We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bordeaux Aeroport
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Merignac
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My family and I are regular guests of Novotel especially during our summer holidays in France. For the very first time we've been very disappointed with the hotel...
The room seems really smaller than the one we were used too, there were no complimentary water bottles as we were used to and although there were complimentary coffee and tea we did not feel at all like using having them seeing the very dirty kettle provided with it to heat the water. On top of all, the worse and very stressful was the extreme poor state of the kettle and the bathroom...Thanks heaven we booked only for 2 nights and were very happy to leave!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank worldrider24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 490 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

How can two almost identical hotels score so differently? The Novotel at Rouen Sud scored 5 yet this one scores only 3. The reason is in the little things - like yesterday's bread being proffered at dinner, like the outside of the building being in need of decoration, like the terrace needing weeding, or the Wi-Fi continually dropping out, etc. Staff in both places were very good, but Rouen Sud was a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The rooms are quite spacious with seperated WC , bathroom with walk in shower and a double bed and a sofa , there is also a flat screen TV and a desk + minibar.
The breakfast is average but you have coffee machines to make real expressos or capuccinos etc...
There is a bus stop in front of the hotel to go to center Bordeaux ( Meriadeck ) and from there there is the tram services that are very efficient in Bordeaux.The bus is called Lianes 1 and cost 1.40 Euros . The trip takes 35 mns.
Another positive touch for that hotel is that the staff is very friendly.
I regret there is no GYM / no Wellness in that hotel as this is a facility you can enjoy when travelling on your own.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rv0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We walked approx 300 m of corridor before finding our room. Single story place ( maybe double...cant really remember. The roos were clean but tired looking. This is fine for a short stopover, but not that impressive. Had a meal there which was standard Novotel menu and quite nice but not exceptional. I watched waitress transfer all bread rolls from one place to another with bare hands! In front of diners without thinking twice! Not a good look to be honest. Had to ask specifically for a second beer despite it being empty on table for 10 minutes and the restaurant largely empty. Small simple things but they leave an impression! Bus to airport didn't start till 6 and our flight was earlier so expensive taxi. Hotel at airport......shouldn't the service be 24 hrs?

Room Tip: There isnt much to do and hardly anywhere to eat outside hotel. There is a sushi restaurant up road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

At check-out, my card did not work, so i asked the concierge, Mr. Victor G. to try with a different machine which he did but did not work also....with unpolite insolence he said "so its a problem with the machine, yes?"....with a different card in the first machine it did not work also and neither it did in the second machine...he pointed at a bunch of payment receipts and said in the same insolent tone "i made already various payments so its not a problem with the machines, its a problem with your cards". I become visibly angry and tell me them to try to make the payment manually and this is done with the lady which is obviously the manager of the hotel and the payment is processed when done manually.

I am Accor Favourite Guest and A-Club platinum member which means i have to spend many nights in hotels per year and, in particular, i had stayed a few times in this hotel already and this "card doesnt go through" episode had also happened before. I have to stay often in Merignac but next time i will stay in Mercure for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EverywhereElsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DECAdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is quite OK for a practical, short business stay near the airport or for other travelers wishing to be at the airport very early in the morning. The personnel is friendly and professional, and the hotel is generally human-scale and pleasant, even though it has a bit of the "70s glamour" style about it and a few minor problems here and there (e.g. the heating was not working properly, and you could hear water being flushed in your neighbouring room's bathroom). I found the food at the restaurant surprisingly good and I did appreciate the free WiFi, as well as the possibility to have breakfast at a very early hour.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merignac
1.8 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Bordeaux Ouest - Merignac
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Aeroport
Mercure Bordeaux Aeroport
#11 of 23 in Merignac
398 reviews
6.9 mi away
Novotel Bordeaux Lac
Novotel Bordeaux Lac
#23 of 175 in Bordeaux
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Aeroport
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Bordeaux Aeroport
6.8 mi away
Pullman Bordeaux Lac
Pullman Bordeaux Lac
#24 of 175 in Bordeaux
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bordeaux Aeroport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bordeaux Aeroport

Address: 80 avenue John Fitzgerald Kennedy, 33700 Merignac, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Merignac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Merignac
Price Range: $104 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bordeaux Aeroport 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bordeaux Aéroport hotel is just 2 km from Bordeaux airport (shuttle runs 6am-11:30pm) and under 25 mins from the city center. This hotel lies at the heart of a fully enclosed 5-acre (2-ha) wooded park with outdoor heated swimming pool. Idealfor a business or leisure stopover, the hotel has 137 rooms, 7 meeting rooms, a fitness room and an enclosed car park (8 Tesla terminals). The Novotel Café and bar are open every day and, when the weather is nice, you can eat outside on our large terrace. Whether you are on business or vacation, enjoy the services of this modern hotel, located in an oasis of greenery just a short distance from the main business centers and close to the center of Bordeaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Bordeaux Aeroport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Merignac
Novotel Hotel Merignac
Merignac Novotel
Novotel Bordeaux Aeroport Merignac, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing