We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant du Port

Restaurant du Port
Ranked #12 of 159 Restaurants in Dieppe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This page has the phone number: http://dineview.com/search/show_menu.fwx?cat=R&zip=&ord=&id=050136&zone=82001-010&ti=le%20restaurant%20du%20port,dieppe&tab=review
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not so Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Recommended by our hotel - so we booked for the evening meal. There were 4 adults and we had a set price menu of such a poor standard that I told our hotel that they should remove it from their list.
The mussels were cooked in an insipid raw onion and hot water 'sauce' - the mussels were edible but not the sauce - it ruined the dish.
Main course was chicken with pasta in such a strong citrus sauce that it killed the other ingredients ( chicken I was told ! ) There were no other vegetables.
I had 3 miserable pieces of cheese for dessert - my companions had something else which was equally unmemorable. My 2 point rating is generous - I visit Dieppe regularly and this was the worst meal I have experienced. Never again!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barrieman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    98
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dieppe, France
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

There are some less good restaurants in Dieppe which the unwary can be enticed into. The Restaurant du Port is certainly not one of them. Recommended by French friends who take their food seriously, it is situated along the attractive Quai Henri IV, a short walk from the large car park facing the ferry. On a beautiful September day we both had the 17 euro lunch-time menu which was excellent value and very good: tender mussels, tasty rabbit terrine, nicely-cooked red mullet and an exceptional clafoutis. Fresh ingredients, well-presented and with excellent service from the good-humoured lady in charge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank boblecostaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
703 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Uneven”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Overlooking Dieppe's harbour.
Local food centered on seafood.
We went a la carte which is not cheap.
Oysters were excelent
On the other hand the turbot was overcooked,the sole was Ok.
The cheese platter included excellent cheeses but the portions allocated were minuscule
The clafoutis dessert was dry and strangely lacking fruit.
The old lady running the place is friendly and sharp,but we felt let down somewhat by the quality of the food relative to its price

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Diner at your aunt's place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

The restaurant gave me the impression that I was eating in the dining room of a family member, friendly and cosy. We had fish (is there anything else in a place at the harbour?). The sea food entree was really good, the main course a bit too creamy for my taste, but that is the typical French style I guess. Value for money, but not something you will make a de-tour for.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterAlmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very special service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

The food was excellent allthough not very cheap, but the service of the owner was very special. Almost like Hotel California of the Eagles: you can pay but you can't leave. Special tip: try the 14 year old Calvados, it's like heaven!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Arnault16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Port also viewed

Dieppe, Seine-Maritime
Dieppe, Seine-Maritime
 
Dieppe, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Restaurant du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing