We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to think of something bad to say”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Le Pontet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I’m trying to think, let’s see…what is something negative about the Auberge de Cassagne? After all, a review is more believable if you don’t say everything was perfect.

No alarm clock in the room maybe? But since hotel alarm clocks are as rare as pay phones these days I’m not really sure that qualifies. €25 per person for the breakfast buffet perhaps? Pricey, yes, but more common than not in most hotels lately so I can’t say that’s unusual (the reason why we seldom eat breakfast in our hotels).

Oh well, alarm clocks and breakfast aside, as far as I’m concerned the Auberge de Cassagne is just about as close to perfection as a hotel gets – comfortable, attractively decorated rooms, beautiful surroundings, fantastic food, a spa area and friendly staff. And did I mention the free parking? How rare in Europe is that!

Our room, tucked away in the luxuriant courtyard garden, felt more like a private bungalow than a hotel room. The spa’s hammam, sauna, indoor pool and hot tub are free to guests and after a long drive were very welcome indeed.

For dinner the night of our stay, we took the “Decouverte de Cassagne” menu. Expensive but worth every penny. The cheese selection was outstanding. This was French dining at its very best — incredible food, impeccable service — as with the rest of the hotel, we were not deceived.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frenchchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We liked everything about it, the room was big with plenty of storage space, the pool was area was fantastic (could have been something to do with the good weather at the time), and the food - just out of this world and the staff friendly and helpful. The only downside was 25 Euros for breakfast we thought a bit steep! We don't often return to the same hotels for holidays but will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: This hotel is in the middle of nowhere so definitely need a car if planning on eating out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We visited Avignon in July of 2011 during the theater festival., on a private family holiday put together by Footprint Holidays, Chennai. We stayed at the Auberge de Cassagne and it was an absolutely beautiful and soulful experience for all of us.

The hotel and its surrounding town made this a most surreal holiday for each of us! And it was a perfect base for us to make day trips to Aix - en - Provence and the Isle Sur La Sorgue.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mythili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Frankly how they can be classified as a 4/5 star facility is beyond us.
Staff pompous
Facilities 2/3 star at best extremely tired
Location, well once you navigated the industrial estate and got passed the prison,
THIS PLACE NEEDS A TOTAL REVIEW by whatever guides recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cgpaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassagne84130, Propriétaire at Auberge de Cassagne & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

I had Mr Paterson over the phone and he said to me that maybe he intended to stay 2 nights instead of 1 night. He would know on the morning following his arrival and he said he would come back for a stay in the near future. As it is a very busy period for us we agreed to keep the deposit for a next stay. And maybe He was angry because of that ?. He was pleased with his stay when he checked out. We are listening to all our guests requests and I am personally working six days a week (along with another member of the managing team). I am spending a lot of time at the reception desk in the morning for departures and during the evenings. All our equipments (hotel, spa, restaurant, services) have been graded 5 stars during spring 2011. Mme BOUCHER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Simply couldn't fault a thing. We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend. The staff were wonderful, so helpful and spoke great English. The garden was a pleasure for dining in, the menu and wines excellent (and the staff remembered all the small things immediately, including the type of bread rolls you liked to have and the wine lady remembered our previous orders, when we forgot which of the extensive list we'd liked from the day before). The indoor spa is great and the massages blissful. I travel extensively and have stayed in many fine hotels. This ranks right up there. I would go back any time, and strongly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
Thank ViJa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vous pourrez vous appuyer sur les conseils du sommelier pour accompagner vos plats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izardoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassagne84130, Propriétaire at Auberge de Cassagne & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Pontet
3.6 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
797 reviews
3.8 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
3.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
821 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 68 in Avignon
425 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Cassagne & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Cassagne & Spa

Address: 450 Allee DE Cassagne, 84130 Le Pontet, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon > Le Pontet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Le Pontet
Price Range: $192 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge de Cassagne & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five minutes from Avignon city center and the motorway A7 (exit n°23), a charming provencal home set in magnificent and peaceful garden. Internationally renowned gastronomic restaurant (chef Philippe Boucher, ex. Bocuse, Georges Blanc). Provencal restaurant and terrace overlooking on the garden. Extremely comfortable, recently renovated apartments and rooms with free wifi, coffee and tea maker, I phone station . Spa, Outdoor-swimming-pool, Indoor-swimming-pool, Sauna, Work-out room, Steam bath, Hormeta Treatments and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotwire, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge de Cassagne & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Cassagne Hotel Le Pontet
Auberge De Cassagne And Spa
Auberge De Cassagne Le Pontet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing