We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smiling Harry's

Smiling Harry's
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Freetown
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When entering the National Park "Half Moon Bay" just west of Freetown, you cant miss Smiling Harry's Restaurant and Bar.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Got to meet Smiling Harry. We just had a few beers at his place. Down the road on the beach at Half Moon Bay was where we met his wonderful daughter serving drinks on the beach! We had a blast on this magnificant beach. It was hands down my favorite day on our trip and I will remember it for a life time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank chargus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent a couple of lunchtimes at Harry's - limited choice, but ALWAYS good local food for a VERY reasonable price. Food sells out quickly, so don't expect any if you turn up at 2pm!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hanging out with smiling Hairy on Half Moon Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a great time with smiling Harry. He is a wonderful guy with some great stories,. He cooked my wife and I a great lunch including Parrot fish and jerk chicken. One of the best beaches on the island Half Moon Beach. Harry had some great rum punch that he let me make as strong as I wanted. Definitely recommend going to see smiling harry for lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesc19662002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect bar near the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Smiling Harry - and he is! What a great welcome after a wet drive round the island. Burgers and chicken with rice were the order of the day - very good local food at great prices. But the atmosphere was something money can't buy - while there several teenagers pitched up (some Harry's grandchildren, some village kids), looking hungry and Harry was happy that they cooked his left-over food. As we left to have a swim in this very beautiful bay, we looked back at Harry smiling and waving at us, surrounded by half a dozen teenagers eating and enjoying themselves, 2 dogs lounging happily outside the bar and a contented cat washing himself right next to them - what a vision of contentment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect burger on a perfect beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Smiling Harry's is a small little shack on Half Moon Bay, and must be the most relaxed place to have a snack in Antigua. You just sit at a trestle table under the palm trees on the edge of the beach and eat the best burger you could wish for (and very cheap). The veggie burger in particular can be recommended.
A very friendly lady was running the place, and she made our two visits all the more pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulDDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiling Harry's also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Saint Mary's, Antigua
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Smiling Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing