We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveler rating
166
278
126
39
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
166
278
126
39
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paper cups outdoor pool relaxing break spa euros sea stopover route
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 622 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

The hotel was great for the relaxing break we needed.
The outdoor pool was excellent with beautiful sea views. The room was spotlessly clean with the same views over the bay.
The only complaint is the use of disposable paper cups for the coffee making facilities.
The Spa was not the best equipped I have ever seen but it was adequate and enjoyable.
The staff were all excellent with great language skills.
We booked underground parking. However the hotel carpark was large and adequate.
The only problem really was that the hotel location is quite a way from the restaurants and centre of the town and some of the local taxis are rather unscrupulous charging 14 euros for a three minute journey.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivalin, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cordouan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

Great hotel staff nice and friendly the only thing that let it down a little for a 4☆ is the outside of the building needs a little TLC and the paper cups in rooms otherwise this is a great hotel and I really enjoyed my stay .

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivalin, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cordouan, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

We stayed here for a short break last week. It was a really lovely hotel, yes it wasn't traditionally French, but it didn't matter. We booked through Expedia and were booked into a standard room. When we arrived at reception we were offered an upgrade to a full sea view room for an extra 20euros per night. We decided to go for it and we weren't disappointed at all. We had a private balcony overlooking the spa area and an amazing sea view of the harbour. We were lucky with the weather it was about 24 degrees every day, we even went to the beach one day. We didn't have the breakfast option as at 17 euros each we felt this was too expensive. We also didn't eat in the hotel as we preferred to walk down to the port to eat typically French food with an array of seafood options. The staff at the hotel were always very pleasant and informative. We hired bikes directly from the hotel one day and cycled along the coast to st palais sur mer. It was a lovely ride and we stopped off for a baguette and a beer on the way back. the spa area was great we went every day the only thing is you do need to wear swimming caps and if you don't have one you have to wear a plastic shower cap. Lovely relaxing break in beautiful setting. Will definitely go back again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank Nikkinoo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivalin, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cordouan, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

We stopped at this hotel a few years ago, and liked it so much we decided to use it again on our journey from the Costa Blanca back to the UK. We stayed for 2 nights, so that we could explore the Royan area a lot more. We also booked a sea view room, which was well worth it. The hotel is well situated on the edge of a peninsular which juts out into the Atlantic ocean. We made full use of the inside swimming pool, but did not use the lovely outside pool due to poor weather. We love this hotel, but there are a couple of down points. Firstly, although the rooms are beautiful, all with balconies with great views, the toilet and wash room are a bit small. Also, we found on our stay this time, that the food & drinks were a bit costly, which meant we ate out.

Room tip: Worth paying the extra for the sea view
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thatchedtavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivalin, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cordouan, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Expensive for the area ,and does not live up to cost promoted hype. Any request for pre arrival information is completely ignored which caused chaos on arrival. Certainly would recommend any interested parties taking this hotel on face value as excellent ? would be well recommended to book elsewhere at the many other lively hotels in the area. With decent human PR

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank ukrrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivalin, Manager at Hotel Cordouan, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews