We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will probably try a different airport hotel on our next trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Marseille Airport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vitrolles
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We will probably try a different airport hotel on our next trip.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We used this hotel before an early morning flight the next day to the States. After travelling for 3 weeks in Spain and France, we have seen a lot of hotel rooms. This hotel is pleasantly clean and modern but the rooms are tiny. We had a standard double room for two persons with one double bed. There was very little room on each side of the bed -about 18 inches on one side. A small counter and desk chair backed up to the other side of the bed, leaving very little room to get out of the bed without hitting the desk chair. While the hotel does not have a restaurant, there is a bar area that serves a light meal (choice of lasagna or chicken brochettes and a salad bar) in the evening and breakfast in the morning. We ate dinner at the hotel and would not do so again. While the front desk staff are friendly and agreeable, we will probably try another airport hotel on our next trip due to the size of the rooms and the lack of a real restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Barbara W,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. However, please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of our stay. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen Gray
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    227
    80
    33
    30
See reviews for
98
207
37
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Greenbush, New York, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I needed a room close to the airport for an early flight--and found this on OLOTELS. COM for 79 US dollars. I was given a large clean room on the 2nd floor. It was perfect--with free WiFi and breakfast. Also, the hotel had a free shuttle service to the airport which was 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmitosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrived 40 minutes after food & beverage closed: staff opened them
Extra Towels wanted: staff delivered them within 10 mins.
Directions for next days travel: Map Provided
Any English Breakfast Tea for in room tray: How many would you like Sir?
and all this at 10:40 PM !!!!!!!

Breakfast Buffet: Free and plentiful
Cost: Extremely Fair
Whoever is training and motivating staff here deserves enormous credit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Clean, modern, well kept rooms. Excellent facilities. Quick and efficient shuttle service. We left our rental car at the airport, called their shuttle, got picked up promptly, had a relaxed evening, then got shuttled back in the morning to catch our flight. Cannot comment on the restaurant, but the morning breakfast was perfectly in line with standard European breakfast buffets. This is not the stay of a lifetime, but it really is just what you want from an airport motel. Desk staff especially good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived late along with a crowd of other people including a couple with a baby. The receptionist was on her own and clearly out of her depth. She also appeared to be serving in the bar at the same time. The couple with the baby, although waving a print out confirmation were told they hadn't booked.
After a wait we were given our key and told the breakfast was until "half past ten". The couple and baby were still being ignored.
We would have liked a drink, but there was no chance as she was inundated with people checking in. The vending machine in the lobby was out of water and there were a number of men banging it, but no member of staff to help.
Our room was ok, but the carpet was covered in crumbs. Clearly not hoovered.
We thought we'd have a leisurely start the next day, and so arrived for breakfast at 9.25am. They cleared it all away at 9.30am, so the info that we were given by the receptionist was clearly incorrect.
We did not bother to call the manager as everyone there seemed very overworked and we did not want any further delays.
The courtesy bus was good and the drivers helpful.
I contacted Holiday Inn and they thanked me for my comments! Lets hope the manager of the hotel took note!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear reneeScotland,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. Rest assured that these will be shared to our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Okay if you are only staying one night. Food terrible-limited expensive buffet. Front desk staff pleasant. Multiple languages spoken. Downside besides food is shuttle has only 7 spots and runs every 20 minutes. You must reserve a spot. There is only one shuttle. Room clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockymtnsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear rockymtnsky,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm very pleased you liked your room accommodations. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations in a few areas. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
343 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Perfectly located, comfortable hotel with knowledgable staff, easy trip with shuttle to airport, and the price was right. Bokked through booking.com for 80 euros for a one night stay. Hotel staff recommended a local restaurant about 10 minutes away with our car.

Room Tip: Forst floor is best..no noticble airplane noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrolles
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Marseille Provence - Aeroport
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marseille Aeroport
0.4 mi away
Ibis Marseille Provence Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Marseille Provence Airport
11.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Marseille Euromed
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Marseille Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Marseille Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Marseille Airport

Property: Golden Tulip Marseille Airport
Address: Entree 8 7 impasse Pythagore, 13127 Vitrolles, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Vitrolles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vitrolles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Marseille Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the airport, the Golden Tulip Marseille Provence Airport hotel features a restaurant, an outdoor pool,a bar/lounge, a fitness center and 2 seminar rooms. Free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include dry cleaning, a 24-hour front desk, and multilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Marseille Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisiana Hotel Vitrolles
Golden Tulip Marseille Airport France/Vitrolles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing