We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price”
Review of Hotel Cordouan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cordouan
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Royan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

First of all the I should appreciate the ambiance of the Hotel especially the sea view ! the service there was excellent ...I would even say it to be the best destination to chill out . The restaurants offer a classic taste of food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethanyc815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 534 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a lovely week my husband and I have just spent at this lovely hotel. From the moment we arrived we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Admittedly, we had booked the room through Booking.com, which gave us an absolute bargain, so I would recommend this way of making a reservation at this particular hotel Looking at the independent pricelist it was a lot more expensive.

Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, and all, or nearly all, speak English. The rooms are spacious, and have a well equipped balcony area, where you can sit at a table, or lounge on a sun lounger. All balconies have a sea view of some description. The bedding was spotless and the towels white and fluffy. The bedroom was thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis, and the toiletries replenished. Tea and coffee equipment meant you could make your own drink, and more was freely available, if you required it.

Breakfast was extremely good, lovely fresh fruit, a wide selection of everything else, including bacon and scrambled eggs if you required it. Fruit juices were freshly squeezed, and the bread fresh baked daily. Decent toast making equipment too.....not often found in hotels.

As we didn't have our own transport we opted to eat in the hotel's dining room each evening, where we had the option of dining outside or inside. The menu could be a little pricey, however, there is a special 'Menu de Jour', which was different each evening, and which was an extremely reasonable price for the food served to us. Attentive, polite and extremely pleasant staff was an extra bonus. One evening they were particularly busy and the service a little slow, but the ambiance of the dining room made this bearable.

We had no problem with noise, except for a baby crying, which isn't the fault of the hotel. Air conditioning was efficient and not overly noisy.
The hotel is a pleasant walk to little coves and bays, and of course, the town of Royan. It is also ideal if you enjoy biking.

However, the highlight for us was the being able to use the Spa facilities each day, and however many times you wanted to. Dressing gowns were provided, and the whole experience was totally relaxing.

Good hotel, thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, and away from the lifts. Overlooked the front of the hotel, but this wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights but since no discount could be given for a longer stay of six nights we looked around and went elswhere. Furthermore the receptiom would not match the Booking .com rate even though the hotel was less than half full.
The hotel managment has failed to realise that some people leave the UK on the spur of the moment and decide their travel arrangements "on the hoof". While the staff are anxious to please and the rooms very comfortable, the tariff is ove priced -as is the breakfast.The location is excellent, quiet with panoramic coastal views -but a good fifteen minutes walk to the town centre. All-in-all an avergare rating

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I stopped in Royan en-route to Bergerac for lunch. We loved it so much we decided to stay 3 nights on our return from 23 July. I initially checked the hotels on Booking.com who I use for 99% of all our hotel reservations. This is an ex Novotel which the rooms clearly reflect. The rate given by Booking.com was €150 for a standard double room, per night, room only. This rate is value for the room, along with a balcony and sea view. I decided to reserve directly and was quoted €225 per night for the same room. I mentioned the rate on booking.com and we were given this rate.

We were travelling with our two toy dogs (bichon Maltese) and were quoted €22 per dog, per night. I said I found this rather expensive and unreasonable and we were given the rate of €22 per night for the two of them which we still find unfair as younger children stay for free and use more of the facilities.

The Secure underground parking is value at €10 per night and highly recommended due to the lack of exterior hotel parking for the size of the hotel. Due to the standard of the parking, which my husband watched on a nightly basis from our balcony with amazement, would very much recommend paying this to protect your car.

Our first night we ate in the hotel's restaurant and ordered two steak frites and a bottle of wine. Would have been good value at €49, however, the steak was very poor quality and too tough to eat.

You are woken up at all hours of the night and early morning with the very heavy room doors slamming behind people. This really needs to be addressed.

For a 4-star hotel, House-keeping needs to improve. We had to re-make our bed on the first night as the protector had lost all its elasticity and was all crumpled under the sheets. Although the cleaning was satisfactory, they need to pay attention to detail. Our balcony door window had smears over it for the duration and the table was not cleaned. Paper cups and wooden sticks is a rather poor touch. Used Tea bags were not removed from the Tea/coffee making facilities (perhaps because we took our own? I don't know)

The pool is very disappointing as it's so small and could almost be considered as a plunge pool if 5 or more people were in it. For a 4 star hotel, I was shocked that towels were not provided at the pool and some residents had to go out and buy them.

The spa does not belong to the hotel. Not only is the entry expensive, you have to buy a swimming cap and plastic shoes and pay for towel rental. The hotel gave a 50% deduction entry voucher; however, I did not use it as would be costly once having purchased the required equipment. Would be helpful for the hotel to mention this on their website to allow guests to take along the correct attire.

Overall the rooms are very comfortable and we particularly enjoyed having the balcony with sea view, although in comparison to hotels we have stayed in, it is not worth more than €150 per night.

We highly recommend Royan for a holiday for couples and families. We will return again if in the area.

Room Tip: The standard doubles on the car park side are more than adequate and we also thought they had the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my sister for two nights in June 2012. The position of the hotel facing the sea is really nice - just a bit far to walk into town in the evenings. The rooms are all the same, facing the sea with one large bed and a sofa bed which converts into two single beds - not ideal for us - we would have preferred a twin-bedded room. But the sea view was great as was the balcony. All the staff were polite and attentive. We ate in the restaurant one of the the evenings; it was nice if a little expensive. Breakfast was unimaginative and tables had not been set. Free parking was available near the hotel. Overall, the hotel was, at 179 euros per night, expensive but nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traceywFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed three nights in a large well equipped room, with bath, air conditioning, fridge, safe and hospitality tray (although this had only paper cups and wooden stirring sticks!!) Big window with a good balcony overlooking the harbour & estuary. Free WiFi in room.
Food in the restaurant was very good both evening meal and breakfast. We would strongly recommend that you book an early sitting in the evening since later on service becomes noticeably slower, the restaurant does get very busy.
Despite the comments of previous reviewers the young staff are all cheerful, efficient and helpful. There is plenty of free car parking in front of th hotel. We would certainly return to the Cordouan.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglishinFrejus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royan hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Reve de Sable
Hotel Reve de Sable
#4 of 43 in Royan
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan
4.4 mi away
Hotel Les Atlantes
Hotel Les Atlantes
#1 of 1 in Medis
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Residence de Rohan
Hotel Residence de Rohan
#1 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#15 of 43 in Royan
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Villa Ouest
La Villa Ouest
#2 of 9 in Saint-Palais-sur-Mer
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordouan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordouan

Address: 6 allee des Rochers | Conche Du Fort Du Chay, 17200, Royan, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Royan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Royan
Price Range: $132 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cordouan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a step from the beach(range) of Chay, to Royan, the Cordouan hotel dominates the ocean. A site of exception with infinity-edge pool and Thalazur thalassotherapy center to offer itself one moment of relaxation.83 rooms(chambers) with balcony among which 3 adapted to the people with reduced mobility labélisé tourism and handicapTraditional restaurant and barLounges(Shows), services(departments) and equipments for the receptions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cordouan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Royan
Royan Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing