We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to wrap up a vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Marseille Airport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vitrolles
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to wrap up a vacation”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I chose this hotel because it was close to the airport and they had free shuttle service to and from.

A well run hotel, with nice rooms and comfy beds. The pool was a welcomed addition on a hot summer day too!

This hotel has free wifi, but pick up munchies etc before, because there are no stores close by

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Girl90028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForzinettiChristophe, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Girl90028,

I would like to thank you for your comments. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Despite the location of the hotel many different food options are available within the hotel and deliveries available too. Don't hesitate to ask the Front Desk Team for more information when you visit us again.

Kind regards,

LeeM
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    227
    80
    32
    30
See reviews for
97
207
37
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We were on our way to Cavaillon in the Provence but were arriving late at the Marseille-Provence Airport so we needed a place to stay for the night that we could get to quick and then make an easy connection with the train to Cavaillon the next day. This hotel provided the perfect solution. We were off the plane and through Immigration and baggage claim within 20 minutes (no Customs check). We used a courtesy phone by the exit door at Hall 1 and called the hotel. They said the shuttle would "be there in a few minutes." We then exited the building and as we were pausing to put on our jackets we saw the hotel shuttle already approaching! So within less than half an hour of leaving the plane we were in our room. Check in was fast and easy and they made a shuttle reservation for us to the train station for the next morning. The room was entirely adequate to our purposes although it took us a while to figure out that you also needed to use your key card to make the lights work. Instead of carrying a laptop this trip, we brought a tablet thinking it would be more efficient for using wireless for email, etc. The room did have wireless but it also had a LAN ethernet cable, something we had not seen before (we only travel a couple times a year). The wireless signal could have been a little stronger, but it enabled us to do what we wanted, including this review. We weren't staying long enough to use the pool but it looked nice. Breakfast was better than average for this level of hotel...we could have stuffed ourselves. My wife said that any hotel/country that provides the little packages of Nutella can't be all bad!

In sum, if you're just passing through Marseille and convenience is of the essence, then this hotel may be your perfect solution as it was for us. Bon voyage de chambre #239 HI Express, Vitrolle.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForzinettiChristophe, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Steve V,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your comments. Its fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel. I sincerely hope that we will be welcoming you back in the near future.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards,

LeeM
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed one night with husband and 15 year old daughter. We were given a suite which was very spacious. The room was very well equipped and there was free wifi. The pool area looked nice but the Mistral wind was blowing strongly so we didn't venture in. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean. Loses one star as I wasn't very impressed with breakfast. It was a bit like a cattle market but maybe that's just because everyone was in a hurry to get to the airport. Free shuttle bus to the airport. Would recommend this hotel for a one night stop over.

Room Tip: Our room was 111, at the end of a corridor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForzinettiChristophe, General Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Aine M, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel and we are glad to know that you have appreciated our services. It is very motivating for us. We sincerely hope to welcome you back very soon in our hotel for your next stay in Marseille. Best regards, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Really nice clean and smart hotel. Rooms are small but fine for the one night stop over we wanted, shower rooms very smart! Close to airport with excellent free shuttle bus service (There are intercoms in the bus shelters outside airport that you call the hotel shuttle from). Staff are very friendly, helpful and generally spoke good English. There isn't a restaurant as such, but a vending machine that provides a surprisingly nice range of salads. Breakfast is not bad, usual help yourself pastries, bacon eggs etc. Good bar for a chilled beer. Pool looked nice but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool and outside eating area can be seen into if you don't draw the curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForzinettiChristophe, General Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear CheerfulDragon,
We thank you for sharing your experience and we are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.We sincerely hope to welcome you back for your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Booked directly through IHG website. Our first visit to Marseille. We travelled by train (Eurostar and TGV) to Marseille St Charles station and chose this hotel as it is directly opposite the station. It is very modern and clean although I would not recommend it for prolonged stays. It is obviously intended for short stays, with limited storage space in each room. Buffet breakfast (continental style) was included, and there was always sufficient and regularly topped up. TV reception in the rooms is very poor as far as English speaking channels go, and although BBC News was shown as an option, at no time during our 6 day stay was there ever any reception on this channel. Marseille St Charles station is also on the metro line, and just 2 stops from the port area, although we chose to walk into the port area each day. Just a 10/15 minute walk, but it might prove daunting for some as the hotel appears to be in the Algerian/Tunisian quarter of the city, and although we did not feel uncomfortable walking through this area, others might feel uneasy. Reception staff polite and helpful. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: We paid to upgrade and had a terrace. Highly recommended, and to be able to sit outside with a fabul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askalan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForzinettiChristophe, General Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Askalan11,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Saint-Charles. However, you have written on the wrong hotel page. We are the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport in Vitrolles.
We hope to welcome you maybe for your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

For an overnight stay near an airport, at a reasonable price, this is an excellent place: very clean, exceptionally helpful staff, pool, trees, comfortable etc. Everything worked. The only problem would be the lack of restaurants nearby, if one were spending more than an overnight: but why would you do this in an airport hotel?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForzinettiChristophe, General Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Ken B,
We thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport. Your comment is very important for us in order to improve the quality of our service. We will try to find a solution about the lack of restaurant.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back at our hotel for your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards,
Lee M, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel is New, Clean, Modern, Comfortable. and has a free and easy shuttle to the Airport. The Breakfast was much better than in the USA, hot bacon, GREAT coffee and nice breads and croissants. The problem was there was NO INTERNET for the entire time we stayed. Today, internet is an essential part of our travels. The delay in repairing service was unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForzinettiChristophe, General Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear SousLeCapTravellers,
We would like to thank you for sharing comments regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport. Indeed, we have had a problem with Internet that we have fixed recently. We are sorry that we were not be able to get it rectified during your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel for your next stay at Marseille.
Kind regards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrolles
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Marseille Provence - Aeroport
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marseille Aeroport
0.4 mi away
Ibis Marseille Provence Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Marseille Provence Airport
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Marseille Aeroport
11.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Marseille Euromed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Marseille Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Marseille Airport

Property: Golden Tulip Marseille Airport
Address: Entree 8 7 impasse Pythagore, 13127 Vitrolles, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Vitrolles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vitrolles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Marseille Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the airport, the Golden Tulip Marseille Provence Airport hotel features a restaurant, an outdoor pool,a bar/lounge, a fitness center and 2 seminar rooms. Free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include dry cleaning, a 24-hour front desk, and multilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Marseille Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisiana Hotel Vitrolles
Golden Tulip Marseille Airport France/Vitrolles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing