We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven”
other travelers have booked this property
Due to the cabin's location in the middle of the Golden Circle, it is fantastic for one-day trips
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Due to the cabin's location in the middle of the Golden Circle, it is fantastic for one-day trips
The cabin seen from the road Newly varnished – Summer 2011
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Due to the cabin's location in the middle of the Golden Circle, it is fantastic for one-day trips
The cabin seen from the road
Newly varnished – Summer 2011
The new 77m2 veranda – built in the summer 2013
The backdoor entry from the veranda
The kitchen
Basic spices
The dining area
Tooth picks on stock
The kitchen table: new pillow cases (home sewn in 2014)
The dinner table extension is located under the window
The living room
The indoor wood stove
Fire wood is provided
The living / dining area
The master bedroom
The master bedroom
The smaller bedroom
The smaller bedrooms
The bath room
The bathroom cabinet (new curtain home sewn in 2014)
The Weber
Decorated for Christmas
The Jacuzzi (Softub) with a view to the river
The hot tub on the veranda
With a view to the Northern Lights
Red Northern Lights – outside the cabin
Lake Hestvatn – ten min. away
River Hvítá
Skálholt – one of two ancient epischopal sees of Iceland – during the years 1056–1785 – 18 min.
Geysir erupting (30 min. away!
Gullfoss (30 min. away)
The swimming pool at Borg
December 2011 – A beautiful sunny day in the winter show
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Arborg, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Daveyc16
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Booked the cottage for 4 nights as a surprise 50th birthday present for my wife which followed 3 nights in the capital.
My wife had always wanted to visit Iceland and it didn't dissappoint.
We arrived early and met one of the three sisters(who's name I can't remember oops) who was so lovely. Her boyfriend presented us with Easter eggs and made up for the ones I didn't pack. They were such nice people.
The cottage is in awonderful location overlooking the river and not too far from Selfoss the nearest big town, close to Gulfoss, Geyser and many other attractions. The hot tub was a dream and despite the fact there was snow on the ground it was used every night.
Johanna was great to deal with and provided a lot of useful information. One tip, I would recommend a 4x4 for the winter months as the weather and road conditions can change very quickly.
We did catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights on our last night between the snow showers, which was the icing on the cake.
Thanks for making my wifes 50th birthday so special and my stay so nice too.
David and Denise

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, cozy accomodation in a lovely spot
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2015
I'm so happy that you guys had a good stay and that you saw the Northern Lights. You are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joderina
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy cabin. Great location. Perfect for northern lights.”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Had a lovely time at this cute cabin. The location was perfect for us with the golden circle route just up the road and northern lights viewings three of the five nights we stayed. Unfortunately there had been problems with the hot tub which the lovely owners did try their hardest to sort for us but we still had some fabulous evenings cosied up in front of the log burner watching the amazing sunsets and relaxing in complete peace and quiet. The cabin is remote enough but not too far to drive to shops, cafes and civilization in Selfoss. Make sure you get some groceries on route though. There were three of us staying which was perfect for the size of the cabin. I do think it would be a struggle to fit 6 adults as the description states.
In all I would really look forward to staying here again and have generally been recommending this amazing part of the world to everyone!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2015
Dear Jodie,
Thank you so much for your understanding with regard to the hot tub. It is now in perfect order and subsequent guests are enjoying it. I'm eager to give you the extra discount next time you come, in addition to the discount I gave you know, because of the problems you experienced.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielsv6...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute & Cosy Cabin in Beautiful Iceland”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Staying in this cosy log cabin was one of the highlights of our holiday in Iceland, it was in the perfect location for us, had a lovely view and was very comfortable. The owners were very friendly and did their best to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

We were looking for a relaxing winter holiday and were very pleased with the location and surroundings of the log cabin. The drive to the cabin is down several roads off the main road, this had its challenges due to the amount of snow on these infrequently used roads but the drive had its reward when we arrived and saw the cabin for the first time. Although there are several other houses within view of the cabin there is a real sense of privacy and isolation especially from the rear deck of the house. The lights were on in the cabin for us when we arrived and the under floor heating was on so it was nice and warm.

We didn't get a chance to use the hot tub but I am sure that it would be absolutely lovely especially in winter when we were there. We did use the wood burning stove and enjoyed sitting in the living room in front of the fire. There was plenty of firewood for us to use.

The bedrooms were comfortable, the bathroom was great and the kitchen was well equipped.

I can't recommend this property highly enough, I'd be back there in a flash if I could. My only word of advice is to make sure that you have a 4 wheel drive vehicle if you plan to stay in winter and if there is a lot of snow as the roads can be a bit of a challenge before they are cleared.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The condition of the roads to get there
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
Thank you, Daniel, for your kind words! I'm really glad that you guys had a good vacation and a good time in our cabin. If you want to return, we have a 20% repeat-customer discount. :D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashrie
Reviewed December 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Wifi had to be topped up which we had some problems with but the provider shop was in town and sorted it for us :-D not a huge problem at all!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2014
Thank you so much, Dave, for your heart-warming words. We're really happy that you guys enjoyed your stay. You're welcome back anytime, and in fact, we offer a 20% repeat-customer discount, if you want to return :D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rebs_11
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat to the land of ice and fire”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We spent 3 nights 4 days at this lovely cosy log cabin. We had everything we needed and it was ideally situated for exploring the golden circle . We will definitely return for a longer period.

Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2014
You guys are welcome back anytime (and the repeat customer discount is 20%).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Price of booze
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2014
Martin, I'm so GLAD to hear that you guys got to see the Northern Lights from our cabin! Thank you too for your much too kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2014
Thank you, Stevi, for your kind words. You yourself are the angel!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing