We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great, service too slow”

Le Bistrot des Anges
Reserve with
Le Bistrot des Anges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Le Cannet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great decor, easy parking and great food but slow service.
We were on the way from Avignon to Viareggio so an easy stop for lunch, but were not prepared for it to take nearly 3 hours.
Food was excellent ... Mushroom sauce pasta, meat stuffed vegetables and a great eclair ... Desserts are fabulous (speciality of the house).
Good wine selection, and you can ask for an even more extensive list from the gourmet restaurant if needed.
Waiters seemed to be run off their feet, so must be delays in the kitchen.
It is a great place for a long leisurely lunch when not in a rush, but hard when just looking for good food on the way to somewhere.

Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bistrot des Ang... L, Service Communication at Le Bistrot des Anges, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on our Restaurant. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed the place and your meal. It appears you must have been there on a fully day and we are really sorry it took you so long for you to have lunch, having some road left.
We look forward to welcoming you another time, maybe when you will be more relax to completely enjoy your experience.

Kind Regards,


La Bastide Bruno Oger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 595 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

I actually went there to dine at the Villa but they only open for lunch on Friday and Saturday so we decided to eat at the Bistro while we were there.
I like the menu price choices as it makes it affordable for all. however the menu needs to be read carefully as some choices are only available during special days and time. We decided to go for the a la carte instead. We ordered the Avocado Millefeuille and the squid with socca both very nice, light and tasty. main course was also enjoyable with the seabream and skewer, simple but tasty and elegant.The dessert trolley offer a wide range of cakes that were excellent. The service was friendly and so overall it was a nice quiet lunch.
I will recommend and will be back on my next visit in France..hopefully with the chance to eat at the Villa.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chrissgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

These people are rude and absolute crooks! Had supper tonight and ordered their 34€ menu supposedly all inclusive (cocktail, food, dessert and a glass of wine).
When we ordered, the waiter never told us that this "special" is only available from Sunday to Thursday. It's only when serving the desserts that they let us know that actually since today was Saturday we would have to pay the regular price.
The initially cocktail part of the menu became 15€ and so on...
Although they offered a glass of wine to help us to swallow their total lack of honesty, we refused and we paid 125€ instead of 70€ for a terrible service and a lower than average food.

Definitely not a place to recommend and where you feel that they will steal you without an hesitation because you're a tourist, a foreigner and you will never come back anyway!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 777georgej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bistrot des Ang... L, Service communication at Le Bistrot des Anges, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear customers,

We are really sorry that your experience with your girlfriend in The Bistrot des Anges was not a good one but it is not a reason to have abusive words.
We propose different menus like The Bistrot menu at 29€ or The Comptoir des Anges menu at 39€ which are available every day of the week for lunch and for dinner.
It is right that the menu at 34€ per person all inclusive is only available for dinner from Sunday to Thursday but it is WRITTEN ON the menu. It was not a surprise. You just had to read the menu before ordering.
However, our prices are exactly the same throughout the year and we have so the same consideration for local customers and tourists.

The Bastide Bruno Oger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I went there with my boyfriend looking to spend a good first night in Cannes but overall it was terrible. Entry and desert were good but the main course was tasteless and the service was really bad. On top of that they told us at the end that what we ordered was more expensive rhe week-end and we ended paying 120 euros when we expected 70 euros. I'm usually a comprehensive person but sadly this is a place I don't reccomend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Héloïse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bistrot des Ang... L, Service communication at Le Bistrot des Anges, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear customer,

We are really sorry that your experience with your boyfriend in The Bistrot des Anges was not a good one but it is not a reason to have abusive words.
We propose different menus like The Bistrot menu at 29€ or The Comptoir des Anges menu at 39€ which are available every day of the week for lunch and for dinner.
It is right that the menu at 34€ per person all inclusive is only available for dinner from Sunday to Thursday but it is WRITTEN ON the menu. It was not a surprise. You just had to read the menu before ordering.
However, our prices are exactly the same throughout the year and we have so the same consideration for local customers and tourists.

The Bastide Bruno Oger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I have eaten a few times at the bistrot as a couple; with friends; and another family (kids etc). A good quality menu but not at Michelin star prizes ala Bruno Oger's other restaurant.
The service is not fast and during our different visits has been adequate and slow at times but this is generally made up for by the food quality and interesting regularly changed menu.
Worth a visit and the kids would recommend the desert trolley.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alwHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot des Anges also viewed

Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mandelieu-la-Napoule, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bistrot des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing