We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming Cosy Cottage Amidst Welsh Coastal Path...”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of the cottage, view from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the cottage, view from the garden
A warm welcome awaits you at Yr Encil the cosy log fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Front of the cottage, view from the garden
A warm welcome awaits you at Yr Encil
the cosy log fire
Eifl Mountain - which can be seen from the kitchen window
Front bedroom made up as superking
Front bedroom made up as twin
L shaped area of front bedroom
Back double bedroom
beach 10 minute walk away
View up lane, 5 minutes walk from the house
View of Lyn Peninsula- a very short walk from the house
A warm welcome for 4 legged friends also!
private garden terrace
private river terrace at the bottom of the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Trefor, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Victoria...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming Cosy Cottage Amidst Welsh Coastal Path Splendour”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Yr Encil cottage in Trefor was lovely. Perfectly situated mid-Llyn Peninsula for easy access to spectacular parts of the Coastal Path. Pretty winding tree-lined road to the village with gamboling lambs in the fields and views of the sea. All the amenities you could ask for. Very modern kitchen and bath, super clean, comfortable and welcoming after a day of hiking. Recover from hikes with wine in the tucked away garden. Many thanks to our excellent hosts who made us welcome and provided loads of info on everything in the cottage. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Victoria. Thank you so much for your kind review and we are delighted that the cottage met your needs after your hiking exertions. Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marians81...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a delightful find Yr Encil is! From the moment you step inside this lovely old cottage you feel it is a true home from home.

Leaving our car (an A4 estate) conveniently parked in the space just outside the back gate we went through the small courtyard, where a bench and covered area have been thoughtfully provided to put on/take off muddy boots in comfort and under shelter, and through the patio doors to a spacious lounge-diner, complete with stunning stone fireplace and wood burning stove. The central heating and large radiators keep this house warm throughout, but it was lovely to sit on the comfy leather sofas in front of a roaring fire in the evening watching TV or one of the selection of DVDs left for us to choose from. Our dog enjoyed it too!

As well as two sofas, the room has a good sized dining table and chairs – great for jigsaws as well as meals – and another comfy leather chair and footstool just made for putting one’s feet up with the daily paper, bought from the convenience store around the corner. Some limited provisions, as well as local ales, are also on sale at the village hostelry – it seems to be open most of the day, and the one evening the owner was intending to close early he kindly insisted on staying open for us to have a drink. There are numerous walks to enjoy from the house, including to the nearby beach and headland, and the lots of information on attractions in the local area are provided in a file in the Welsh dresser.

When it comes to mealtimes, the modern galley-style kitchen is kitted out with high quality equipment, including washing machine, small fridge-freezer and the all-important dish washer, and is equipped with everything you might need to cook dinner for the family. Comprehensive instructions for how to use all of the equipment in the house are also contained in a file in the dresser, should you need them.

Upstairs the double and twin rooms both have good mattresses, cheerful bed linen and ample storage space in the built-in wardrobes. The bathroom is spacious, with a fabulous power shower (with both overhead douche and detachable hose) over the bath, and good quality fluffy towels were provided.

Throughout, the house is decorated in restful neutral colours highlighted with shades of red, and everywhere those little touches that make it feels like home – from the crystal trimmed tie-backs on the voile curtains to the quirky over-sized stop-watch on the wall, to the wooden rabbit sitting on the windowsill and welcoming you in.

At the front of the house, across the path is a long, well-stocked garden leading through to a stream at the end. When the weather improves it looks a promising place to relax over a G&T whilst enjoying the evening sun.

We will most definitely be back to try it out!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
Marian

Thank you so much for this most comprehensive review which we hope will be of help to future travellers. We are so very grateful for your positive comments and delighted you had a great experience. Look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy that G&T in the sunshine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2017
Diane

thanks so much for your kind words we really appreciate it and great to you will be back. We look forward to it! Thank you

Esther
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
junejohns...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very clean, cosy and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for a week last Saturday 25th June 16. We were impressed with the cottage. It is very clean, cosy and comfortable. Thankfully we had taken our provisions with us - as the local shop was closed up and for sale. On arrival we found the WiFi not working. I contacted the owner who doesn't live near the cottage and she did try to resolve the issue with the provider, to no avail. We had three days in the area and the highlights were a visit to Bodnant Gardens - coastal walk and trip down to Abersoch. We decided to come home on Wednesday as my husband had some work to do and he needed access to the internet, and the weather was atrocious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in a lovely quiet cottage
Liked least: No internet: The area:
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2016
Thanks June for your feedback and I will let you have a discounted break for the inconvenience of no WiFi. Regards Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocinella...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, cosy and beautiful”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

4 of us stayed at the cottage over Easter bank holiday and it was perfect, a real home from home. 2 couples, so one in the double and the other in the twin room ( moved the beds) The house was so clean, bright and tidy. The towels were fluffy, the beds comfy and the bathroom was a pleasure to use, Kitchen well equipt and lots of seating.
The setting is beautiful, a traditional welsh village, The shop was well stocked and friendly. We drove to Snowdon one of the days, only half an hour which was perfect. All in all, a great cottage, and a great price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2015
Thank you very much - I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Trefor. Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary S
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem of a cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked this cottage at very short notice and were delighted with what we found - cosy, comfortable and well-equipped, it proved to be a great base and an ideal home-from-home. We enjoyed walks down to the beach, blackberrying in the lanes and loved the scenic backdrop - made all the more special by the September sunshine! The village has a friendly feel to it and is perfect if you are looking for a quiet getaway. It boasts a shop for all essentials and a post office. No local pub or restaurant means travelling a bit for a meal out but that proved a good way to explore further afield. Very glad we found this cottage and no doubt will return one day...

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdbridge0...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, perfect base to explore Llyn Peninsula”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A quaint cottage in a lovely location. Very clean and well equipped for self catering with a modern bathroom and kitchen. Exactly as looks in the photos.
Perfect location for walking Llyn Peninsula and Snowdon (Llanberris 40 mins drive).
Owner easy to contact and replies quickly to enquiries and after stay deposit returned quickly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing