We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most filthy places I've stayed in a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cran-Gevrier
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here during Geneva Motorshow and had one of the worst hotel experiences in a long time. The place is completely run down. Room was dirty, stains on the floor. Bathroom floor was dirty with stains all over. A prison cell seems luxury compared what this looks like (see photos). Small desk to put a laptop - but no socket for electricity anywere. Fee WiFi sound great, but so terribly slow my old last centry modem would probably have been faster. Breakfast is OK, though. Stay away, if possible!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bidione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 202 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife my daughter my son in law and myself stayed in the Hotel Balladins for one night as part of a 5 day road trip to Europe. First impressions were that we had driven onto an industrial estate as the area we entered consisted of concrete buildings and very few shops, the fact that it was a Sunday didn't help. It was quite late so we parked free in a mall car park diagonally opposite the hotel and were given a disc giving 2 hrs free parking in the morning by the friendly helpful desk guy who spoke excellent English. We were given rooms on the same floor both of which were OK but seemed a bit tired as did the en-suite bathroom. The shower was nice and powerful however and the bathroom clean and tidy. The area was in the middle of a rainstorm and dead but we dined on Pizza and beer at a local pizza place across the road and were well looked after by a couple of friendly staff which sent us to bed replete and happy. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and traditional French fare of croissants, bread, ham, cheeses, cakes, juices, cereal and coffee and at E7.50 good value. I wouldn't stay there again should I be that way in the future but only because I would find somewhere in Annecy proper preferably overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stingytownman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Plus:Near center of Annecy,good value,wi-fi,nice staff,nearby markets and restaurants
Minus:lack of parking in the area,tiny room.

Room Tip: You can find bigger rooms at the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduard1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Hotel is not bad, it has a free wifi which was working correctly. But room was really tiny, we were there for just 1 night so we didn't care for this, but in case we would be staying there longer it might be not comfortable. I enjoyed bed, it was really comfortable, usually when I travel and stay in different hotels, in most of them I don't sleep well, but in this hotel NO PROBLEM :)

We booked the room online for 46€ (double room) and as for Annecy which is quite expensive (hotels) this price was great! You have towels provided, soap and shampoo and wifi.
Our room was not on the street site but on some kind of small park. But attention! I have an impression that during summer it can be loud there as some teenagers like to hang around exactly there. They were there during our stay, at some moment they finally left - I can imaging due to cold night, but it will not be the case in summer.
Hotel is not too far from city center, it's within walking distance. Not far from hotel there is a big supermarkt, many baker's shops and also small charming river with quiet park.

In overall, for this price I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmyh0bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a basic hotel with a basic price. We paid 49 Euros a night for a twin room. In the event we were kindly upgraded to a big room (with a double and single bed) as we asked for a room far away from the lift.

The hotel is largely clean, extremely quiet and from one side has stunning mountain views. The staff were helpful, in particular the night porter.

We weren’t expecting much for the price to be honest, and our expectations were favourably surpassed. Only two gripes – a strong smell of urine in the loo (which was clean, think it was more of a plumbing issue) and the hideous scratchy polyester sheets.

That said, It’s great for a short stay at that price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Member100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My girlfriend and I went to this hotel for four nights. On the Internet it looks really nice but in real life it isn't. We had room 217.

We liked:
- the private parking
- the location, quiet at night and only a few minutes by bicycle to the city centre
- English speaking staff (the older, bit balding guy is top, we didn't like the young lady)
- value for money

We didn't like:
- standing water in the badroom
- the rash we got from the bed and sheets (maybe bedbugs?)
- overall tidiness

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanderstaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I liked this hotel. The room was small, but the layout is thought-out so the room was very comfortable. The staff speaks English, it is nor usual in France))

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mikhail1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cran-Gevrier
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Annecy
Ibis Budget Annecy
#5 of 6 in Cran-Gevrier
449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Annecy Sud - Cran Gevrier
0.5 mi away
Campanile Annecy - Cran Gevrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
384 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fasthotel Annecy
Fasthotel Annecy
#3 of 4 in Seynod
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Hotel Annecy
Best Hotel Annecy
#4 of 6 in Cran-Gevrier
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier

Address: 38 avenue de la Republique, 74960 Cran-Gevrier, Annecy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy > Cran-Gevrier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cran-Gevrier
Price Range: $56 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balladins Annecy is a 5-minute drive to the centre of Annecy and its lake. It offers comfortable and affordable rooms perfect for a short stay or stopover in the area. Guestrooms are modern and equipped with en suite facilities. Wi-Fi internet access is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. At Balladins Annecy you are welcome 24 hours a day. All public and private spaces are non-smoking and parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing