We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spice Kitchen - Sooo Good”
Review of Spice Kitchen - CLOSED

Spice Kitchen
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ridge Pike and Route 363
Description: Authentic Indian Food with excellent Ambiance, food and service. Everyday Lunch buffet for just $9.99 including weekends. We offer online ordering, Free Delivery, Lunch Packages, BYOB and Catering services.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spice Kitchen - Sooo Good”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Spice Kitchen is situated in a strip mall off of Ridge Pike. Not much to look at from the outside but the food is phenomenal and it is consistent!

Try out the fish masala, spicy eggplant, or spinach.

Child friendly.

BYOB

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    2
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
freehold nj
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the lunch buffet”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was in the Norristown PA area so I decided to try the lunch buffet at Spice Kitchen. It's down at one end of a shopping plaza so it's easy to overlook when driving past if you're not familiar with that stretch of road. I'd suggest using turning from West Main Street onto Wayne Avenue and then using the side entrance to the plaza, and you'll be right in front of Spice Kitchen. Anyhow, I arrived at about 1:30 PM and there were quite a few customers for a Saturday afternoon including several tables with Indian families. I was seated promptly and offered my choice of plain or garlic naan. By the time I returned to my table from the buffet, the waiter had filled my water glass and brought the basket of bread which was a nice addition to my meal. The buffet had a decent selection and I found the food to be quite good with just the right level of spice. I sampled quite a few of the hot entrees, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian, along with several helpings of the tossed salad/yoghurt dressing. There were also a couple of desserts to choose from which looked appealing but I was comfortably full after two trips to the buffet so I did not get a chance to try them on this visit. The restaurant decor was clean and bright, the price was reasonable, the service was friendly and efficient, and I am happy I had lunch here. Recommended, and I'm looking forward to eating at the Spice Kitchen again on a future return trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrbatb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Updated Review of Spice Kitchen”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I originally gave this place 4 stars - my review is posted - but the service has gone downhill, while the quality of the decor has gone up. Give me service over decor any day of the week. But at least the food is still pretty good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Deuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food for New Years eve at Spice Kitchen”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been regular patrons of the Spice Kitchen since the restaurant opened. We like it alot and decided to eat there on New Years' eve. As usual, the food was great, glasses if complementary wine were served, a gift was provided and the evening was a pleasant way to end 2012. Happy (Jagmeet) the chef at the Spice Kitchen is an award winning chef and will no doubt continue to win awards!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lfiebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Try the Lunch Buffet”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I'm by no means an authority on Indian cuisine, but I have eaten at quite a few Indian restaurants and I've consistently enjoyed The Spice Kitchen on each of my seven visits there. I usually go for the Lunch Buffet. I'm big on variety and this gives me the option to try as many things as possible. I've found that The Spice Kitchen appears to be frequented by many of Indian decent. I'm not sure how much that means but I have to believe it speaks to the quality and authenticity somewhat. Anyway, check out the buffet. It's a great bargain and a great way to check out this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beanzalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing