We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hanging out with smiling Hairy on Half Moon Beach”
Review of Smiling Harry's

Smiling Harry's
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Freetown
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When entering the National Park "Half Moon Bay" just west of Freetown, you cant miss Smiling Harry's Restaurant and Bar.
detroit
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hanging out with smiling Hairy on Half Moon Beach”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a great time with smiling Harry. He is a wonderful guy with some great stories,. He cooked my wife and I a great lunch including Parrot fish and jerk chicken. One of the best beaches on the island Half Moon Beach. Harry had some great rum punch that he let me make as strong as I wanted. Definitely recommend going to see smiling harry for lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesc19662002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect bar near the beach”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Smiling Harry - and he is! What a great welcome after a wet drive round the island. Burgers and chicken with rice were the order of the day - very good local food at great prices. But the atmosphere was something money can't buy - while there several teenagers pitched up (some Harry's grandchildren, some village kids), looking hungry and Harry was happy that they cooked his left-over food. As we left to have a swim in this very beautiful bay, we looked back at Harry smiling and waving at us, surrounded by half a dozen teenagers eating and enjoying themselves, 2 dogs lounging happily outside the bar and a contented cat washing himself right next to them - what a vision of contentment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect burger on a perfect beach”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Smiling Harry's is a small little shack on Half Moon Bay, and must be the most relaxed place to have a snack in Antigua. You just sit at a trestle table under the palm trees on the edge of the beach and eat the best burger you could wish for (and very cheap). The veggie burger in particular can be recommended.
A very friendly lady was running the place, and she made our two visits all the more pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulDDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smiling Harry was smiling and served fantastic food!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stumbled across this place by accident. There was 14 of us, and we stopped by and had lunch. Harry was not there, but one of the locals went and fetched him. He greeted everyone in the party with a big smile on his face and he served us all chicken and rice. Great authentic meal at a great price. If you are in the area, I would highly recommend a visit to Smiling Harry's!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank topharry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Soul food from Harry's smiling sister”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Smiling Harry was selling sodas on the beach, but his smiling, one-tooth sister served us the best chicken and rice on the island. It was the only item on the menu the day we were at Half Moon Bay, but the beers were cold and you can't beat the atmosphere. Loved it! :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiling Harry's also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Saint Mary's, Antigua
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Saint George, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Smiling Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing