We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation in a perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brynarth Country Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brynarth Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lledrod B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation in a perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

If you enjoy peace and getting away from the crowds this place will take some beating. Our hosts Cathy and Ian immediately made us feel welcome with tea and welsh-cakes, and from that moment on nothing was too much trouble for them. There was more food than we could eat made with fresh local produce and cooked to perfection. A variety of choices were available for breakfast including a 'full-house" breakfast with plenty of fruit available to follow.. After this the packed lunches were enough to keep us going until dinner! A daily option was offered for dinner with alternatives for anyone who did not like the day's choice.

The bedrooms were all comfortable with en-suite facilities and tea making equipment. A comfortable lounge was available and for the energetic guests there is pool and table tennis in the Games Room. A good selection of drinks was available from the bar at very reasonable prices. There are plenty of books around the facilities and information on where to go and what to do.

There are plenty of choices for those who enjoy walking though I found many of the footpaths shown on the 1:25,000 maps have been fenced off by farmers and are now almost impossible to follow. Ian and Cathy have a folder of walks close at hand so probably best to stick to them.

The wildlife is outstanding and we could scarcely go anywhere without buzzards and red kites hovering over us. There were plenty of wild flowers in the hedgerows, fields and woods to enjoy. There is a nature reserve just 100 metres up the road from the property.

When asked to rate service I rarely give 5 stars but this one deserves it.

Barrowoldtimer

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrowoldtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
117
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
henley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

This was a wonderful find.An idyllic country setting based around a courtyard with stunning views of an unspolt valley.Ian and Cathy provide a friendly welcome, a high level of service, excellent food and lots of personal touches. They gave us useful advice about the local area which really helped our house hunting. We would highly recommend them to friends and will use them again when we return to the area..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

Do not set your satnav to off-road unless you want to approach via a riverbed.
Food was excellent, people the same. Ian and Cathy deserve all the success their dedication and service earn. Well done you both !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

A real gem in this class of accomodation, hosts who take a real pride in their standards and do everything possible to make your stay a pleasurable experiance. No hesitation in recommending Brynarth as a place to stay in Mid-Wales.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baggieboyKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe Bridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

I am rather reluctant to write this review, as I am afraid that too many people will want to visit and I will never be able to book a stay again. However, praises have to be sung, and what praises. The location, the hosts, the food, the amenities, all excellent and all delightful; Cathy & Ian are hosts in a million, fun, friendly and attentive. Nothing and I mean nothing, is too much trouble for them, from ordering your particular consistency of scrambled egg to extra pillows or blankets for your bed. The garden is a delight, the countryside breathtaking and the silence, broken only by a myriad of birds in the daytime and the gentle hoot of the owls in the evening, the silence is incredible. Peace, perfect peace. We cannot wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G2R4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Our family took over this place for a weekend back in March, and i have been recommending it to people ever since.

Ian and Cathy are excellent hosts, and look after you for the whole trip, by the time you leave you feel like its your house and you know them!

The property itself (or collection of properties) has one main house with a lounge, bar area and dining room, with a couple of bedrooms upstairs. There is then another farmhouse to stay in right next to the main building which is where we stayed. The rooms are all very nicely decorated an comfortable and very cosy at night when its cold. (no tv's though, they want to to get away from the world here! Although there is one in the games room aswell as a pool table.)

We arrived mid afternoon on our check in day and were welcomed with coffee and cakes, which was a nice touch. Later that evening some of our guests still hadnt arrived (which was no suprise this place really was in the middle on nowhere!) But it was no problem for Ian and Cathy they simply delayed serving the food until everyone had arrived. They were equally flexiable with breakfast , some of us up were up later than others!!

The food itself was fantastic, huge portions and all local produce. The drinks in the little bar were well priced too which was a pleasant suprise.

Overall a really nice stay in a beautiful part of the world, if you fancy a walk or a bike ride etc or just a simple releaxing get away.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tris_tris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

From the moment of arrival to departure, you are made very welcome. It's like staying with old friends; friends who live in a charming farmhouse in a delightful part of Wales & who can cook really well. We've stayed at Brynarth twice, in the Autumn and in the Summer, and the garden & surrounding countryside were equally delightful in both seasons.
The dinners of locally sourced food are not to be missed and afterwards there's coffee in the sitting room with board games, conversation or a good book.
There's plenty to do in the area whatever your interests with attractive Aberaeron & the honey ice cream a must visit for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrabblers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lledrod
9.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
7.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
9.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
9.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Glengower
The Glengower
#4 of 36 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynarth Country Guest House

Property: Brynarth Country Guest House
Address: Trawsgoed Road, Lledrod, Aberystwyth SY23 4HX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Lledrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lledrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynarth Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynarth Country Guest House is nestled in rural splendor amongst some of the most stunning scenery in the Ystwyth Valley. It is owned and run by James Dwyer & Stuart Betts and is situated within the beautiful countryside in the foothills of the Cambrian Mountains. Brynarth is ideally located to access not only the many attractions in Ceredigion, The Ystwyth and Elan Valleys but is close enough to easily enjoy the bustling coastal town of Aberystwyth itself. The 17th Century farmhouse and barns have been tastefully and sympathetically renovated in keeping with Brynarth's age and time in history, with two acres of bluebell woods included within it's eight acres of grounds, Brynarth hosts an abundance of wildlife - including regular fly-pasts by red kites, successfully re-populating this area of mid-Wales. Bats, owls and pheasants are usually both seen and heard daily. Crystal clear spring water comes down from the mountains to supply Brynarth even through the driest of summers. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind, whether for a weekend break or a longer stay, and if you're feeling more energetic there is so much countryside waiting to be explored, particularly by foot or bicycle. The accommodation includes two double rooms in the main farmhouse, both with large en-suite shower rooms, one with sitting area and dual aspect windows looking out over the countryside. Just across the courtyard, The Old Dairy Barn has 5 delightful en-suite rooms, 2 being singles, plus a further double and a twin that share a bathroom and are ideal for use as a family 'suite' or small group. All rooms are centrally-heated, have free Wifi, radio alarm clocks and hair dryers, tea and coffee making facilities, Welsh toiletries and egyptian cotton towels. Rooms are serviced each day to make your stay as comfortable as possible. An iron and ironing board are available on request. Our Bed and Breakfast rates include a cooked breakfast of your choice from our menu, plus fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and toast and preserves. We pride ourselves on offering as much local, fresh produce as we can, most of our eggs come from our own chickens! Breakfast is served in the warm and welcoming farmhouse Dining Room. Evening meals can be arranged for groups of four or more guests and are bookable in advance. Dinner is normally served at 7pm and comprises a set menu of two courses, a main course and dessert, with after dinner coffee/tea/mints for £25 per person. If you wish to dine with us please note that we require at least 48 hours notice. Packed lunches are also available by arrangement, if you are planning a day out walking or cycling. Guests can relax in front of a log fire in the lounge with it's adjoining licenced Snug Bar. We are fully licensed with a good range of beers, wines and spirits. To enhance the evenings, there is a separate Games Barn where one can enjoy table tennis, pool & darts, here there is also a large colour television with comfy sofas. We have a large car park and also offer secure, covered parking to motorcyclists and cycles. We welcome 'Well-behaved' dogs by prior arrangement only. We have designated rooms that can accommodate your pet so please contact us first to check availability and requirements. We allow a maximum of 2 dogs per room. We charge £10 per dog for a one/two night stay, and then an additional £5 per night thereafter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brynarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing