We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location. location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Royan
Reviewed July 21, 2012

dont worry about the negative reviews, my wife and i stayed here yesterday and had a brilliant time, the beach is no more than 30 metre away, very helpful staff, yes its a little dated, but who cares when the location is perfect. there is a brilliant patisserie just next door, fantastic quality food. the price is perfectly reasonable for the location.
my wife and i are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1saltpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 305 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Grand Hotel de la Plage is right on the beach at Royan and accross the road from the Casino and some very nice restaurants.

The hotel is very nicely appointed and good value for money at about Euro 90.00 per night. The breakfast menu is good, fresh European styled food. The rooms are very comfortable and quite spacious. The staff are also very friendly and ready to help. They also have free wi fi.

Room Tip: Go on-line and pick the room of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob255066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

LOCATION: Located by the Pontaillac beach. Free parking.

HOTEL: Fast check-in. Partly renovated room. OK beds. Uncomfortable pillows. Room facing the beach was very bright. New balcony doors keeping most of the traffic noises at bay. Very dated bathroom but functional. No ventilation in the bathroom and in the toilet. No air-conditioner, only fan. No staff manning the front desk at 08:00 AM. We had to look for staff twice before finding any who could assist us with the check-out. No apology for kept us waiting.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This hotel is awful, its in desperate need of refurbishment, the curtain pole in our room was tied to the pipes going up the wall. The furniture is mismatched, the pipes make a noise in the bathroom and it smells.
Our daughters in the next room had hairs in their bath!! The room next door had been taped up by the police and you were told to not enter.
Luckily we were there one night, got some lovely pastries from the bakery next door to avoid having breakfast.
No parking, its underground, expensive and tiny spaces. Reception not very friendly and overpriced.
Only ideal thing is location, right on seafront.
Someone please buy it and gut it, it could be a beautiful hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazzaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

This is a truly dreadful hotel for the price. Admittedly we travelled in August, so it was peak season, but at €90 per night, I would expect something of a moderate nature, not the extremely tired old place we ended up experiencing. The hotel feels extremely tired and worn as soon as you enter it, and the room was truly dreadful for something that claims to be four star! The room was probably last decorated in the 1960's and it felt as if they had cobbled all of the furniture together from a flea market.

If you wish to park your car, make sure that you are driving a Smart Car, as it has a tiny underground car park (I mean really tiny!) has no automatic lighting, and the lift doesnt work, so you have to carry your cases up and around to the front of the hotel. You also be prepared to pay €20 a day for the benefit, which again seems a ripoff when we are already paying to stay at the hotel.

Our stay was so bad and so unenjoyable, we left the next morning, despite having paid for 2 nights in advance, to continue our holiday further south near Bordeaux. The hotel refused to refund our second night, but I couldn't be bothered to argue, as they really had no idea about customer service. Ironically, for the same price, we ended up staying in the wonderful Hotel Golf Du Medoc, which was a wonderful experience in a modern, customer friendly hotel which made up for all of the shortcomings for the "Grand" Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkfish23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

we stayed with a tour group and had no choice of hotel on this holiday so were concerned to have read a couple of negative reports on trip advisor. However, upon arrival we were lucky to have been allocated a front facing room on the third floor. We were very pleased with the size and decor of the room, considering the Hotel is a 3* ! the small balcony and the views were certainly 5*!!! overall the food,staff,and location made a perfect stay.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank desbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Found ourselves a day in front of schedule due to factors out side our control and had this Hotel reccommended to us by another Hotelier. Bad mistake.

The Hotel is a little like one would expect a large familly Hotel in Blackpool to be; tired a little dirty with large spaces and nothing much going on in them. The bathroon was outdated with cracked and damaged tiles and fixtures.

The breakfast was appalling and heaven knows when the restaurant windows had last been cleaned.

To add insult to injury, the quoted price of 80 euros had mysteriously gone up to 90 euros overnight despite my wife and I having having clearly heard the lower rate.

One to miss

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whittrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royan hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cordouan
Hotel Cordouan
#3 of 43 in Royan
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#14 of 43 in Royan
197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Reve de Sable
Hotel Reve de Sable
#4 of 43 in Royan
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Les Atlantes
Hotel Les Atlantes
#1 of 1 in Medis
272 reviews
1 mi away
Inter-Hotel Foncillon
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Hermitage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan

Address: 195 avenue de Pontaillac, 17200, Royan, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Royan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Royan
Price Range: $76 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel de la Plage, a charming 1930's residence , welcomes you in Royan in an idyllic setting with an exceptional view of the bay of Pontaillac with the Cordouan lighthouse on the horizon. Opposite the ocean, the Grand Hotel de la Plage is the ideal place for both leisure and business. The rooms are very comfortable and all have a desk, a telephone, a flat screen television with Canal+, and a private bathroom with hairdryer. You can take your meal in one of our restaurants partner, within walking distance (more information at the reception) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Royan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing