We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service,by Ron”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
540 on Great South Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otahuhu
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Service,by Ron”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were 21 people from Habitat for Humanity,we stay for 11 nights. Manager Ron went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable,excellent experience i would stay again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for your review. We do what we do because we want to, and this is valued by guests like yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
25
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Managers Ron and Muriel Smythe spared no effort in making our group of Habitat for Humanity volunteers welcome and comfortable at the 540 on Great South motel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanandroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
It was a pleasure to have Habitat for Humanity stay with us as we know it was for you to stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

As a frequent traveler I have had more than my share of disappointments when transiting Auckland airport. The '540' is an amazing change to that. Very reasonably priced, clean, modern, and about 15-20 minutes from the airport.
What works? Price - Good value for $. Location - Easy airport transfers, Close to shops so you can walk 2-3 blocks and be in a little Asian District (food is ok - but the roast duck/chicken at the Chinese take away shop is fantastic * you can sit inside they have 4-5 tables), Parking is perfect - No hassle and rental car company I used was happy to pick up and deliver there to save airport surcharge, People - absolutely amazingly friendly, Wifi - free for 24 hours with a down load limit (ok if you are doing mail, skype), Safe - across the street from 8 story police headquarters so lots of under cover cops staying there for training. And best of all it is quiet, clean, and modern with very nice shower, bath, and kitchenette. Non smoking. They happily moved me to larger room when I asked.

Room Tip: Ask for larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earth-Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, NZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

After falling ill on a trip through Auckland, I had to find accomodation close to Middlemore Hospital. Thanks goodness I was pointed towards this wonderful motel. Our "family sized" unit had been recently and tastefully updated, and had plenty of space for the four of us. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and quiet, although fronting on to a busy street. The kitchen area was small but well stocked with a frig, jug, toaster and microwave, as well as dishes, cutlery and glassware. Our unit had two televisions, and reasonably priced wireless internet. There was a queen bed in a separate bedroom, with a single bed and a sofa bed in the main room. The manager was extremely helpful, providing ice and a wheat bag, and even a converter plug for a foreign laptop. To top it off, we were given a complimentary ride to the airport the next day.

I can't say enough about how great this place is. It isn't the closest place to Auckland Airport, but worth the extra 15 minutes to get there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. Your comments indeed give us joy and continues to strengthen our passion for the hospitality industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed here between motorcamping in New Zealand and visiting the Cook islands. It was very convenient for the airport and for travel into the city - the train is fast, cheap and convenient. The staff were extremely helpful, going out of their way to help us with transfers. The room was clean and comfortable with everything that you could need. We really liked the area the motel is in - lots to do locally and easy to go to Otara market. brilliant - thank you.

Room Tip: Just ask nicely for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaweller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
The review is appreciated by the staff of this Motel. They do enjoy receiving the feedback from guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

This motel is the most dirtiest establishment, i have ever stayed in. I can say the photos of the internet are very deceiving, it would be good if the public could zoom up to actually see how filthy the rooms are, dirty stains on the couches, i would not let my wife and son sit on the couch, as i was scared there was something growing in them. We were on the bed and breakfast package, if that's what you would like to call it, the owner delivered the breakfast to our room, we ordered 2 mueslis and weet-bix, well the weet-bix came, but only one muesli, i had to share 2 bites of mine with my wife. My son needed more milk for his cereal, and it was such a drama that they could actually provide 100mls of milk instead of 30 mls which was provided for his 3 weet-bix. We had the most unpleasant sleep ever in a motel, as it was next to a major road, soundproof windows, i don't think so. The area is quite dodgy around the motel, and as stated on their website, lovely eateries close to the motel, i did not find any of these, and i preferred not to go out incase i got mugged. Overall to sum it up it was a major disappointment as we were only there for 1 night as we were leaving Auckland to go overseas the next day. I would never recomend this motel, even to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Don't ever stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lillypilly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Thank you for the review. The events you have described are disturbing to me as yourself. This is completely out of sorts with this motel. I am at a loss with the comments regarding breakfast and the 30 mils of milk etc. Fresh milk is in a 300 ml jug and is delivered with each breakfast order. It is never a problem to provide additional items when requested. My wife and I who run the property pride ourselves in the services we offer. I cannot comment on your thoughts of the local area, it is your opinion and completely justified as such. As for many local eateries, there are aprox 27 establishments within a 5 minute walk, including Nando's, KFC, McDonalds, Subway, Secret Thai Garden, and the International Food Hall which has another 18 various cuisines on offer. If you would like to email us here, I would like to discuss the issues with you as this is the first time we were aware of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Clean and comfortable, this is styled as a four star motel. Well, it is a motel rather than a four star hotel - and that’s your starting point. However, the owners were very friendly and accommodating and very amenable. If you’re looking for a good motel en route to the airport this is worth considering. Rooms are small and it’s close to a busy road, though we weren’t disturbed. Do bear in mind however that it’s 12km from AKL – so allow half an hour. The owner will offer a personal shuttle service on request. One other thing, when finding it, is that it’s in Otahuhu, which means that it’s not the only “540” on the Great South Road, so make sure you’re looking for the one in Otahuhu.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyalSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you for your review. 540 on Great South Motel is as the name suggest a Motel. I am not quite sure of the inference that we are a Hotel. We are 20 minutes from the Auckland CBD and 15 minutes to the Airport. Our rooms have mostly been described by travellers as bigger then most, so we cannot really comment as to your comparison with other Motels you have stayed at. The benefit of our location is that we are only 5 minutes walk from many eating establishments and the many variety of discount shopping stores which makes Otahuhu unique to the Auckland area.The Polynesian culture of the area creates a fun atmosphere when walking through all the shops and tasting the local cuisine. The service we offer is built around our location, which is what makes 540 on Great South Motel different from other Motels in the Airport precinct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otahuhu
1.0 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#3 of 6 in Manukau
211 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
3.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Manukau
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
5.1 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 540 on Great South Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 540 on Great South Motel

Property: 540 on Great South Motel
Address: 540 Great South Road | (Cnr of Alexander Street), Otahuhu 1062, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Otahuhu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otahuhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 540 on Great South Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
540 on Great South Motel Located in the heart of Otahuhu only a moment’s walk from cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. We are located just off the southern motorway and very close to the Grange & Auckland Golf Courses, Kings & Otahuhu Colleges, Rainbow’s End, Middlemore Hospital, Auckland International Airport, Sylvia Park shopping centre. Close proximity to Mt Smart Stadium, Manukau Vodafone Events Centre and Elleslie Racecourse. Business or leisure 540 on Great South is your perfect accommodation choice. Our 4 star plus boutique Motel offers a range of excellent accommodation options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your 540 on Great South Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
540 On Great South Hotel Otahuhu
540 On Great South Motel Auckland/Otahuhu, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing