We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, brilliant location”
Review of Family Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family Golf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Royan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in July 2012. Got room 22 with small balcony and wonderful views over beach and bay catching the sun all evening.

Hotel small and family run which made it perfect. We all managed to make ourselves understood.

Good base to visit the beaches along west coast of France as well as La Rochelle and Rochefort which are within driving distance for a day trip.

Room was excellent, new bathroom with shower. Bed looks small on first sight but wonderfully comfortable.

Parking on the road around the hotel is free and safe.

Breakfasts a little expensive at 11 Euros each but plenty of nice cafes within a few minutes stroll along the promenade towards town.

Room Tip: Room 22 is brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramseyiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights in July, weather unfortuneatly a disappointment but obviously not the hoteliers fault. Stayed on third floor in family room number 34 on the corner. Outstanding views across the beach and town. Highly recommended. We had breakfast in the room brilliant. Good WiFi service and free, free parking on the street no problems, across the roa is the most wonderful sandy beach. Tide hors out for miles (!). Great swimming lifeguard service also friendly, lovely scenic tents. Easy walking access to town, fantastic market for fish, meat and vegetables almost wished we were camping(!).

Highly recommended resort great food, friendly people and nice Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bagsandscarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed for several nights in late June. It was clean and comfortable. There was someone in Reception who spoke excellent English and was very helpful. The views from the seaward rooms are very attractive. The centre of Royan is an easy walk. Walking to the ferry terminal takes about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

a very pleasant stay in a comfortable sea front hotel , the location is very good and the service/breakasts/room were excellent and we would recommend the hotel. the only proviso was the room was not a/cond. so avoid july august.

s posner

Room Tip: prefer side rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Were looking for a place to stay and came into Royan. Srove by this hotel so went in and got a room. Prices were ok, the friendly receptionist took us up to the room and we took it. The stairs going up are nice and wide in case you have luggage. There's an elevator as well if you don't want to walk up the stairs. The room was a good size and was nice and clean. Beds were very comforatble and had an incredible sleep! The views from the balcony were amazing! Overlooking the beach and sea! Balcony was tiny but still a balcony so I shouldn't complain. The hotel has its own lot in behind the hotel to park your car if you have. We were going to walk into town but it was raining so we drove a little ways in and walked around the town from there. Could walk into town from the hotel though, it's not that far. A nice find, would stay here again I think if I'm in Royan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea and beach for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nordiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hotel is right on the beach. Parking was easy on the street beside the hotel. We walked across the road and down to the sea for a swim. We walked down to the end of the beach and back, a distance of 4 kilometers. There is a restaurant in the hotel where we had a nice breakfast. It was a bit pricy but worth it because of its location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varty_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

It's a very nice hotel, right in front of the beach very near to the town center. Very kind persons at the reception; the family room is very confortable and it is really nice with a wonderful see view.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cordouan
Hotel Cordouan
#3 of 43 in Royan
528 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Les Atlantes
Hotel Les Atlantes
#1 of 1 in Medis
272 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Residence de Rohan
Hotel Residence de Rohan
#1 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#14 of 43 in Royan
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reve de Sable
Hotel Reve de Sable
#4 of 43 in Royan
149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Golf Hotel

Address: 28 boulevard Frederic Garnier, 17200, Royan, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Royan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Royan
Price Range: $100 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Family Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Family Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing