We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good lunch”
Review of Le Turbot

Le Turbot
Ranked #2 of 160 Restaurants in Dieppe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional food, fresh fish specialties Dieppe, menu € 15.90 for lunch and dinner and seasonal fish menu depending on availability. Evening service until 22h
Manerbe, Normandy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good lunch”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I always feel lucky if I get a table at lunch time here without booking since it is so popular. I managed to eat there last week on my way home.
It's on the opposite side of the quay to the run of restaurants in Dieppe but is close to the ferry terminal.It offers a good and reasonably priced lunch. A sea food dominated self service buffet for entree was fresh and attractive with some of the best herring and potato salad I have eaten. My main course fish raie in a cream and caper sauce was excellent- the fish perfectly cooked. The chocolate fondant was a bit heavy but not bad.
This is not a restaurant for a quiet lunch for two - bit it;s lively, friendly and enjoyable. I haven't eaten here in the evening but I the carte menu looks good

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    107
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Last Saturday 3 of us were passing by and liked the look of the menu and asked if had room for us.We ended up at being last ones to be seated at 1900.
On blackboard was on one wall the fixed price at Euros 14.95 which consisted of a substantial cold buffet of pate/fish/coucous etc-excellent spread.
Main course was choice of 4 and chose cod-it melted in ones mouth and plate had loads of vegetables filling the rest of the plate.All had difficulty in doing total justice as very substantial with superb sauce.
Of course we just had to make room for some dessert!!-wow-the chocolate pudding was truly yummy.Again choice of 4.
Wines were excellent and had huge range of prices.
Opposite wall had a la carte available if so desired.
Have been to Dieppe many times and never ventured to other side of the harbour-where dozens of "touristy type restaurants" were all next to each other.
One not to be ignored.Charming ladies run it very well and spoke English-which very useful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mprice867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood in Dieppe”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Reservation is a must at this local Seafood Restaurant. Situated between the two bridges it is easy to find. Short walk from the centre of town. So good we reserved for the second time in a week.
From the lovely white Turbot fish to the huge scallops all were cooked to perfection. Prices good, a cheaper 3course menu available. Pleasant wait staff with some English spoken.
Full bar
Recommend this restaurant absolutely.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Collene15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

WE went to the Turbot in March 2014
We decided to go for the set menu 15 Euros. The food was excellent, starting with a buffet and for the main course the best Fish pie I have ever had. We drank Sauvingnon Blanc which is the house wine
Everything including the service was delightful, excellent value for money. The a la carte looks a bit pricey but the dishes looked fantastic and all local fish from the boats just 100mtrs away

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank totochichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great authentic experience”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The French guy at the table next to us said, "You must have had a good guide, normally the tourists end up on the other side of the quai where the food is no good. But you'll eat well here."

He was right. If you're looking to avoid tourist traps and want some delicious fish and seafood with the locals, this is probably the place to go.

The 15euro menu was a seafood buffet, plat, and dessert. A bargain for sure and everyone around us was taking it. Not being the biggest seafood fans (entire fish to de-bone yourself, wrestling seashells of all shapes and sizes), we opted to order a la carte.

Our filet of turbot and filet of bar were both absolutely excellent: very generous portions, perfectly prepared, and beautifully presented. If you order a la carte, expect to pay considerably more, but you will eat more and it's worth the price.

We ordered desserts as well and were again surprised by the very generous portions.

Make reservations, the place is crowded, a bit noisy, not necessarily fine-dining ambiance, but the food says otherwise.

We weren't disappointed in the least.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nshorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Turbot also viewed

Dieppe, Seine-Maritime
Dieppe, Seine-Maritime
 
Dieppe, Seine-Maritime
 
Offranville, Dieppe
 

Been to Le Turbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing