We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tremendous family holiday because of the attention to detail both before and during our stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Mavericks Chalet Le Prele
Ranked #25 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed March 10, 2009

A really tremendous family holiday with great friends. Probably the best ski-ing holiday we've ever had with the children.

We cannot rate both Glenda & Ryan highly enough. They made us feel very welcome, were very informative & knowledgable about the resort, extremely helpful with the children and of course Ryan's cooking........unbelievable!! You certainly have a winning combination there! Glenda runs the chalet very efficently and l did miss her this morning bringing in my morning cup of coffee and having a chat about the day etc!!

The only negative comment l would have is the lack of a proper boot room and warmer. On occasions we were having to put on damp boots and we didn't like it. Plus when you are on the bottom floor you can't help but notice how much crud there was on the floor brought in from the outside and therefore despite having indoor shoes it still got dispursed into our rooms as we were nearest to the main door.

We really really enjoyed it, the attention to detail was very evident both before and during our holiday which enabled us as parents to relax and enjoy time spent with our children and with our friends. We are certainly thinking of coming back next year on the condition that Ryan & Glenda are definatley going to be there......... or cloned versions of!

Olly & Emma you both must be very proud of what you have achieved in such a short time and deservably so, you have got it so right, well done!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squelchy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Mavericks Chalet Le Prele
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 96 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2009

Quite simply Mountain Mavericks and this Chalet are pretty much perfect. The chalet was ideal with great rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and fantastic living quarters.
Gelnda and Ryan were a joy and bceame part of our holiday family.
Olly and Emma from Monmutain Mvericks looked after and orgnaised verything perfectly and if we ever neeede anything were always available to sort.
The service and food was first class. We all came away incredibly happy having booked again for 09

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiswick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

It seems as if other reviewers have said it all already, but staying at Chalet Le Prele really is an amazing holiday experience. Everything you could possibly want is provided, along with some things you had never imagined were possible. It was wonderful to be woken up with a cup of tea, the smell of irresistible breakfast wafting through to the bedroom. The hot tub kept the children entertained and a few adult limbs from seizing up. My children are still hero-worshipping Glenda and Ryan several weeks later, and I have even attempted to copy Ryan's delicious and innovative 'children's' recipes - dishes that did not assume the lowest common denominator, and inspired all the children to try (and like) new things. I should mention that, from the adults' point of view, being cooked for by Ryan was like eating every meal at the River Café - really amazing! Meanwhile, nothing seems to faze Glenda - she was able to sort out anything for us, and was the most lovely and relaxing person to be around. We were gutted to leave. Although I wasn't the organiser of this trip and just a very happy guest, it's clear nothing is too much trouble for the Mountain Mavericks team - even our airport transfer driver was lovely!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FordeFiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Our group of ten has just returned from a fantastic week's stay at Chalet le Prele. The hospitality was everything you could wish for - a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, excellent food and wine, the chalet staff Ryan and Glenda were ever helpful, friendly and attentive but we were free to come and go as we pleased and the chalet really felt like it was 'ours' for the week. The cosy bedrooms and the en-suite shower-rooms are tastefully decorated, with ample space for clothing etc.
The free bus service now in operation around Morzine meant that although we were situated away from the busy centre, within a couple of minutes walk to the bus stop we could be catching the free transport on our way to the Morzine slopes, or in the other direction, heading towards the cable car for Avoriaz.
Some of our group members have been skiing in the French Alps together for many years and say that the Chalet le Prele, together with hosts Olly, Emma, Ryan and Glenda, has provided one of the best holidays we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

I had a feeling that this was going to be a pretty tasty holiday when I was greeted with champagne at the airport. Bonjour Mountain Mavericks!

Upon arrival at Chalet Le Prele, we were greeted by the dynamic duo of Miss Glenda Bottomley and Mr Ryan Fitzpatrick who were a truly fantastic chalet team. What was obvious from the outset was both their enjoyment for the job and working for Mountain Mavericks. Once shown around and settled into the beautiful chalet (more on that later), more champagne was forced upon us accompanied by some crafty canapes whipped up by Ryan. To say that Mountain Mavericks had started well would be an understatement.

For the whole week of our stay, the attention to detail was superb. First, lets talk food and drink. To be greeted each morning with a hot drink in bed was amazing followed up by breakfast fit for a king. Coming back from a great day on the slopes to rest weary legs in the hot tub and eat delicious homemade cake (not in the tub) was lovely. The food rustled up by Ryan in the evening was nothing short of fantastic. He certainly had his work cut out with our group having a number of dietary requirements, however every evening was outperformed by the next. Three courses of luxurious food finished off with a different local cheese each night was incredible. The 10 course extravaganza on Friday night to celebrate my father's 60th birthday was truly superb with Ryan and Glenda working their socks off to make sure everything was perfect. The alcoholic beverages? The house red was absolutely delicious however I fear that we may have drunk the vineyard dry. Ryan's cooking is truly an asset to Mountain Mavericks and he should be very proud of his obvious natural talent.

Chalet le Prele is beautiful and oozes both charm and luxury. All the bedrooms are ensuite (with L'occitane products) and the biggest fluffiest bath towels ever are waiting to wrap you up all cosy warm. Not only this but additional towels (for the hot tub), bathrobes and slippers are provided. The living space is also great. There is the snug on the top floor which provides an area to chillax and watch a movie as well as the modern layout of the open plan kitchen/dining room/seating area by the fire (n.b. Ryan stick to the kitchen-this is not your forte, Glenda-superb work). The layout meant that the group could be doing different things yet still maintain a great social atmosphere as well as being able to interact with Ryan and Glenda.

Special mention should also be made in respect of Olly and Emma. Our holiday was organised in celebration of my father's 60th birthday, and from the moment we enquired about booking with Mountain Mavericks, so much effort was made to make it a holiday to remember. Constant surprises throughout the week that had been organised were so lovely as well as the bunting and balloons that had been put up in the chalet for our arrival. It was obvious that so much thought and hard work had been put into organising our week and it exceeded every expectation of the holiday that I had ever had.

So all in all, I would without doubt recommend Chalet Le Prele for an amazing ski holiday full of charm, luxury and fun times! However I kindly ask that everyone reading this does not book the chalet out completely for 2009-2010 as I am definitely going back. Thanks muchly!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurajoyjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Chalet le Prele is well located 5 mins on the free bus from the slopes in Morzine, and 5 mins on the (also free) bus in the other direction to Avoriaz. We found Morzine to be an excellent ski destination - it was our first skiing holiday, both being complete beginners; we found plenty of slopes on which to hone our skills both in Morzine and nearby Le Gets, whilst the (much) more experienced members of our group had more than enough to keep them busy on the piste too!

Mountain Mavericks as a team were fantastic, and as part of our booking organised many extra touches which really contributed to making the holiday stress free. These included the arrangement of ski boots and skis / poles to be fitted at the chalet, smooth transfer from airport to chalet and back, the best fluffy towels (very important for the hot tub), dressing gowns, slippers and L'Occitane toiletries in every room.

On arrival at Chalet le Prele we were greeted by Glenda and Ryan, a truly excellent team who were friendly and organised from the start, and who really pampered us throughout our stay with morning hot drinks to wake us to delicious breakfasts (accomodating many different and taxing dietary requirements!), amazing afternoon cakes and evening meals truly worthy of a michelin star or three! This amazing gourmet treatment began with welcome champagne and canapes on our first night, and from then on every night surpassed the night before, with three courses and a cheese course, it was truly a highlight of the stay. The culmination of this was the 10 course meal concocted for our penultimate night, which was unbelievable and a true showcase of Ryan's cooking skills (as well as Glenda's organisational ones!), both are a huge asset to the Mountain Maverick team.

Our stay was organised as a trip to celebrate a family member's birthday and throughout the booking process and during our time in Morzine, Mountain Maverick's Emma went beyond the expected to deliver a personalised and unique holiday that will be remembered by all. The many touches are too many to list but include banners, balloons, birthday cakes (plural!), champagne (plural again!!) and of course the extensive 10 course birthday meal!

Other things to mention about the chalet - the house wine (especially the red) included with meals in the booking cost - was fantastic, we certainly got our money's worth! The hot tub is a wonderful extravagance and very well received after a hard day on the slopes, and the chalet itself is cosy, modern and well laid out, lending itself very well to large groups being all open plan. The snug area is fantastic for a non ski day with a hugely extensive list of films and TV shows on the hard drive to peruse, and the wood burning fire is the icing on the cake for a cozy evening in (we bought some marshmallows to toast, which we can well recommend!).

All in all a brilliant stay, we're already saving up for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

What an amazing experience this turned out to be!!! Having booked Chalet Le Prele for my husbands surprise 60th this outweighed ALL my expectations. From the e-mail's and chat with the "Fantastic Emma" who did everything in her power to make this a memory never to forget (thank you Emma xx) to the "Beautiful Chalet" the "amazing surroundings" the "fabulous hot tub" the fantastic "Chalet Host - Glenda-nothing ever to much x" and last but by NO means least the "amazing Chef RYAN - (please never stop cooking xxx)" What a fab time we all had. We WILL be back! We were greeted by champagne and canapés followed by an amazing meal, this with the wake up cuppas, super breakfasts carried on all week. Plus surprise after surprise for the "birthday boy" ending in a fantastic 10 Course meal to make my husbands celebration one of the very best he can ever remember. We didn't want to leave :0( - Lots of Love to you all - Joy xxxxxx

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
1.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#36 of 50 in Morzine
43 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Mavericks Chalet Le Prele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Mavericks Chalet Le Prele

Address: Route d'Avoriaz, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range: $88 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditionally built Savoyard style Chalet with a modern and contemporary twist. Serviced by Mountain Mavericks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing