We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Western?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kyriad Tours - Joue-les-Tours
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Joue-les-Tours
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel. We stayed on points on the outward journey and breakfast was included. We had a superior room overlooking the garden which was quite good on points. The dinner menu was very limited and one of those main courses wasn't available. (How difficult is it to buy chicken?). Having sat outside for dinner, on wooden slatted seats for over two hours, we were quite relieved when it came to an end!
There is an annexe in the garden and on our outward journey this was filled with oriental travellers on a bus tour. No problem with this - no noise and they had gone quite early.
Breakfast was disappointing. There was some matter in a heated container which, from a distance, vaguely resembled scrambled egg but tasted more like tapioca. When I asked for some bread for the toaster it was suggested that I should cut a crusty roll in half and toast that!
Our return journey was rather different. As we pulled up in the car park some rather large loudspeakers were being unloaded and taken in to the annexe. The tables were all set for a wedding reception. At 11.00pm the very loud music started but then abated. We closed the shutters and windows and wore our earplugs; we drifted off to sleep. At 1.30am we were woken up by very, very loud music along with a thump, thump from the bass. It was intolerable. I telephoned reception to complain and, after a difficult conversation (mainly due to the language barrier) the noise subsided. We then had great difficulty in getting back to sleep and had no more than a couple of hours. When we checked out (we had not taken breakfast, based on past experience) we complained about the noise and asked why we were not offered a quieter room on check-in and the young woman on reception agreed that we should have been. She offered us a free breakfast by way of compensation but we declined; we had eaten in our room.
I completed a Best Western feedback form and received a standard reply which, no doubt, would have been identical if I had complained about the quality of the water, the colour of the wallpaper or the cleanliness of the carpet! I responded by email and suggested that they might be a little more focussed if I did a review on Trip Advisor and they responded by saying that I was trying to blackmail them and that, in effect, weddings were a nice earner.
I responded once more and posed the questions a) could we not have been told in advance about the wedding or b) been offered a quieter room? I have received no further response from the hotel.
They have achieved something - our stay was memorable and we have decided not to use the Best Western chain in France any more. We clearly cannot trust them to provide quality, comfortable stays in their hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front should be quieter but very warm in summer - no A/C
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Kyriad Tours - Joue-les-Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 399 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night as a break from our journey from the Dordogne to Calais. We used our points so it was free. It is quite expensive otherwise. We had a superior room at the back overlooking the 'park' (which is actually their garden area) and it was lovely. Be warned - there is no air conditioning and the rooms at the front face the sun most of the day. Our room was cool and quiet - we kept the windows open (4th floor) all night. There is a nice little covered shopping centre about 5 minutes walk away but it's shut on Sundays. At the moment the roads around the hotel are a mess as they are putting in a tram system. The hotel is very clean and quiet. All the staff we met werre extremely courteous and helpful. We ate in the restaurant as there is nothing else nearby. The food was okay but not very exciting and again, a little on the dear side. It seems an odd place to have a hotel as it's quite a way from anything really but I know it is used a lot by coach parties.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel as the sun is at the front as there was no air con (fans availab...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel. Yes, it is a place where people on bus tours who are staying there, but we didn't have a problem with it. The menu is limited, but good. We really had good service, too. The staff was very helpful, especially Arthur Lefeuvre. That young man did everything - reception, bar, taking food orders, etc. Yet he still remained very patient and pleasant. No air conditioning, but the weather was cool enough that we didn't need it. Our only complaint is about the internet connection. It didn't work at all in the room; you had to go to the lobby to get a connection.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank La_Rochelle_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We arrived ...and left for a nearby hotel. It was that bad! The rooms are no better than in a seedy YMCA! It does not deserve a three star hotel rating, not even a two star rating. Don't let the nice lobby and restaurant area fool you--the bathrooms smell like mildew and the bedroom furniture is from the 70s. The beds are terrible and there is no AC. Instead, go to the nearby Keops or B & B Hotels (both are 2-star hotels0 or Mercure Tours Sud (3-star) hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank French48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

June 2008.
The first room we were offered for our reservation, was absolutely unacceptable, old fashioned youth hostel style! We got a slightly better room, on the 5th floor right under the attic. Therefore, the ceiling was sloped in the room as well as the bathroom with very little headroom in places. That was not the worst: no airco and very hot right on the top floor and no fans available either. The staff however, was very friendly and hardworking.
Some problems simply could not be solved, such as the heat and the VERY noisy traffic just outside the front of the hotel. It started early in the morning before dawn, with everything from noisy trucks to motorcycles and cars in one neverending stream. The back of the hotel was a very nice setup, with (unused) tenniscourts, a large patio and extensive garden. At night, we heard strange noises even there: they were whistling frogs! Never heard of such creatures before, and we never saw them either but heard them loud and clear each night.
The restaurant was surprisingly upscale, in sharp contrast to the rooms which were mediocre at best. Some rooms were renovated, and better than others however.
Prices at the restaurant also reflected the upscale atmosphere, and not a very extensive menu for dinner. The food was excellent though, although expensive. The buffet breakfast (which was included in our stay) was absolutely great!
So although the pictures of the hotel we had seen (and made ourselves) show a country setting, nothing is further from the truth as it is right beside a main road into Tours, city centre.
Indeed there are a lot of tour groups visiting this hotel, but they are not a problem.
We used the hotel as a starting point for visiting a lot of castles in the Loire Valley, which are beautiful. Too bad we were so tired after 4 nights of hardly sleeping due to the noise and heat.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dutchess99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Just outside Tours City Centre but bit too far to walk. However, this is reflected in the price, which is very reasonable. Be aware that it is a favourite for coach parties of children at one end of the scale and senior citizens at the other end. These parties are catered for at meal times in a large conservatory on the ground floor so the dining room is quiet, but if there ae staffing problems (and there were when we were there), you can wait a little time for your meal.

The food is absolutely delicious but not cheap. Nouvelle cuisine but reasonable size portions. The 3-course menu complet is good value and you could not eat another mouthful. Bar area is pleasant also.

Our only bad experience was breakfast, which is supposed to be served until 10.00 a.m. We went down one morning at 9.30 to find all the tables laid out for dinner. However the remains of breakfast were still laid out so we helped ourselves to the obvious annoyance of the waitress who consistenly muttered under her breath. She made no attempt to supply us with hot water which had run out or any of the other things like eggs so we just left in the end having had some bread and coffee.

When I complained at the end of our stay, the breakfast was taken off the bill without any hesitation and I got the impression that this particular waitress was known for such behaviour.

The room was large but not air-conditioned which would be a problem in August. We were hot even on a low floor in June so I guess the upper floors would suffer even more as the temperatures rise.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank SylviaRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elya10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joue-les-Tours
2.0 mi away
Campanile Tours Sud - Joue Les Tours
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Tours Sud
5.5 mi away
Mercure Tours Nord
Mercure Tours Nord
#8 of 87 in Tours
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Tours Sud
Ibis Tours Sud
#2 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
522 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brit Hotel Tours Sud - Le Cheops
Brit Hotel Tours Sud - Le Cheops
#6 of 10 in Joue-les-Tours
90 reviews
4.9 mi away
B&B Hotel TOURS Nord 2 La petite Arche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Tours - Joue-les-Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Tours - Joue-les-Tours

Address: 4 rue Edouard Branly, 37300 Joue-les-Tours, Tours, France (Formerly L'Escurial Tours Sud)
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours > Joue-les-Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Joue-les-Tours
Price Range: $63 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Tours - Joue-les-Tours 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyriad Tours - Joue-les-Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escurial Hotel Joue Les Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing