We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Tours Sud - Joue Les Tours
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Joue-les-Tours
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I used this hotel as a stopover twice, going south to meet up with friends in Dordogneshire and again on the return journey. I chose this particular Campanile because of the lovely park close by. It would have been ideal for walking my little dog that should have travelled with me. Sadly she was called to the big kennel in the sky shortly before our holiday.
The hotel is more of a motel with parking outside the rooms. I could not fault this Campanile, spotlessly clean, pleasant helpful staff and reasonable food. Dining arrangements are typical of the Campanile chain, at dinner there is a very good starter buffet, a choice of main courses including a Plat de Jour and an extensive dessert buffet. You are expected to eat as much as you like from the starter and dessert buffet. It is one of the menu choices to just have a starter and desert. I think you should be more than satisfied if choosing this option. The cold buffet breakfast is excellent.
Another plus for this hotel, close by, probably about 200m away is a SuperU fuel station that accepts most credit cards when the kiosk is closed.
Overall, an ideal stopover hotel that I would certainly use again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 240 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here for four days whilst exploring places nearby. It is such a peaceful area with woods nearby but also other hotels, etc. We were able to park our car exactly in front of our room with the main reception area opposite. The staff were excellent and friendly.
One early morning at 6.a.m. before reception was open for the day, a mini bus arrived and several Asians from Holland got out making a lot of noise, waking us and presumably other people up. They were walking to and fro talking loudly to one another and even tried to open our door, which they couldn't, rattling it several times. They must have managed to access a room upstairs as it eventually went quiet after we heard several footsteps to and fro in the room above us. We reported it to reception when we got up for breakfast and they quickly dealt with it and were gone by the evening - don't know the details.

Our room was very comfortable and clean and newly refurbished. Toiletries have now been replaced by a dispenser in both the bath and sink areas. There was a tea maker plus tea and coffee, also biscuits and two sweets each day. Breakfast was in a pleasant room with a plentiful choice of food and drinks. If our holiday hadn't already been planned with a tour around SW France we would have been happy to stay on longer. We shall not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor as there is no lift to the upper level only an outside stairca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rondonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night as a driving break before visiting friends in the Charante. It is conveniently located just South of Tours and immediately off a main road, which made finding it easy. The welcome was warm and friendly and we were asked if we would like to book a table for dinner. We were glad that we did as the food was very well cooked and reasonably priced, with the Plat du Jour being great value. We hadn't stayed in a Campanile before but we were very happy with the quality and the comfort of the room. They also offer free wi-fi, but we found our room to be a little far away from the router to get a strong signal. The are seats in the bar area which we found were better located to get a good signal. The hotel also offers free off-road parking. The hotel is located off the Avenue du Lac, which is in a quiet residential area. There are great walks around the lakes opposite the hotel, if your stay affords you the time. Overall, we thought this hotel to be good value for money, very comfortable with the added bonus of a good restaurant on site.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank taylors_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Was very fortunate that the room was only 2 steps away from the parking as requested. Situated in a very quite locality in Tours. Nice and cosy room. The restaurant offers buffet for starters/buffet for dessert which is excellent and at a very good price as well.
Rooms also offer complimentary tea coffee kits with crackers.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoogleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our nine-year-old son for one night during late July 2012, and we were very pleased with the experience. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were pleasant and helpful, and the food was very tasty. The double bed was extremely comfortable and nice and big. When we couldn't find the fold-out bed we'd booked for our son, a member of staff leaped into action to show us where it was located (under a long desk next to the window). Our son said that this bed was 'comfortable enough', and appeared to sleep well. The hotel was easy to find, and located very near a pleasant, tree-lined lake - a nice bonus.

We would definitely stay here again, and see it as a very good base for touring the Loire valley.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Two couples spent four nights here from 21 June 2012 for low cost visit to local chateaux. Two star hotel pleasantly located (unusual for this type of hotel which is often found on the edge of industrial/commercial developments) in area of lake, woodland and detached housing. Small rooms recently redone but better sized bathrooms, some with bath/shower, others shower only. Dining room perfectly adequate for breakfast/evening meal. Staff good.
As a two star hotel it is very successful and we would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 4 has bath+shower. Room 22 at back has shower only. Both fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0urDirect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We spent a week in various Campanile Motels, and this was by far the poorest.
We were given room 21 which you should avoid because it is above electrical equipment and hence a hot room. The building is showing signs of disrepair although the restaurant and reception have been renovated. One morning there was no bread for breakfast and the croissants were undercooked. Normally meals are great value at Campanile, but this restaurant completely missed two diners out of four, and then dealt with the situation poorly (ie ignored the situation and made the customer feel awkward!). One room had no towels and the other no cups or milk.
The previous reviewer is correct there is a nice lake 5 minutes down the road, but this is a good example of a facility offering bad service in the typical old fashioned French way. The Campanile in Cambray Les Tours is 5km away and is recently renovated, so I suggest trying that property out instead.

Room Tip: Avoid room 21 which is above electrical equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Drinkwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joue-les-Tours
2.9 mi away
Ibis Tours Sud
Ibis Tours Sud
#2 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
536 reviews
2 mi away
Kyriad Tours - Joue-les-Tours
Kyriad Tours - Joue-les-Tours
#4 of 10 in Joue-les-Tours
408 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Tours Nord
Ibis Budget Tours Nord
#14 of 88 in Tours
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
#1 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
333 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kyriad Tours Sud - Chambray Les Tours
Kyriad Tours Sud - Chambray Les ...
#3 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
185 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Tours Sud - Joue Les Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Tours Sud - Joue Les Tours

Address: Route De Chinon Avenue Du Lac Les Bretonnieres | Les Bretonnieres, 37300 Joue-les-Tours, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours > Joue-les-Tours
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Joue-les-Tours
Price Range: $53 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Tours Sud - Joue Les Tours 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Campanile Tours Sud - Joue Les Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing