We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful staff in a traditional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aguado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aguado
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Dieppe
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delightful staff in a traditional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a hotel with a superb, welcoming atmosphere. It's not the most modern of hotels; there is no air conditioning, so you have to leave the windows open and the seagulls can be noisy, but we didn't see this as a major problem. The bathroom was a little cramped, but otherwise fine, and there was plenty of hot water. Everything was sparkling clean, and there was ample storage space. Comfortable bed, extra pillows, extra towels provided on request, staff are incredibly helpful and all speak English to a greater or lesser extent. We are already planning to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    92
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
15
128
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Firstly, there is very little wrong with the hotel. The location is perfect - central and seaview. The staff are absolutely first class, and it's clean. The breakfast buffet was OK, but rather over-priced at €10. But there were a couple of little things, namely there was no toilet brush in the bathroom, and the door to the bathroom was made of glass!! Precious little privacy when sharing a twin room with a platonic friend of the opposite sex. However, I would say "go ahead" to anyone thinking of booking.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wittsy_64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I had a five night stay at the Aguado Hotel and found it to be top class for a three star. The room was most comfortable and kept in a very clean and tidy condition for us by the cleaning staff, and the reception staff ,and also ,the hotel proprietor were found to be very helpful and friendly at all times. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them if you had a query, or required guidence or any information. They changed a good holiday into a great one for us, and being the third time that we have stayed there, we think it speaks for itself.
Ulli and Dennis Burton.
Eastbourne, UK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dennis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good clean hotel, very central location for seafront or town centre. Very close to ferry terminal.
Breakfast an Euro 10 add-on, but good choice nearby of cafes.

Only negative is plumbing sounds- quite noisy at times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Aguado and can recommend the Hotel to others. We were very pleased that the entire staff spoke English. All of them were friendly and ready to help anytime. We were able to leave our bikes in a locked room across the street. The hotel rooms are small, clean and have windows with extremely good noise insulation. The windows can be opened completely. We had booked a room with seaview which allowed us to watch spectacular sunsets every day from our room. Beds are spacious and equipped with very comfortable matraces. Breakfast, although self service only, was fine: Croissants, French Bread, Cereals, very good coffee, ham, cheese, boiled eggs (cold) and fruit (not cut) - no surprises there, but definitely good & more than enough and served late (until 11am).
While the Hotel mentions sufficient free parking in front of the Hotel, arriving on a weekend when there was a motor show in honour of the Renault Alpine, the parking situation was difficult - but on other days, there were sufficient parking spaces available near the hotel entrance.
There is a ton of restaurants around the corner in the harbour area and around, also the main shopping and pedestrian area are just a stone throw away.

Room Tip: seaview is facing west = sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oehli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Aguado seems rather an old-fashioned type of European mid-20th century hotel, especially surrounded as it is by the more historic charms of the rest of Dieppe. The other key disadvantage on approaching by car is the lack of its own parking (the key to this is to park on the seafront side, where it's all free and the parking meters don't swallow your coins without giving a ticket).

Once in the door, however, the processing at reception is efficient and all the staff through a two day stay were very helpful with directions, suggestions, etc. The rooms were very clean indeed, and our bathroom was pleasantly larger than usual for this type of ensuite double. While the public areas are rather dated, the bedrooms themselves had been updated recently enough to be very comfortable.

Breakfast was ample and fine for the usual continental type of buffet. The highlight was the local apple caramel, which went very well on a croissant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistertimbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A friendly, pleasant and well situated hotel in Dieppe offering bed, breakfast close to restaurants, harbour and sea front.

I was part of a larger group. Booking in was quick and efficient. The lift was rather small and slow but adequate.

My room was clean, well serviced, well lit, and reasonable size with a comfortable double bed with two bedside tables and bedside lights. The TV had good reception of a limited number of English Channels (BBC 1, 2, ITV 4 and some film channels). There was a reasonable size wardrobe and a number of drawers and the room had a plentiful number of electric points. There was a desk, chair, small armless soft chair, coffee table and suitcase platform. The en suite bathroom had a modern feel, but was somewhat cramped, especially the shower which was also 12 inches elevated over the floor and care will be needed by less mobile individuals when exiting it. There was a well lit bathroom mirror and hair dryer.

There was a mini bar, but no tea/coffee etc. I had room looking away from sea towards the port - the room was rather warm but opening a window let in noise from vehicles passing by under window - not a problem for me but some in the group found this irritating. The free internet in public areas was reasonably fast, but in rooms (served by repeaters) it was insufferably slow and unreliable to the extent it was almost unusable.

The hotel staff were universally friendly, but I do have some concern about their ability to cope if the hotel is busier as there was only one on duty at a time to cover reception and bar. The bar also had limited stock (eg one beer only and they ran out of calvados which they had not restocked by the next evening), but was reasonably roomy. Breakfast was good quality by continental standards. The hotel did not serve dinner but there are a large number of very good restaurants within 300 metres so this was not a disadvantage. There is no dedicated parking but at the time we went (May) there was plenty of fee parking close by on the sea front.

The hotel is in an excellent location facing sea front on one side and part of the harbour on the back.

For the purpose we wanted the hotel - as a base for local activities - it was ideal as it would also be for those wishing a short stop-over. It is not a hotel in which one could laze away a rainy day and I am not sure how it would cope when fairly full.

Room Tip: Rooms at front overlook the sea front. According to others in the group some rooms do have larger s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dieppe hotels
0.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
0.4 mi away
Mercure Dieppe la Presidence
1.5 mi away
Brit Hotel
Brit Hotel
#2 of 16 in Dieppe
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#9 of 16 in Dieppe
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#8 of 16 in Dieppe
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aguado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aguado

Property: Hotel Aguado
Address: 30 Boulevard de Verdun, 76200, Dieppe, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Dieppe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Dieppe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aguado 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined, independent… A MustHotel Aguado is an emblem of Dieppe. It was built by the architect, Georges Feray, in 1955. He was the recipient of the Grand Prix de Rome for architecture.The same family has been receiving guests in this establishment for three generations and has understood how to maintain its authenticity, off the beaten track of chain hotels. Hotel Aguado is in an exceptional geographic location, with its arch separating the city from the sea, facing the beach, and just seconds from the port and the pedestrian city centre. All this offers you great comfort in a charming setting during your touristic or business trips. The bar has an intimate atmosphere and is reserved for the hotels clients. Wi-Fi is free. There is free parking just in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aguado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguado Hotel Dieppe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing