We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient with a car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Marseille Airport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vitrolles
alberta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“convenient with a car”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is quite new. The hotel and parking is fenced. Nice security for our rental car. Our room was quiet, large and clean. We appreciated the tea and coffee in the room. This was the only hotel that provided this on our European trip. The included breakfast was excellent. We also ate supper there and the price was reasonable. very nice pool area We liked the location as it was easy to get to and the parking is free. This is the idea location if you are taking day driving trips. Further to driving beware of tolls and lack of parking in the cities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goneAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    227
    83
    36
    32
See reviews for
99
208
37
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level Contributor
658 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Although they are a little bland you know what you are getting - and they rarely disappoint. They would be hotel chain of choice for a quick overnight stop. This one was as good as usual room was pleasant with tea and coffee making facility, A/C although a little noisy it was very quiet outside so we just opened the window! There was a nice looking pool (too cold to try) and breakfast was fine . Staff were friendly and helpful all round no complaints at all

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear JANDDBritinParis,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel staff members and your experience in your room.

Thank you for having pointed out the service’s quality and efficiency. Personalized service is one of our priorities and we always do our best to make sure our guests feel comfortable amongst us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport, and remain,

Kind regards,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downeast Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a decent choice if you have to spend a night near Marseilles airport. Small rooms, mediocre food, but clean and comfortable. PROBLEM IS...the wi-fi doesn't work. You can connect, but if you want to do something more than download a little bit of email to your phone, you can't do it. No web site ever loads. Bandwidth is the problem, I suspect. They probably have one slow connection for the whole place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear rqx,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience the internet connection may have caused you. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great option for those traveling in or out of Marseille-Provence airport. It is very close to the Vitrolles train station, and the hotel shuttle picked me up there when I called them. The hotel also runs a 24-hour shuttle to and from the airport, which is quick and convenient. The hotel itself is very clean, quiet, comfortable, and safe. The staff are English-speaking and very friendly. My flight was too early to take advantage of the hotel breakfast, but it could be an option for some. The young man who drove the shuttle was very friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear travelsmitty,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel staff members and your experience in your room.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport, and remain,

Kind regards,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebbug, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Since we had to leave, early the next morning, the last night of our vacation was spent at one of the airport hotels. The staff at the Holiday Inn Express were really helpful and pleasant. Service was personal. The shuttle bus to and from the airport was perfect, and the airport was only 5 minutes away. The rooms were spacious and clean. Unfortunately, the airconditioning system was still set at heating, therefore the rooms were rather hot. Even the open windows did not help.

We did acquire the rooms with our points and were totally surprised when we were told that breakfast was included in the price. Breakfast even starts at 5am for the early travellers!! Very considerate and great service.

The only thing we disliked was the food in the restaurant. The main dish tasted as if it came from a food line in a mass kitchen. Overcooked carrots, boiled chicken (at least that was what it tasted like) tasteless, very runny thin sauce. Totally not up to par! The croissants at breakfast were stale.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Loraine V,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our airport shuttle service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

Kind regards,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
422 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Agree with what has all ready been stated. New, clean well laid out rooms and friendly staff. The shuttle to and from the airport is excellent and easy to use. Good value especially if you take the advance purchase rate.

The location is excellent for transiting to or from the airport. It is too far out of the city for a long term visit to Marseillie.

The breakfast is excellent and so is the dinner at the hotel. Nothing negative to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Birtleman,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

Kind regards,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night during a road trip, just ok for transit or business trip,
there is a train station nearby to go downtown Marseille (it was raining so we drove).

Good:
- free internet and parking at the location
- very friendly staff
- swimming pool and restaurant on site


Need to improve:
- bread at the breakfast, there was a baguette that people were holding with their bear hands to cut off pieces ... need a napkin ...
- strength of internet signal, our room was on the end of the building and strength of the wireless internet was very weak - you could connect but not check email (informed the staff at check out who apologized and informed me they would have changed our room but we were just tired and wanted to sleep the night before)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Marseille Airport, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Albert Z,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we also took good note of all your comments concerning our breakfast and our wireless connection. We have just fixed new WIFI access for your connection to be more easy.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

Kind regards,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrolles
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Marseille Provence - Aeroport
0.4 mi away
Best Western Marseille Aeroport
0.4 mi away
Ibis Marseille Provence Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Marseille Provence Airport
11.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Marseille Euromed
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Marseille Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Marseille Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Marseille Airport

Property: Golden Tulip Marseille Airport
Address: Entree 8 7 impasse Pythagore, 13127 Vitrolles, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Vitrolles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vitrolles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Marseille Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the airport, the Golden Tulip Marseille Provence Airport hotel features a restaurant, an outdoor pool,a bar/lounge, a fitness center and 2 seminar rooms. Free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include dry cleaning, a 24-hour front desk, and multilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Marseille Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisiana Hotel Vitrolles
Golden Tulip Marseille Airport France/Vitrolles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing