We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone should learn about this”

Le Memorial du 19 Aout 1942
Ranked #6 of 29 things to do in Dieppe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Everyone should learn about this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

What an experience! This is part of British history that needs to be told as what happened then was appalling. As you enter the museum you find yourself inside an old, but once glorious, theatre. There are boards around the auditorium which tell the story in English and in French and also display cabinets. However the video presentation with film archive and survivors telling the story made me ashamed to be British.

This is a must.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    44
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,564 reviews
684 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 955 helpful votes
“A must see to help put the Dieppe Raid in perspective”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

OK, I'll admit my bias right up front - my grandfather was killed during the Dieppe Raid on August 19, 1942. I was in Dieppe for the 70th anniversary of the raid and my visit to the museum really helped round out my experience. The video presentation was excellent and included numerous interviews with soldiers who participated the raid and Dieppe residents including Sister Agnes. The exhibits, while somewhat limited, were generally well done. The photos taken before the raid helped give you a better understanding of what the town and German defenses looked like. I also appreciated the regimental uniforms which are on display. The hours are limited - afternoons only.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Really lovely little museum in what was once a beautiful theatre which is sadly going to ruin. Informative information in both french and english. Good video presentation and well worth a visit to pay your respects. At 2.70 euros each very good value. Be careful though we almost missed being able to go as just stayed over on a monday night. Only open in the evening from 2 to 6 and not open on a tuesday.

Helpful?
5 Thank little_bear_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very well maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

A must to see, even if it is only to pay our respects to the ones that gave their life to have a free world

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ontariobeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very good CD presentation. The derelict theatre is a wonderful building that needs restoring.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank hillfieldjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Memorial du 19 Aout 1942 also viewed

Dieppe, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Le Memorial du 19 Aout 1942? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing