We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor experience”
Review of Campanile Haguenau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Haguenau
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Haguenau
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very poor experience”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Lake Garda with Just Go Holidays. We were rather late arriving (9.45pm) so was not suprised that the restaurant was closed. However we were all amazed that we were unable to get a long drink as there was no bar at this hotel. We were 51 tired and thirsty travellers and all the staff wanted to do was give us a key and lock up. The room was adequate when you finally found it as there was no method in the room numbering. Breakfast was reasonably good for a continental breakfast. The return stay was not very good although we did manage to get a meal this time. My word "what a rip-off" We had 2 beers, a small carafe of white wine,some salad, a small chicken leg with some boiled rice and some very small dainty sweets. This came to 58 euros for the 2 of us which was a lot more than we were led to believe.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarionNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    68
    55
    19
    4
See reviews for
35
69
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central MK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stopped here twice as a stopover on the way to and back from Italy.

The first stay was very pleasant and good value. The building is starting to show its age but we had a comfortable top floor room and the only problem was the restaurant had run out of black tea at breakfast.

The return visit was appalling. We had Room 028 and complained as soon as we saw it. But the hotel was full and this was the last room because the hotel now takes coaches on a regular basis and had a full coach load of people staying.

The room had a strong odour of damp and stale cigarette smoke, a non standard bed which was too big for the room and damp, it was dirty, there were mouse droppings on the floor, a mouse trap under the table and a noisy machine right outside the window which kept us awake all night.

We left, tired and disapointed, before reception opened and have complained to Campanile but have not even had the courtesy of a reply.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LakeComo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haguenau hotels

England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Arrived very late at night but the receptionist kindly stayed around waiting for us (you normally can check-in until 11pm) after we called several times after getting lost en route (hotel is actually not too difficult to get to - it was around Karlsruhe that we came unstuck!)

Very clean room with camp bed made up for toddler. Room for travel cot for baby. Shutters on windows to ensure a good dark room.

A superb buffet breakfast in the morning and we were all set for the next leg of the journey.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rav323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Great Motel. Staff friendly. Breakfast selection incredible and fresh.
Rooms on two floors adjacent to reception and restaurant. No lift, so if you have a mobility problem request downstairs when you book. Basic room but clean. You have tea/coffee making facilities and a little biscuit, which, for a budget motel, is a nice gesture. Television but no english speaking channel. Great bathroom, bath/shower, also small selction of complimentry toiletries. Fantastic magnifying mirror...great for us ladies to do our make up in the morning...or for tweezing that odd hair you can never see in your own mirror!. I was very pleased with this little find. If you stay upstairs, you can walk out of your room onto a balcony landing, which goes around the whole Motel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel with our disabled daughter on the way down to Lake Garda Italy this was our 1st time in a Campanile and we were in for a very pleasant surprisethe location was perfect after a long journey very relaxing with nice gardens you could sit in the food was excellent as was the service with a good choice of wines etc.
We had also booked this same hotel for an overnight stop 2 weeks later returning from Italy and were really looking forward to our stay, we certainly plan to stay at this hotel again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidbowen1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

I stayed in the hotel for two nights with my wife. The breakfast was good by French standards, consisting of a buffet. The room in the attic was large and clean, and the bed was comfortable. We also ate lunch on one day, and it was good. Despite being located by the main road, the hotel was very quiet.

One slight niggle was that the heating was off when we got there. So the room was cold. We switched it on and then were too hot. I guess that we would have found the right setting after another night.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Concrete stairs
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Angel, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

What to say about a purely functional hotel with no charm, purely a bathroom and a bed? If you need to stop off the highway in the Alsace,then fall into bed just to get up to drive again, then this is a convenient place. It doesn't look at all like the charming spot in its picture.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haguenau hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Haguenau
Ibis Budget Haguenau
#2 of 9 in Haguenau
241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Nord Haguenau
0.4 mi away
Europe Hotel
Europe Hotel
#5 of 9 in Haguenau
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant les Pins
1.4 mi away
Champ'Alsace Centre
Champ'Alsace Centre
#7 of 9 in Haguenau
32 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Champ'Alsace Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Haguenau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Haguenau

Property: Campanile Haguenau
Address: 129 route de Strasbourg, 67500 Haguenau, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Haguenau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Haguenau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Haguenau 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Haguenau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Haguenau France - Alsace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing