We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Royan
Perigueux, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely location”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is impressively located facing directly on to a beautiful sandy bay. Our room was on the 3rd floor (there is a lift) with a sea view and a balcony from where we enjoyed an ever-changing vista of sand, waves, windsurfers, fishing huts on stilts and a lighthouse on the horizon. The room was comfortable and spacious and even had a kettle and hospitality tray - unusual in France.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. An excellent buffet style breakfast with lots of choice. No restaurant but options within walking distance.

Room Tip: Have a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompey252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    123
    59
    27
    7
See reviews for
34
167
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Big old hotel on the sandy beach front. Ideal if you want a swim or paddle. Staff speak good English and happy to help. No parking, although not a problem off season. Let us park our bikes I their function room for security. Whilst no restaurant plenty to choose from nearby.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HTTcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel on the top floor directly overlooking the 400metre cove -affording great relaxation and a blessing in poor weather to watch and hear the breaking waves . An idylic location in the off peak season on the western fringe of Royan, away from the commercial centre. Just a stroll to a choice of restuarants. The staff were very pleasant, the rooms clean and comfortable, and with a realistic rate for the time of the year. Having said this, the side and rear rooms have very mundane views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice Hotel, room facing beach, unfortunately parking was difficult, not many spots outside hotel, cant comment on breakfast as we didnt have it, nice little place, with lovely beach, hotel didnt have restaurant so had to go out for something to eat,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjorie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is certainly in a beautiful spot, close to the beach, but our room was at the side, quite noisy and somewhat tired. The dining room has been modernised and is very nice, with a good choice for breakfast. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is no free hotel car park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrighty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vendee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

dont worry about the negative reviews, my wife and i stayed here yesterday and had a brilliant time, the beach is no more than 30 metre away, very helpful staff, yes its a little dated, but who cares when the location is perfect. there is a brilliant patisserie just next door, fantastic quality food. the price is perfectly reasonable for the location.
my wife and i are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1saltpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#13 of 42 in Royan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Villa Ouest
La Villa Ouest
#2 of 9 in Saint-Palais-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inter-Hotel Foncillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Reve de Sable
Hotel Reve de Sable
#3 of 42 in Royan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cordouan
Hotel Cordouan
#5 of 42 in Royan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Residence de Rohan
Hotel Residence de Rohan
#1 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan

Property: Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan
Address: 195 avenue de Pontaillac, 17200, Royan, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Royan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Royan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel de la Plage, a charming 1930's residence , welcomes you in Royan in an idyllic setting with an exceptional view of the bay of Pontaillac with the Cordouan lighthouse on the horizon. Opposite the ocean, the Grand Hotel de la Plage is the ideal place for both leisure and business. The rooms are very comfortable and all have a desk, a telephone, a flat screen television with Canal+, and a private bathroom with hairdryer. You can take your meal in one of our restaurants partner, within walking distance (more information at the reception) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Royan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing