We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistrot des Anges

Le Bistrot des Anges
Reserve with
Le Bistrot des Anges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Le Cannet
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not good service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

To know before booking : 3 places in the same 1 ! a bar, a restaurant and the "gastronomique" !A very well situation (10 min driving from Cannes town center), nice place (old farm) and decoration (so modern and contemporary), good atmosphere ! very cosy with large open air terrace, and of course a large dining room Inside ! very good food, mediteranean specialities, international flavours with fresh and local products BUT service is not ok ! problem of Maitre D...nothing else to add...unfortunally ;-(

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Esteban06_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bistrot des Ang... L, Service Communication at Le Bistrot des Anges, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad that you enjoy both our cuisine and atmosphere. We apologize for the service that was apparently not what you expected. We will take your remark into consideration in order to improve our customer relation.

We look forward to welcoming you again in La Bastide Bruno Oger.

Best regards,
La Bastide Bruno Oger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    181
    73
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Puzzling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is a bit if a puzzle - it starts with the menu which, though short, is the most complex I've ever seen. It has a series of set menus but instead of each being listed separately (as in most French restaurants) they have chosen to illustrate the menu with funny hieroglyphics. This takes quite a while to work out. Add to that the fact that the special price menu is only available on some days and that one menu includes an aperitif and a glass of wine and others don't. It's all very confusing. What you discover is that the menu is very limited and of course, the main course dish you do want is not on the fixed menu and costs 38 euros! (More than the price of the fixed menu). The service is efficient but lacks warmth or refinement. The quality of the food is good and there is a lovely sweet trolley. I really wanted it like this place but felt disappointed by our visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicate food in a wonderful venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at the Bistro des Anges in a cosy atmosphere. The food was simple but delicate. My patner expected a bit more but I think it was satisfying. The wines were ok. The highlight was definitely the deserts trolley that the waiter brought : so many mouth watering pastries! The choice was quite hard but we wanted to try new flavours out as we are food adventurers and the meal was pretty classic so far... So congrats to the pastry chef!
The only let down was the sevice... a bit too much for us, we got maybe 5 different people coming to our table with very different level of experience which we started paying way too much attention to.

Helpful?
Thank CJH0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cote d'Azur
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What an embarrassment for Bruno Oger”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

It is a common phenomenon for great restauranteurs such as Bruno Oger to have a bistro side of the restaurant. Indeed, some have forgone there Michelin stars completely in favor of bistro cuisine. I have been to many two and three star establishment and have nothing but praise for the faultless cuisine and service. My point is that Oger knows his stuff.
The bistro side of the restaurant should offer good food, good service and good value, but it is also an advertisement for the main restaurant. You go to this one for the general meal out but for special occasions you go to the finer cuisine of the lead restaurant.
So knowing this, I ask Monsieur Oger why this side restaurant is so badly run, the food is generally up to scratch and the desert trolley excellent but the service is below standard by some considerable distance,
I explain:
We walk in and no one greets us, indeed this time they ignored us.
I had to stand up to order an aperitif, then it took 10 minutes to come
We sat down for 15 minutes without being given a menu.
There was no warmth or welcome from the staff.
I waited 30 minutes to get the desert trolley, and then only by again standing up to get noticed.
Whist this was happen the so called Maitre d' was talking to one table (I guessed a friend) during the wait. There were tables that sat in font of dirty plates for the same half hour.
Then the bill comes and is for another table, I get up again and the Maitre D' snatches it back with no word at all.
I did confront the Maitre D' and eventually forced an apology from him, after him back talking me and my wife somewhat.
M.Oger how could you get it this wrong! From other comments on Trip Advisor I am not alone in thinking this.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BergerBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
451 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Food great, service too slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Great decor, easy parking and great food but slow service.
We were on the way from Avignon to Viareggio so an easy stop for lunch, but were not prepared for it to take nearly 3 hours.
Food was excellent ... Mushroom sauce pasta, meat stuffed vegetables and a great eclair ... Desserts are fabulous (speciality of the house).
Good wine selection, and you can ask for an even more extensive list from the gourmet restaurant if needed.
Waiters seemed to be run off their feet, so must be delays in the kitchen.
It is a great place for a long leisurely lunch when not in a rush, but hard when just looking for good food on the way to somewhere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bistrot des Ang... L, Service Communication at Le Bistrot des Anges, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on our Restaurant. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed the place and your meal. It appears you must have been there on a fully day and we are really sorry it took you so long for you to have lunch, having some road left.
We look forward to welcoming you another time, maybe when you will be more relax to completely enjoy your experience.

Kind Regards,


La Bastide Bruno Oger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot des Anges also viewed

Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bistrot des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing