We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant find!”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Portesham B&B and Inns
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a brilliant find!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited The Kings Arms in December last year for the first time and had a brilliant New Years Eve with great food and live music.
We went back again last weekend and couldn't believe what an amazing transformation the place has had with a beautifully redecorated bar and restaurant area. Stunning! We sat outside in the garden for the afternoon. A big space, great for children and perfect for sunshine. A lovely setting in the heart if the village. We stayed for dinner and all 5 of us were really impressed with the menu and quality of food. Not your average pub grub and not over-priced, perfect combo! Service was friendly and welcoming and turns out they are part way through a refurbishment project so the rooms and other facilities will be next. Overall really impressed and highly recommend it as a place to spend an afternoon/evening with friends or family. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us, and great to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    46
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
62
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It's been some time since we last visited the King's Arms and it has really changed for the better. Smart decor and very welcoming staff, lead to an interesting and tempting menu. Sadly we were only in for a light bite, but we were both impressed with the quality and presentation of our choices and will most definitely be back for a revisit soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistermikeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your lunch and time with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lived in Dorset for over 20 years and always avoided this pub until recently as it looked uninviting. I believe it changed hands recently and it is now not only attraction from the outside but lovely inside. Very welcoming staff, a lovely lay out inside with soft seating as well as tables and chairs for dining and drinking. They also have a coffee lounge area. The menu had a good selection and reasonably priced. Portions were good as was the quality of the food. There was even decent beer. I won't wait another 20 years. I'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write. Glad the outside changes were enough to encourage you to come and try us. Even more pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience once inside. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had visited the restaurant at the Kings Arms a few months ago but found the food and ambience to be distinctly average. Since then, the the restaurant has changed hands and the improvement is simply stellar. Being welcomed by the owner at the front door with a warm, friendly smile is a nice touch and we were made to feel extremely welcome by the staff inside. The interior is now smart, chic and very clean, whilst the menu catered for every taste. My wife had the fish platter, which included prawns, salmon, scollops and whitebait - it was delicious and I simply couldn't resist a juicy scallop. My own whitebait were crispy and in plentiful supply. Both meals were very reasonably priced. The outside garden at the front was a perfect place to dine on a hot, sunny day like yesterday and in such a lovely village like Portesham. All in all a very pleasant experience and we will certainly be back very soon..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your review. Always good to hear when a guest has enjoyed their time with us and appreciate the effort that has gone into the service, ambience and overall experience. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were looking for a nice beer garden while driving between Bridport and Weymouth and spotted The King's Arms. I used to live in Dorset so I was pleased to see some Otter Amber on tap which was my favorite local ale, the temperature and pouring was spot on.

We decided to have the fish platter with a couple of sides instead of two main meals and the choice was vindicated by the amount of food brought to our lovely table in the garden. It was the first time I had tried scallops and they were very tasty. Mackerel and Trout cooked very well with Whitebait, King prawns and battered Gurnard. Two dipping sauces and bread and butter complimented the meal.

The service was very friendly and the prices are fair for the quality of ingredients (fish platter and two sides came in under £20!). I'm sure if we are in the area again we will make another visit to The King's Arms

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee2013_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write. Great to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us. We will shortly be starting our Summer menu which will include a good selection of new seafood dishes to enjoy.
Thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had dinner here with some friends on a Sunday evening, when the place was fairly quiet. Food was very good. Pleasant room and general ambience. Attentive service from the ebullient Claud. And reasonable prices. All round, a very agreeable experience and I wish the new owners well.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnEdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your review and wishes in our new venture at The Kings Arms. Also much appreciated in recognising Claude in his efforts to always provide a warm and welcoming service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very good attentive service, lovely to be welcomed and looked after well. Plates nice and hot , good sized starters, and all of our table of five had very good sized manageable main meals., the seabass was delicious, as was the gurnard, good not to see any peas on the plates! So thanks for a happy evening.



,
,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your review, and nice to hear you and your family enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you again in The Kings Arms.
Regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portesham
1.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
48 reviews
3.3 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
9.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Shilvinghampton Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 2 Front Street, Portesham DT3 4ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Portesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Portesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing