr Newbury
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have recently returned from weeks trip to L'ecurie, Morzine.

This was our first trip skiing with our 2 children (8 & 5) so choosing the right accomodation was essential for a successful trip for all of us.

We had the family room which included a mezzanine floor for the children; the stairs are steep to the upstairs beds, but our children were absolutely fine with no mishaps. They particularly enjoyed the roof velux providing them with a panoramic view of the Town and slopes.

The location was a short walk for the ski train to the bottom of the slopes at Pleney and Morzine itself is charming.

Rob and Lottie looked after us all very well, and the Children were well catered for. Jon's cooking for the "grown ups" is excellent with a great variety over the course of our week. There are no complaints regarding the honesty bar or the wine selected for dinner.

The mobile ski hire was excellent; having them come to us made it painless. Having the Hot Tub and Sauna was an added bonus and knowing that our equipment would be warm and dry
in the drying cupboard was a relief.

Having WiFi, an inhouse iPad and a selection of DVD's also meant that we had plenty of options for the Children if we needed them.

We would recommend this chalet as a stress free way of taking your family skiing.

Room Tip: We had the family room which catered well for a family of 4, with a double on the bottom and 2 singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babybenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia C, Manager at The Barn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your very kind review.
I'm really pleased that your first family ski holiday was a success, and that we all helped to make it so!
We had great fun looking after you and your lovely friends, and hope you all survived the broom game with not too many aches and pains the next day!!
We hope that as a new Morzine fan we see you back in the not so distant future...
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

From our first email to our last goodbye, we had the most relaxing, stressfree weeks holiday.
Antonias organisational skills were certainly put to the test, and from the moment we arrived she continued to be a source of humour, help and information.

Jon is an excellent chef, and totally obsessed with food and creating inventive dishes.
The food was delicous, quite a gastro ´éy´feeling, the sort of food you would have in an upmarket, well respected gastro pub.


Our room was lovely, we had a comfy bed, nice quality linen, and our bathroom was clean and had quality products (Molton Brown).

The whole chalet was clean, well looked after, and well run, everything we expected, was delivered. It is the best chalet we have been to and when you think of the quality of personal care, food, etc, it is very very good value.

Also a special thank you to Chris and Anna, for your hard work and great service, and to Rob for two fantastic guided days on the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casaBmajorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia C, Manager at The Barn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review!
It was lovely to have you to stay and we really hope you come again next year.
Jon will come up with some more of his fab original recipes for you to try -it's a hard life ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have recently returned from a 4 day stay at the Barn in Morzine. After spending a lot of time looking at the website before our stay our expectations were set very high, however unfortunately we came away slightly disappointed.

The barn has a great location, friendly chalet hosts - Anna and Chris and a good lay out and feel. The bedrooms were ok, but why have Molton Brown shampoo and conditioner (Where was the shower gel?) but then have a duvet and quilt set that felt like it was from Primark?

The main disappointment for us was Antonia and John's lack of presence during our whole stay. The emails we received from Antonia promised "My husband is a professional chef so the food is fantastic", however our meals were cooked by Chris every night, who is competent but he is by no means a professional chef.

We feel Antonia needs to have more of a presence at the Chalet as small things were not being picked up that would have been if she spent more time there. For example one day we came back from a long day on the slopes for afternoon tea and cake to find out that we had to wash up a mug to make our tea. The other guests in the chalet also had to light the fire daily as this was never done. We did not expect this type of service.

In all we had an ok stay, we are looking to come back to Morzine in February half term 2014 with a large group of family however we would not return to The Barn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GraceCottage2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia C, Manager at The Barn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I'm so sorry that your holiday did not meet your expectations.
It's not right that your Molton Brown shower gel was not there. It is normally provided.
I have taken all your comments seriously and have followed it all up with Chris and Anna.

Your main courses were in fact prepared by Jon, our professional chef, and Chris prepares the starters and the puddings for both chalets which ensures that both chalets get the same food. Obviously Chris did not make this clear, to which I apologise to you.

All the very best,
Antonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had an excellent stay at The Barn a couple of weeks ago with a group of 13.

Great cooking with huge portions (including catering for nut allergies and gluten intolerance), fantastic chalet hosts who also provided 2 days guiding on the slopes, drinks included from pre-dinner to post-dinner, hot tub, sauna and a big wood fire to sit around in the evening. Everything we needed was taken care of. What is there not to like.......

The only negative comments from the group were on room sizes and these receded through the week as we found that we spent hardly any time in the bedrooms other than sleeping.

The Barn offers fantastic value for money and I would recommend it to any group. I would return any time!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have low ceilings. Assign rooms based on height of the occupants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadwell_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia C, Manager at The Barn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you all, and I'm so glad you had a great week!

Hopefully see you for the next one!
All the best,
Antonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

With a mixture of friends, both skiers and non-skiers, we were out to cater for all. The Barn did just that offering us the greatest experience imaginable. Not only was the accommodation and facilities second to none but the chalet staff, having started as staff, became great friends and a perfect addition to the whole experience. There is no guest that would endure a visit here and not leave without wanting to book to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia C, Manager at The Barn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
What a fab review! Thank you so much.
We had such a great week looking after your party with all their birthdays and celebrations! It was lovely to meet you all and we are now proud to call ourselves an M&S chalet!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Barn was a fantastic place to stay. Food was out of this world, plenty of booze, friendly and helpful (yet unobtrusive) help from the team. There's even an outdoor hot tub! All ski equipment delivered to the venue. Easy access to the village, and the slopes. Fantastic holiday all round. Highly recommended - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allywol1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia C, Manager at The Barn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! It was great to meet you all, and singstar will never be the same again! I'm really pleased you liked the chalet and all we had to offer to make your holiday the best possible. Take care, and we hope to see you again another time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.4 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#26 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#13 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn

Property: The Barn
Address: 513 Chemin de la Vieille Plagne | La Villaz, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Morzine, The Barn is divided into two semi-detached ski chalets run by a professional chef and his wife. Chalet La Ferme sleeps up to 15 in 5 ensuite bedrooms, and Chalet L’Ecurie up to 16 in 6 ensuite bedrooms. Both have stylish living accommodation with L’Ecurie benefiting from an indoor sauna and Jacuzzi, and La Ferme a hot tub in the garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing