We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday Lunch”

The Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Allendale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $25
Description: As an independent free house, with a warm and friendly relaxed atmosphere, service and community focus, we have a comprehensive range of beers and a fine selection of traditional cask ales are available to include brews from the local Allendale Brewery. The grand three storey building has a vibrant bar, intimate restaurant and our newly refurbished hotel rooms will be available from mid May 2017. The property is positioned in the heart of Allendale in a building which has a rich history and is truly a historic part of of the town.
Restaurant details
Description: As an independent free house, with a warm and friendly relaxed atmosphere, service and community focus, we have a comprehensive range of beers and a fine selection of traditional cask ales are available to include brews from the local Allendale Brewery. The grand three storey building has a vibrant bar, intimate restaurant and our newly refurbished hotel rooms will be available from mid May 2017. The property is positioned in the heart of Allendale in a building which has a rich history and is truly a historic part of of the town.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived just before opening and sat outside in the sunshine. Once opened we waited 20 minutes for them to clean their pipes so we could have a lager. We then ordered 4 Sunday lunches and waited 45 mins for our food which eventually arrived cold. Plus I’m not sure what they expect in a Sunday roast but half of a small roast potato is not sufficient in my eyes!! They said it was because they were busy but the pub itself was all but empty, although they did say their restaurant was full (can’t understand this as we had been there from when the doors opened and we didn’t notice lots of people arriving) The other people who had ordered food had been waiting 35 mins by the time we left and the chap outside whose food did arrive returned it because it was inedible! The only visible staff were two teenagers who tried their best, but were completely out of their depth. Apparently the manager was at home!!!. We got our money back and left and we will not be back!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank KarenGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 95 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2019

Stayed here for one night in March.
Room was well decorated and very clean. As it should have been for the price!
Had a reasonable evening meal in the pub with a very discourteous and uninterested lad working behind the bar.
Breakfast was very good - odd to pay a supplement for cooked breakfast though. Contrary to the previous evening, the staff at breakfast were brilliant.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pete_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019 via mobile

Visited with my daughter for Sunday lunch before visiting the Allendale Dalek, lovely gent running the pub, roaring fire in the cosy bar area, reasonably priced. We had a vegetarian and a chicken Sunday lunch, really tasty, then chocolate fudge cake and sticky toffee pudding. All delicious, well presented and promptly served. I couldn't fault anything. The whole pub looks recently renovated, but sometimes the toilets are overlooked.. Not here.. So pretty I took photos!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2019 via mobile

Very friendly to both people and dogs. Great beer. Try 'TALL STORIES' one of best beers I've tasted in a long time. Didn't have a chance to try the food but it looked and smelled delicious. Look forward to trying it in June.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank karenbX2898AI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019 via mobile

Stayed in Allendale for two night. Had dinner here both evenings. I can highly recommend the food. We had sausage and mash (me twice!).
The steak and ale pie and the lamb Henry were very good I am told. Sausages are from local butchers and were excellent. This is a warm friendly pub. The real ales are excellent. See you again soon. Thank you.

See you again soon!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank nellie132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion Hotel also viewed

 
Catton, Northumberland
 

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing