We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
113
160
50
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
113
160
50
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short stay air conditioning small hotel one night france reception beach french
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 346 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Picked this small hotel due to parking availability, typically friendly as the French are on arrival. Room was a superior sea view room, small but adequate for the one night of our Franco, Spanish road trip. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. Very hot water and a great view.

Did not take breakfast as I find French breakfast expensive and uninspiring, just me. Location is excellent and on street parking is free and safe. Would recommend for a short stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank safetyrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, La direction at Hotel The Originals Royan Foncillon, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Dear Nicholas,

We really appreciate your feedback.

It is rewarding to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and found your room to your satisfaction.

We are especially glad that you enjoyed the beautiful view overlooking the Royan bay.

Thank you for noting our prime location by the beach and city center, as well as the convenient parking. Your recommendation is truly valued.

We hope that you will return for another memorable stay.

Best wishes,

La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We have just spent our third holiday at the hotel and were thrilled to see even more improvements. The new air conditioning was much appreciated as the weather was so hot. We thought the new decor in the reception was lovely. We were made very welcome by Emmanuel and all of the staff.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank readercomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, La direction at Hotel The Originals Royan Foncillon, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear Guest.

Thank you for such a great review!

Our team appreciates your kind words and are happy that our renovations have been to your liking. It is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests, we would like to thank you both for choosing to come back and visit us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Foncillon, Royan on many more occasions.

Kindest regards,

La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

The service at this hotel was excellent and the situation good for the town and beach. Parking could be a problem in the height of the summer, but all parking in Royan is free. There was a good choice at breakfast. Would recommend to friends.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the port and beach for a good view.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Inter-Hotel
Thank WendyFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Manager at Hotel The Originals Royan Foncillon, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Wendy,

Thanks for this kind comment related to your time at Foncillon hotel in Royan.

We were delighted to receive your 100% positive review of your stay.

Thank you for your compliment about the excellent level of service you received.

We are glad you enjoyed our prime location and breakfast buffet.
Your recommendation is received with thanks!

We hope to welcome you back for another agreeable stay. Best wishes,
La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

Our second stay at The Foncillon was even better than the first. The bed was really comfortable, the room was clean and well organised (with a fridge and kettle etc.), and the staff were all really friendly and helpful., offering plentiful supplies of bottled water and helpful advice. The hotel is in very easv walking distance of the town centre, but is in a quiet area with large local parking facilities. We will be back!

Room tip: There is a lift to all floors. Most room have sea views.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank readercomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Directeur général at Hotel The Originals Royan Foncillon, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for this sympathetic review related to your stay Foncillon hotel in Royan.
Thanks for your loyalty. It is a pleasure to know our guests trust us not only for our hotel's assets but also for our team's value. We feel grateful. We are happy to learn that your well laid-out room was at your convenience. Thanks for mentioning its comfort, cleanliness and the amenities at your disposal. As you noticed, we are only 50 metres from the beach and a 5 minute walk from the city centre (market, shopping area and Notre Dame church). Your mention on the elevator, area's tranquillity and easy car park is well appreciated.
We would be thrilled to welcome you again. Warmest regards,
La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

Functional and fit-for-purpose for a (very) short stay. Avoid rear bedrooms facing so-called courtyard ( in reality - parking lots) These are small, cramped and with no air-con. OK or 1 or 2 nights maybe but not much more

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Directeur général at Hotel The Originals Royan Foncillon, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your summary, relative to your experience at Foncillon Hotel in Royan.
We enjoy a fabulous location just 50 metres from the beach and 200 metres from the Marina.

Please be aware that our ocean-side rooms overlook the bay of Royan. With regards to the AC - at the moment, some of our rooms are equipped with AC, however, other rooms have a fan.

By October 2017, we will ensure that all our rooms are equipped with AC. We are sorry for any discomfort you may have experienced. Perhaps we may find a room more suited to your requirements on your next visit?
The whole team hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future. Kindest regards,
La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews