We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Dieppe la Presidence
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Dieppe
Steyning, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very decent stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel was in excellent location and the sea view really is a must. Very clean and comfortable room. Room service finished by 10pm which I found early, but staff were friendly and late check-out until 2 was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    389
    135
    43
    17
See reviews for
116
462
36
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The outside of the hotel is nothing special - a square block at the southern end of the promenade. However, the inside is quite funky and this continues into the bedrooms. We stayed in a superior room on the fourth level with wonderful sea views. The room design was a little unusual with a separate WC just inside the entrance and with the wash basin and shower behind the bed. There was plenty of seating in the bedroom and adequate space for luggage. The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. We found the coffee machine difficult to master but it produced great coffee eventually. A second lift would have been helpful. We did not have dinner in the hotel. Breakfast was served in the dining room. It was a very adequate continental buffet. There was the option of a 'full English' but that seemed to have been kept warm for too long and so we avoided it. The good news is that breakfast is free for the over-60's. We found the staff very welcoming and friendly. The car was secure in the underground car park. The hotel is within a short walk of the town centre with which we were pleasantly impressed.

Room Tip: Superior room on top floor with a sea view - a little more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed one night at this property. The room was very well appointed, reasonably sized and clean. We were able to check in early and out late. Bed was very comfortable. There was an electronic in-room safe. Ammenities were standard Mercure and just adequate. View of the plage from our room was beautiful, despite to rain. They have a garage with parking for 5 € per day, which is unusual in Dieppe. Included breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean-ATL-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our room was comfortable and well equipped but with only one chair; another would have been useful. There was even a kettle, sachets of tea, coffee and milk, and a bottle of water refreshed each day. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was reasonable if a little expensive. The hotel staff were very kind and helpful and spoke good English when our French ran out! The dinner menu is in both French and English and the food was excellent. However we felt that the serving staff at both breakfast and dinner needed to take more care of their British guests. We left our car in the secure car park beneath the hotel for 5€ per night. This was our third visit to this hotel, and the second since its internal modernisation. We expect to return because it is both comfortable and welcoming and hope that the exterior will by then be as welcoming as the interior.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Great place and excellent location. The hotel is located within walking distance to the city center. Very friendly staff on the reception. Clean rooms, make sure you request sea view :) Don't miss the sunset, they are amazing there :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Having had an overnight stop in Dieppe last year, I'd promised myself to spend a few days here at some point. So when the wife and I had a long weekend spare, we popped over for three nights. I booked the hotel partly because I'm quite a fan of the Mercure brand (I like the individuality of those I've encountered), but also because of the location. It sits in a lovely spot, at the far end of the esplanade on the front underneath the chateau...but only a stone's throw from the centre of the town and a short walk from the harbour.

The staff were excellent and extremely welcoming, and the check in was efficient and pleasant. The room (sea-facing, second floor) was comfortable, spotlessly clean, well appointed and pleasantly idiosyncratic with a most unusual layout. The bed in particular was excellent. Complimentary wi-fi was a pleasant touch, which surprisingly isn't standard in the chain. The hotel also has a secure underground car park, offered at a very reasonable €5 per day. This is useful at the best of times, as parking spaces nearby are at a premium, but especially appreciated by us as we were in a classic convertible, and we were safely able to leave the hood down overnight.

I can't comment on breakfast, as we never take breakfast in any Mercure. In my experience it is overpriced and under-delivers; previous reviews suggest that this is indeed the case here. There are facilities in the room for hot drinks, but take my tip and go prepared with your own supplies...the supply in the room is inadequate both in terms of amount and quality. Extraordinarily, there is no demerara sugar to be had anywhere in the hotel! Equally, I can't comment on the restaurant. I don't have a 'blanket ban' on Mercure restaurants, as some (for example the Monte Igueldo) are truly excellent stand-alone establishments...however both the menu and the small restaurant here were entirely uninspiring for us, so we steered clear.

So, would I recommend the place? Well, actually, yes I would - so wholeheartedly that it's almost difficult to justify. For me, it's a 'typical Mercure' - imperfect? Sure. Flawed in places? By all means. But the pros do outweigh the cons. Superb location, a bit of history to the building itself, and that quirky individuality. In the case of this particular you hotel you also have to factor in the competition, in that in Dieppe there really isn't any. OK, in strict theoretical 'bangs for your buck' terms it's probably a wee bit overpriced - but as the previous reviewer commented, it's definitely your best bet in Dieppe.

Room Tip: Remember that paying for a sea view also brings you better facilities in the room, so is well worthw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Boaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,564 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 955 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

While the la Presidnce hotel looks a little ragged on the outside (as do most of the hotels in the city!) it is clean, updated and the rooms tastefully appointed. The rooms are of decent size and you can easily split the beds if required. The breakfast is OK but not worth the €16 price but there aren't really any other options nearby. The hotel,does have underground parking which is a must if you're visiting on a summer weekend (the streets and parking lots fill up quickly). The hotel is at the west end of the waterfront which means access to some parts of the city are a long walk away. However, it is located adjacent to Canada Square and the Chateau along with the Dieppe Raid Muesum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dieppe hotels
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aguado
Hotel Aguado
#4 of 15 in Dieppe
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
#2 of 15 in Dieppe
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#10 of 15 in Dieppe
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#9 of 15 in Dieppe
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dieppe la Presidence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dieppe la Presidence

Property: Mercure Dieppe la Presidence
Address: 1 boulevard de Verdun, 76200, Dieppe, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Dieppe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Dieppe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dieppe la Presidence 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 3-story Hotel facing the sea, 25 yards from casino & 250 yards from business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Dieppe la Presidence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing