We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very well maintained” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Memorial du 19 Aout 1942

Le Memorial du 19 Aout 1942
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Dieppe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very well maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

A must to see, even if it is only to pay our respects to the ones that gave their life to have a free world

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ontariobeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    44
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very good CD presentation. The derelict theatre is a wonderful building that needs restoring.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank hillfieldjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Emotional memorial”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Located in an old theatre, which was built in approx. 1814 - this small memorial is really a must when in Dieppe. A shame that there is no cash to restore this beautiful historical theatre....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Didnt know what to expect, knew of the Dieppe raid as I am a history buff so seeing this was a welcome surprise. I also suggest you make the trip just outside the town to the Canadian Dieppe Cemetary, its very moving.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Neat little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Visited this small museum in May 2010 (would not let me select that on the drop-down box, but seeing as this attraction has not been reviewed yet...). Located close to the beach, it's a small museum about the Dieppe Raid in 1942. The staff was among the most friendly I met in any facility in France and talked to me at length in French about my journey. They were very apologetic that they had just run out of English-language pamphlets. The museum's exhibits are in one fairly small room, featuring uniforms and other artifacts along with a bilingual (French/English) documentary about the raid playing on a big screen. By itself not a reason to visit Dieppe but worth a brief stop if already here.

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
5 Thank Doubutsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Memorial du 19 Aout 1942 also viewed

Dieppe, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Le Memorial du 19 Aout 1942? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing