We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Special Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karimannoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I can only re-iterate what has already been said about this wonderful place.

The location of the home stay with the river running through is is so peaceful and to swim in the river is magical. The food is wonderful, and without doubt the best we had in India. Dining outside at night with all the candles lit was magical. But what really makes Dewalokam extra special are the charming hosts - Jose and Sinta (and the children) who work so hard to make your stay memorable and personal. I absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suze7679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
284
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

loved this experience; having never done a full board place before and being generally quite energetic and culturally explorative aussie kiwi couple it didn't come naturally going to a farm with full board. This was a great way to relax during a backpacking trip to Kerala and Sri Lanka. Jose, Sinta (and Tara and Paul) and their staff made the experience such a warm one. Great place to meet people, eat well, swim and unwind. This family have really created something special. It's well priced and we were really grateful for having found this oasis.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have just returned from Kerala and without doubt Dewalokam was by far the best place I stayed in. The location, the atmosphere, the food and the comfort provided here were top class. I cannot say enough good things about the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Dewalokam is a amazing farm and a beautiful homestay - it really is a wonderful location right by the river and the surrounding scenery is just so peaceful and beautiful. After spending 3 nights here we were totally relaxed and didn't want to leave.

The food is the best we have ever had in India with a different menu every day and drinks were very cheap.

All staff were friendly and we felt welcomed.

Sinta and Jose were amazing hosts and made our stay very special.

The room was great with an open air shower and no TVs or phones just perfect peace

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durhamlass14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was nervous about a homestay but the experience was great. The ladies who served us were always smiling and friendly. The menus offered and the staff in the restaurant were excellent. The owners Jose and Sinta participate in the experience and are enthusiastic and very welcoming. It is peaceful place to stay but with lots to do. A jungle walk is offered and a surprise will be experienced during it. I will not spoil it by explaining. Would like to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyonAdvisor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We loved our three night stay at Dewalokam - a little slice of heaven and a perfect breaking point on the journey between Kochi and Munnar. The warm welcome from Sinta and Jose and their family was matched by excellent service from all the staff - always immaculately dressed and smiling - as well as great accommodation, delicious food, a stunning garden and river scenery and very interesting farm tours, walks and cookery lessons.
We learnt so much from our enthusiastic hosts about the wonderful spices, vegetables and herbs that we so enjoyed at meal times - at a long communal table often set outside under the stars. We were not idle - yoga in the garden followed by a river swim was a perfect start to each day and floating on our backs in the river watching the kingfishers and bee eaters flying overhead is an unforgettable experience. We made new friends at all our home stays and Dewalokam was no exception - and wee look forward to a return visit at some point in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyw-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I arrived to a very warm welcome from Jose & Sinta. We loved everything about this Farmstay. Luxurious, professional Chef, stunning setting..... I think the pictures tell the story. Can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karimannoor
17.1 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
17.3 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
17.4 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Pearl Royal
Hotel Pearl Royal
#3 of 5 in Thodupuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
18.6 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 182 in Munnar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
17.0 mi away
Ecotones Camps Pvt Ltd
Ecotones Camps Pvt Ltd
#1 of 157 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat

Property: Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat
Address: Thodupuzha, Karimannoor 685581, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Karimannoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Karimannoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dewalokam is a Homestay, a B&B, and a Specialty Lodging all merged into one, in an organic farm, in the deep interiors of Kerala. You are surrounded on all sides by the bountiful nature, and the atmosphere is filled with birdsongs and the sound of water rippling in the river. It is a unique place with no parallels. The river front property, enveloped by the rain forests of Kerala, produces milk and honey, fruits and vegetables, eggs and meat all in a truly organic way. The food, accommodation and the environment make it a true paradise.We offer Yoga, Ayurveda and Cooking Packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat Kerala/Karimannoor, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing